Common Sense Media says

Classic Hitchcock horror film still gives the chills.

Users say

(out of 64 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byTARDIS Tourist January 2, 2016

Alfred Hitchcock scores again in this horror classic.

The biggest concern in this movie is the violence. There is a scene of a maimed farmer who had his eyes pecked out. Birds in this movie wreak chaos and injure children. There is a part of this movie were there is a gas explosion. Young children may be scared of birds after watching this film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old October 12, 2015

The birds review

VERY VERY VERY!!!!! gory and super violent at one point in the movie they showed a picture of a guy who's eyes were pecked out and soaked in dry blood everywhere. Also pictures of students injuries faces covered with blood. It even freaked me out it was so scary PARENTS!! if your kid is like 12 or 13 do not show them this film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written by_____________ August 29, 2015
Teen, 13 years old Written byCUPCAKEeater83 June 21, 2015

Only scary in the sense that I actually spent time to watch it.

Alfred Hitchcock truly is the master of suspense. But in this movie, the only thing being suspended in any manor at all were the birds. I fully understand that at the time of this creation, this movie packed a lot of punch, but today it's nothing. I was laughing through the entire movie along with my younger brother who HATES scary movies. Unless your child has a foul fear of fowl, there is nothing remotely scary about this film. The blood is Monty Python-esque to the point that I was muttering ''tis only a flesh wound' under my breath during the entire scene where the characters found themselves upon a 'bloodied' body. If you want a good movie by Alfred Hitchcock, watch Vertigo or Rear Window. Both contain less gore and a better plot.
Adult Written bysarge123 May 28, 2015

Excellent horror film is still frightening and bloodily violent. 15+

The violence is gory. Eyes bloodily pecked out, skin torn and slashed and several graphic and very upsetting deaths. Intense even by today's standards.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bySwimmwer17 November 30, 2014

Good Classic Horror

The Movie is slow until the middle then it gets a little scary but not bad its from the 60s
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byeazy__breezy October 19, 2014

Good film

Just because its a horror film doesn't mean its gory. This film has very little gore and blood, only 1 scene that would be considered really gory. This is a good film to let your older tween watch. Its not particularly terrifying, but it has its disturbing moments. Younger kids won't get parts of it, and could scare them so like I said, its really best for older ones.
Teen, 15 years old Written byYpseru June 19, 2014

Okay movie has some violence

There are people being attacked by birds, although it's really nothing graphic, like ever. After hearing how "scary" this was, it really just wasn't, and at times, it was a little boring.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old June 9, 2014


13: Contains strong fantastical violence and a scene of strong bloody horror (however not sustained or prolonged).
Kid, 10 years old February 19, 2014

This movie is honestly a bit scarier than the horror classic, also done amazingly by Hitchcock, Psycho.

This movie has no profanity but has some smoking and drinking. The violence is sometimes bloody. The worst scene is where there is a room of bodies that are chewed up by birds (there are some dead birds in the room). It's an iffy choice for 10 and under. There is also a death where a main character's bloody body is partially shown and a scene where a extra (background character) catches fire from gasoline.
Kid, 12 years old March 12, 2013

okay but not scary

I watched this when I was like, mmm, 8 or 9 it could be scary for four year olds BUT NOT TO A 14 YEAR OLD unless you locked them away from life at home. I thought it was okay I recently watched its not bad but its not something count on watching oh and the effects are bad.
Teen, 13 years old Written bytubagirl1222 November 20, 2012

Disturbing, Yet Oddly Satisfying

Although this movie is incredibly good and suspenseful, the scenes where the characters who have been murdered by the birds are lying on the ground without any eyes are kind of disturbing. You may want to skip these scenes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus June 25, 2012

Good, but could be better.

Okay for most tweens (it depends on how sensitive they are).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bystan101 April 29, 2012


Gives me the chills.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byCatLover71 March 9, 2012

really really good

It is a really, really good film. Like all Alfred Hitchcock films, it does have quite a few suspenseful, edge-of-the-seat moments. But it is quite scarring. Not meant in a bad way, but once you watch it you will probably get a bit cautious around birds in real life like pigeons and seagulls. The scene where the eyes are gouged out is just terrifying - if showing to smaller people under 12/13, maybe skip that scene. My brother is a real hard nut and even he went pale at that bit. But it is a really good film and it's thoroughly entertaining (like all Hitchcock films)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byevolinag March 8, 2012

Another Hitchcock masterpiece. Brilliant, but more violent than most of his other movies.

"The Birds" is an amazing classic that focuses on Bodega Bay being attacked by countless birds for unknown reasons. Side plots involve around a woman and a man falling in love but his mother not accepting her. The movie is great at creating terror. The characters are in a desperate situation, they don't know how to deal with the problem, since they don't the reason the birds attack. This movie was intense in the 60s, and so it is nowadays. There is no music used, what makes it feel more real. On the other hand, all the bird sound effects are created with a synthesizer, which was revolutionary. Like in all Hitchcock movies, the cinematography is perfect. Especially the bird-sight scene and the last few shots of the yard. From the beginning to the end this movie is a masterpiece. The movie's violence is nearly nothing at nowaday's standards but it was very strong for the 60s. The birds attack people and leave bloody gashes. (SPOILER:) A corpse is found with its eyes gone, the room is covered in blood and feathers - may make some people jump, but no music is heard in that scene. Tweens won't be affected by it nowadays. (End of SPOILERS). Nowadays this is not a big deal, but at that time it is one of the most violent movies i have seen from that time. Suitable for viewers 12 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old March 4, 2011
I suppose it was scary when it was made but has lost the ability to scar
Teen, 14 years old Written bydb1250 January 25, 2011
this movie may not be scary now though it was back then.
Kid, 10 years old November 25, 2010


Realy Bad
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byBestPicture1996 July 18, 2010

Just creepy enough to be effective

Some moments are cheesy and the fact the action is so slow it's nearly an hour before something happens is stupid, but this Hitchcock classic still delivers after nearly 50 years. The best scene in the entire movie is when Tippi Hedren is sitting by the jungle gym and 100s of birds creep up behind her extremely quickly.
What other families should know
Too much violence