All member reviews for The Big Lebowski

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

A wild ride for adults only.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 22 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byhobbes007450 July 19, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

great movie

this is the coens masterpeice, waaaaay above and beyond fargo. but apart from the swearing its all very comedy and saying its not appropriate for kids is well an overstatement. most will be able to deal with it fine, and its awesome
Teen, 13 years old Written byarrow94 May 26, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great Movie W/ Some Issues!!

Great movie with the only concern of the 200+ F-Words!! Hilarious film otherwise!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byshooter guru January 12, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The dude abides man

Love this movie! One of my all time favorites. It is full of drugs and swears but nothing a mature 13 year old or above couldnt handle. From the start to the finish I was laughing hard. By the way man, that rug really tied the room together!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byPlague March 5, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The Big Lebowski

I absolutely love this movie. Anyone with a great taste in comedy films, watch it.
Teen, 13 years old Written bynnowgoo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

absolutely HILARIOUS!

This movie is a one of a kind. I thought it was great, really funny, and a really great plot. There's a lot of cursing in the movie (mostly the F-word), The Dude smokes pot, and drinks a lot. And the Dude may not be someone you want your little ones immitating. they also may have a hard time following the storyline . Great movie, for about 12-13 and up.
Adult Written bylouisa1 March 4, 2015
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

90's comedy is hilarious, but is an f bomb

well, i'm gonna make this one short: langauge (the whole film is an f bomb) sex (it appears that two of the characters have sex, nothing graphic but i'm pretty sure there is a full frontal nudity sex scene earlier) violence (it is mostly threats but a man threatens another man that he will cut his d**k off, the dude is hit on the head with a coffee mug ) drinking drugs and smoking ( martinis, beer, cigars are constantly shown in the movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bykipwalker44 October 22, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

The Dude Abides

"The Big Lebowski" is such a delightful film, it should have been nominated for and won Best Picture back in the day. However, it's not meant for kids, due to excessive swearing, drug use, sexual references and bits of frontal nudity.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old June 28, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The Big Lebowski is a great film but has allot of swearing, sex, drugs and more.

It's okey for teens but not for kids!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMelvin April 15, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great Movie! Just swearing

There is A TON of strong language but other than that it isn't so bad. There are a few moments of female nudity.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byBestPicture1996 December 19, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

A joy ride through the Dude's eyes!

The language in "TBL" is heavy, but it didn't bog down the script the way some movies with an abundance of profanity do. It's a very humorous trip that, after doing some reading into it, resembles noir from the old days, with the Dude trying to navigate his way through the Coens' typical eccentric characters, when all he wants to do is drink, smoke and bowl! The plot is much smarter than you think (what else would you expect from the Coens?) and features what is likely John Goodman's finest, and certainly funniest work as 'Nam vet Walter. Certainly not for young children, older teens will get a kick out of it for sure.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJules Winnefield September 30, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Big F-Bomb.

The Big Lebowski is a Coen Bros. comedy that is funny and quotable beyond belief. The violence is minimalistic and comic when it comes up, so not much to worry about there, but it should be known that there is a lot of threat of violence leading to some tense moments where you wonder if someone is going to get their head blown off. There isn't any sex, but there is parts where The Dude is imagining himself being the star in porn movies, played for comedy and with no nudity, but it's there. There's some brief nudity in some parts, but it's pretty brief. The language is off the charts with over 200 uses of the F word and other adult language. Otherwise, very funny movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byThedude57447434 September 11, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

My thoughts

Tis is one of my if not my favorite movie of all time and its because of the characters and the humor I crack up every time I watch this because its just funny it's quotable and just a all around good time
Teen, 16 years old Written byTip yap July 16, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Weird plot decently funny

Bizarre movie can be handled with adults
Adult Written bySkifcha April 16, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Movie.

Personally this is one of my favorite movies, a perfect 90s era movies that has a ton of replay value.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydarthsitkur August 10, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

hysterical crime comedy lol

nonstop laughter and very comedic craziness lol, and John goodman and Jeff bridges never dissapoint
Kid, 12 years old January 31, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

THE BIG LEBOWSKI

this film is really funny this is my first coen brothers film. it is brillant lots of fwords and a bit of sexaul talk but really just a normal funny comedy.
Teen, 14 years old Written bywalterdudedonnie April 3, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
love it gotta donnie ur out of your element
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byREDSOX101 July 21, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

I'm a lebowski, your a lebowski

This is a great movie. The coen brothers are the best sibling directors ever. Jeff Bridges does a great job. You dont mess with jesus.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byBrando804 June 10, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A cohens, cussin' classic!

A classic cohen brothers, very strong, frequent language if you check any content guide you will see that the film has over 250+ F-bombs, which I don't mind, language is language just the same to me there is no difference between dam n, hel l or the F-bomb (which I can't print on this website)
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 1, 8, 9, and 14 year old Written bythejokerspencil January 10, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

LALALALALALA THES BEST COMEDY EVER!

Jeff Bridges and John Goodman give the performance of a life time and this was big time snubbed. This cult is an american classic!

Pages