All member reviews for The Amazing Spider-Man

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 150 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byWhiplash (2003) July 31, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The amazing spiderman

Violence PG-13 Language PG Sex PG Drugs PG
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old July 30, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

super movie of all time

What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old July 28, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

WITH THE TITTLE AMAZING IS RITE

IS A REALLY GOOD MOVIE BUT THEIR IS SOME VIOLENCE INCLUDING A SHOT UNCLE A WOULD RECOMMEND 7 YEAR SIX MITE NOT BE ABLE TO TAKE IT!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byFILMCRITIC500 July 28, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

intense, dark actioner has some blood

one of the greatest films of this year, the long awaited reboot of the series gets bloodier and more intense than the last 3, with plenty of violence ranging from explosions, fistfights, gunfights, destruction, an impaling and shooting, and some bullying. there is a high amount of blood in this movie, with uncle bens death being the bloodiest (blood pours from his chest) and a surprising scene ith a mutant mouse splattered with blood from its half-eaten prey. otherwise, this is a perfect movie for all comic book fans.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old July 26, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great! A bit more violent than the previous movies. Besides, why does it need a reboot?

My suggested MPAA Rating: PG (Boardline to a PG-13) for sequences of action violence, brief language, and some alchahol references.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byNattyKatty July 26, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

He is the Amazing Spiderman!

I have been dieing to see this movie. And It was better then I thought. You should expect some volance. It is a super hero movie! There was some kissing and flirting. But when Peter just found out he had the powers, he accendendly shot a woman with his web and her shirt came off showing her bra. After she grabbed the shirt and held it over her. There are some bad languge. One part of it Peter said mother hubberd inside of..... but other wise it was really really really good!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old July 25, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

:,(

i thought it would be a better movie. if youve seen the first 3 spiderman you can for sure see this.
Kid, 12 years old July 25, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

IM IN!!!!

ok! WHO IS GOING TO TAKE ME?!?!?!? IT LOOKS AWESOME!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old July 24, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good!

My family went to this movie together, and it was very good. It didn't live up to the 2002 version at all, but it was still great. There is some violence, but other than that... some startling jump scenes, still a great movie.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bytripp106 July 23, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Better than the old! Andrew and Emma are amazing!

Kid, 12 years old July 23, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Amazing!!!

This movie is completely amazing, it totally lives up to it's name! I've never seen the other Spider-mans, so I can't compare them, but trust me, this movie is worth seeing! The theme of the movie is responsibility, and although Peter can at times come off as a little angry and not a good role model, at the end he lives up to his alter-ego's reputation. There is a lot of violence, and two important characters are killed during the movie, which really shocked me. But I love the all of the humor and action! I really like the idea of Peter Parker being a 17 or 18-year-old, Andrew Garfield is an amazing Spider-man (pun intended) and he is SUPER cute!!!! This is an awesome movie, and I totally recommend it!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byRachelWood July 23, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

WORTH IT

People everywhere have been asking, -is the reboot really necessary?-. And let me tell you, -Whatever the answer, its a GOOD reboot at that!- The Amazing Spider-Man numerously follows close to the original Spider-Man plot line of 2002. HOWEVER, it does not get old and takes a completely different turn. In this alternate Spidey Universe, things gets darker and the villains are no longer black and the heroes are no longer white. Humanity in itself becomes a mesh of gray and thus becomes more interesting to watch as it goes deeper behind character motives. Though it may seem at first the message could potentially be -with great power comes great responsibility- this movie redirects a different route. It becomes, -in your weakness, you find your strength-. Spider-Man is more vulnerable here, at first using his powers only to find his uncle's murderer. Then after saving a little boy; for the first time using his abilities unselfishly, he realizes he can actually do good. In the end, the bullet in his leg becomes a clear message of -strength in weakness- as Spidey learns he can't do this alone. They also take a different turn with the whole bully, another reminder of how characters are not black and white. And when Spider-Man *SPOILER* has no choice but to turn his head when his mask is off and reveal his identity to the head officer, you see another example of -strength in weakness- *END SPOILER*. Gwen Stacey is not a the average damsel in distress (she attacks the lizard with a trophy) which is nice to see onscreen. Also, the lizard becomes the kind of villain you're not sure about. He so desperately wants to feel complete and goes a little overboard but in the end *SPOILER* he saves Spider-Man from a death fall. *END OF SPOILER* The acting was great, Emma Stone is spunky as always and Garfield is convincing as an outcast who develops powers. He's also more fun to watch and root for because you want him to win so desperately and it actually feels like he may not. This Spider-Man reality makes you feel for the characters in a way the original couldn't. Its fun. Its exciting. Its darker. Its more complex. Its heart wrenching. Its no longer black and white. All in all, its worth it and more enjoyable!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byinfamous623 July 23, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great Movie For Kids and Adults!

Such a great action film that I personally liked better than the last 3 movies. I recommend it if you are at least about 9, i think any 9 year old or up could handle this movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old July 22, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

spidey

Violence (R) Sex (PG)
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bybdhmonster July 22, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

gives you the laughs and the dark moments all in 1 movie.

Kid, 11 years old July 22, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A Must See!

This was a great movie! However, it was a little disappointing. I was expecting it to be as good as The Avengers (ignore if I spelled it wrong). But, the movie was fantastic. There was a lot of violent scenes as most people would expect. Also, young children could be scared of the lizzard-man. The message is positive though (as almost any superhero movie is). I think it's a must see movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byhary585 July 22, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good Over All, but some Violence

Well personally, i think that The Amazing Spider Man was really good, but some of the scenes were intense, there was some language, the only 'inappropriate' parts is when he first gets his spider powers he does acidently(?) rip off a womans shirt, showing some of her undergarments, and some scenes of kissing(1 kinda intense and 1 longish one). the good Role Models are Spider Man(duh) and a construction worker who helps spider man get across new york. The Violence is mainly just shooting, there is one small knife,and some blood. And i guess one part where spider man shoots web covering a car theif's crotch area. OVERALL I think that this movie is for kids who are mature enough to handle the intennseness.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byGamer1995 July 21, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Best spiderman

It's the best one
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old July 21, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

BAD

This is bad, so don't let your kids watch it. Well, let them if they aren't scared of anything. It has ripping, shooting, choking, and smashing people. Also, it is bad.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 21, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN

In The Amazing Spider-man, many people are killed in many bloody ways. Also, the villian may scare people under 10 years of age. Also, the is some teenage kissing and a few mild curses.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages