All member reviews for The Adventures of Elmo in Grouchland

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 22 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byS540841 January 20, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Horrible Film

I thought this was a movie me and my little brother could watch but it turned into a hour long porno
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byIsaacboy September 16, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

THIS IS AN EVIL MOVIE

This movie possessed ALL of the kids in my daycare after they watched the movie. TRUST ME on this one. You don't want your kids to watch this. I remember one kid named Tommy who saw a hidden ghost in the movie. Then he watched the movie alone in his room for the second time. After that, nobody ever saw him again...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

DO NOT LET LITTLE KIDS SEE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

this movie would be be borring for kids my age. i mean seriously, elmo loses his blankie, ooooh! but DO NOT allow your little children to see this. I saw this when i was 4, and the entire theater of 4 year olds either had to leave the theater, or were bawling their eyes out. i had nightmares every night for weeks afterword, and cried myself to sleep each night. DO NOT take your young kids to see this movie.
Kid, 11 years old February 28, 2015
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Sometimes Sad but Funny!

Great songs! Sometimes its sad when Elmo's blanket is stolen and Elmo gets sad. Heartwarming moving that is inspiring, educational, and has great messages. One of: Never Give Up! Maybe to intense for toddlers, but even older kids and parents will love it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 11, 2015
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Elmo is Awesome!!!

Elmo is great all the time on Elmo's World, and he is great in this movie too! It can be scary but is never ending badly. It is more intense than the first Sesame Street movie (Follow That Bird) which I loved too!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old October 30, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Perfect for young kids. (not sensitive)

I agree with you, Blue-Bunny. It is a great family film. Although the perilous moments and the slapstick violence can be scary for young sensitive kids. And also, in one scene, the Queen of Trash looks suggestive, because she was wearing a skimpy costume, but she isn't at all. She's not completely naked, or wearing a bikini, she is wearing a costume. And, about the peril and the violence, I'll let the kids know that now Muppet monsters or grouches or humans were harmed in the making of this movie. So good family film.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byRoosterman October 9, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Don't make it just MINE!

I'm 13 and I still love this movie! Elmo loses his blankie and goes off to Grouchland (A land filled with bad-mannered grouches) where it's stolen by the greedy villain Huxley. I thought it had a good plotline. I don't know why a lot of parents don't let their young kids watch it just because of little things that aren't even meant to be bad or scary. I mean, it's sesame street! It's been watched since children were 3! Huxley gives a bad influence as he constantly takes things that aren't his and finds it enjoyable. He also constantly tries to get rid of Elmo in bad ways, such as trapping him in a cave and sending a giant chicken to possibly kill Elmo (Don't worry, it doesn't kill him, just flings him away, Elmo's unharmed). But Elmo manages to defeat Huxley and retrieves his blanket back in the end! Also, take note: the Queen of Trash is another obstacle in Elmo's way and she's a curvaceous, and rather sensual character to the audience. But this doesn't mean you should skip the scene she appears in, because it's only a one-shot appearance from her and a very important scene! Anyway, aside from that, the movie is wonderful and sends a really good message to children about sharing and not being a greedy, selfish person. I love it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byFairyWars98 August 31, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Probably one of the first movies I watched

Wow I'm reading the reviews and a lot of you people are wimps saying that you or your cousins/siblings got scared by the helicopter. I was 2-3 when I saw this from a VHS my mom recorded (Which I still have to this day) off PBS or some weird movie channel and I didn't get phased by this movie a bit. Although the only part that creeped me out was when Huxley tried to steal the girls doll while she was playing with it. I thought the huge vacuum thing was going to suck her up lol although I was relieved when Elmo came and saved her. My favorite part is when Elmo first lands in Grouchland and they sing their welcome song, and it's one of my favorite songs even to this day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I even had the soundtrack to it and I used to blare it on my old 98 computer heh...
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bytariq1919 December 26, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

....

.... Really bad movie in my opinion but what made me laugh the most is parents for ex. Boohoo my SEVEN year old got scared, or NOT FOR KIDS TOO SCARY!!!!! I mean SERIOUSLY you got problems, one of my cousins is 1 YEARS OLD and he doesn't care! Like a SEVEN YEAR OLD!!!!!!! Tisk tisk tisk
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 10 years old October 11, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Horrible movie for kids

This is horrible for me to watch. The part when Elmo is in the trash can might be scary for your kid. REALLY scary. Also, they have not sold any money for this movie. My cousin has this movie poster in her basement, which is cool. Your kids will not watch this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old October 2, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

eek, really scary

It had a positive message and characters, most of them, but the villain was pretty scary . My 3 year old sister got so scared at the helicopter scene that she ran out of the room screaming and crying. (It also gave me night mares,and I'm in the 7th grade). The overall message was: be friends with each other.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byferret lover March 16, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I watched this as a little kid, and LOVED it! I found in reviews many kids were scared of a dancing blanket, when Elmo lost his blankie, the bad guy.... I was not scared of any of this as a little kid! Sure, I was scared of the boogie man, (no i am not!), and 3D lol! Now i am not scared of that either! Great, cute movie!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 6 years old March 14, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Too frightening

The villain was truly frightening for our youngster who is less timid than most.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old January 24, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Very scary for some kids

My sensitive four-year old was terrified of Huxley. I definitely recommend previewing this movie before watching with a young child. (I only rated the quality because I had to to post this, I didn't see much of it!)
Kid, 11 years old January 23, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Pre- schooler movie

My 3-year-old sister loved it when I gave it to her. Definately for younger kids but I liked this movie until I was about seven. Great for preschoolers, as long as they aren't extremely sensitive. If they are, wait until they are older or watch it with them. Overall, a good movie for kids under 8.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Kid, 6 years old October 29, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

ayramomin

What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 17 years old Written byBlue-Bunny January 30, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great family movie...

Wow! I'm really impressed. Ordered this through Netflix, and it really had me entertained! It really isn't that scary. The villain is not scary, either. It's a really good movie. Good role-modles, positive messages, and a really good story. If you think this is just a movie for babies, it's not. I think it's great for the family.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 12, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

For everyone

It is an okay movie. I actually like it. The villan is funny, the plot is pretty humorous. I like it and I'm twleve. I think people who haven't seen it thinks it's lame cause they think it is a lot like the show. But it's not. I like it. It is a movie everyone can enjoy.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bytangled July 28, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
I LOVED this movie when I was little!!! About a year ago I watched it for old time's sake. I forgot how much I loved it. The movie can make toddlers scared, because of Elmo's blanket or because of the villian, but its perfect for toddlers who want a good musical movie.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byMartian86 June 30, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great movie!

I've been watching this movie since it came out on DVD in 1999 (I don't remember if I watched it in the movie theater) and I still love it. I especially love Ernie and Bert's interruptions.
What other families should know
Great messages

Pages