All teen and kid member reviews for The Butterfly Effect

Teen, 16 years old Written byunderonehalo April 9, 2008

see it if your 12 or older, you'll thank me, i promise

Kid, 11 years old September 9, 2011

THE BUTTERFLY EFFECT

The film is really good, but the film is might not be for kids. It has some violence, sexual content and strong language, child porn, and sadly animal cruelty. The film's good though.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byxxHolly June 30, 2011

Interesting movie, highly troubled characters.

This movie is intriguing, if somewhat morbid, to say the least. It takes an interesting concept ("what if you could change something that happened in the past?") and runs with it, allowing the main character to try various times to change his life and the lives of his friends for the better. The overall idea behind this movie is well executed... depending on how well you can stand the sick and twisted. Major plot points (I.E. things the protagonist wishes to change) include a father molesting and producing porn films of his children and the resulting behavior of one of the abused children and the other children whom he effects, which is extremely disturbing. The main four children smoke, curse, severely injure one another, and place explosives in an innocent woman's mailbox, which ends up killing her and her baby. One of the children is particularly nasty and tries to burn the protagonist's dog to death, while another traumatized child stabs and kills that kid in a different variation of that scene. There are alternate futures where the children grow into killers, prostitutes, and asylum patients, or commit suicide. The beginning of the movie makes the main character's childhood behavior seem disturbing, when he's actually the most likable character in the film. The language and violence are pretty standard for an R-rated film, and there are several sex scenes with female nudity. I liked the movie and thought the acting was fine, but the disturbing content may offend others.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written bymoviemogul 2.0;... April 9, 2008

Was it really good or was it really bad?

I have yet to decide, but it's possible it could be both, which is why I'm giving it a neutral three stars. The first time I saw this movie I can see how to support both arguments. On one hand the acting was rancid by Kutcher, although not as terrible as CSM may make it out to be. Direction can get tedious every now and then, and it gets a bit repetitive to see Kutcher wake up in some bed with a hemorrage every time he changes something. However, the pluses were that the plot is highly intriguing and near the end little twists pop up, despite the fact that they were a bit obvious about halfway through the movie. Then again I thought "Seven"'s ending was way too obvious, which is ironic seeing as the younger characters viewed that movie within the movie. If you get into movies as I do, then you really feel sad for the main character as the movie progresses, and I admit that I partially cried at the end, since I think we can all take the result of what happened and insert it into our own lives, mainly if you have lost someone very close to you. As far as content goes, it deserves its rating from the language mostly, but there is some violence and sexual activity/dialogue present at times. I have to disagree that the movie was either dark or disturbing however, but I understand that that is all purely based on one's tolerance to subject matter in movies. So if you think the movie sounds interesting, I reccommend it with reservations, because I realize there are many bad things in the technical standpoints for the movie, but the plot was enough to draw me in.
Teen, 14 years old Written bySomeoneYouDon'tKnow February 8, 2013

The best... movie... ever... made!!!!!

Did Nell Minow, one of the most respected CSM writers of all time, just give this film one star? Did she seriously write "Ouch. Ouch. Ouch. So very bad" as the review title? Did she seriously call it "inept and pretentious twaddle"? Did she? Did she? Nope. Nope. Nope Nope Nope Nope Nope Nope Nope Nope Nope. Does not compute. Does not compute. Does not compute does not compute DOES NOT COMPUTE DOES NOT COMPUTE DOES NOT COMPUTE DOES NOT COMPUTE DOES NOT COMPUTE DOES NOT COMPUTE YOU WILL DIE YOU WILL DIE YOU WILL DIE YOU WILL DIE YOU WILL DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This movie is the deepest, most intriguing, interesting, breathtakingly EXCELLENT movie ever made! How could a human being say such a thing about such a movie? How? How? How? How? How? How? How? How? HOW????? This is my all-time favorite movie, period. It's just one of those perfect movies. Aside from a few cheesy performances in the beginning, there's just nothing wrong with it. Every nook and cranny is perfectly put in place. There are tons of questions left unanswered that keep you hungry for more, and that is just the way it ought to be. If you answer too many questions, it will appear too superficial. But this leaves some of the more extreme questions out, so that it's not too impossible to believe. I'm not a particularly religious person, so you'd expect me to consider it kind of sugary, but I don't think it's a religious movie, I think it's just a psychological film that can appeal to anyone of any beliefs. It really made me see some of the world in a different way, in both a better way and in a worse way. I think all psychological thrillers are supposed to do that, and I've seen my fair share of psychological thrillers (The Box, The Mothman Prophecies, Dream House, etc.), but this one had the most impact on me. It's dark, it's edgy, it's thoughtful, it's gruesome, it's unrelenting, it's my all-time favorite movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byRachel Lane October 22, 2012

Disturbed, but still good.

When I saw this movie, it blew me away. It's very disturbing and not for kids, but it is an excellent movie. As you watch it, it really makes you think about your own life. Adults, I say you go out and watch this movie, just make sure there isn't any kids watching it with you.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 20, 2011

THE BUTTERFLY EFFECT - Brilliant!

THE BUTTERFLY EFFECT is a fantastic movie, intresting, disturbing and clever, but it has some fairly strong sexual content, graphic strong and bloody violence, strong language, and child porn. And sadly...animal torture. The kids will not only understand this movie, but the movie will be disturbing for them.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySkyrock5 February 26, 2011

Mixed feelings, but good overall

Ok, no, its not for kids. When i first watched it, I went into depressed mode for the whole day and part of the next day. Its chilling, sometimes obscene, and definately, definately crazy. Its not a glance at the real world, its far from it. Its not supposed to be. Its supposed to be the truth about "The Buterfly Effect". Something small happens somewhere leads to something big happening somewhere else. I think thats the main message. That, and the fact that if something's laid out for you, you just gotta take it. No point changing it, because its there. I thought it was twisted, and it can definately make you question yourself too, but overall, the movie had a good plot, and that makes it enjoyable, or if thats not the right word to use, then at least, fast paced. All I can say is respect the age rating for this movie, which is correctly focused on 15 and up. Good movie, great actors, sad ending, ok experience.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byT-Rod May 22, 2010
THE BUTTERFLY EFFECT is actually a branch of the Chaos Theory. What's the Chaos Theory...long story short, it practically says we can't predict the future. Why not? That's where THE BUTTERFLY EFFECT comes in. The Butterfly Effect states that: Because of the constant choices and every little thing we can, could, and could've done, we can't predict the future. If you breathed, "HUFF, HUFF, HUFF" WAIT!!! What if he held it? "HUFF...HUFF" Any small change can change the future in the most drastic ways. As this movie shows. This movie has good role models: "No one could possibly love anyone as much as I love you,” Evan(Ashton Kutcher) tells his true love Kayleigh(Amy Smart) sometime in the movie. And his actions largely back up the statement. He even makes the biggest sacrifice-which may also be the most heart-wrenching ending ever- in romance movie history. This movie also shows how much children need a father figure. Now, that wouldn't be much even WITHOUT the bad stuff. So imagine it WITH the bad stuff. Violence. Now, I LOVE violence not much gets me by as "brutal"(only one scene from Kick-A**-the captured, public execution scene). Not unless it's EXTREMELY intense. The scene with the dog was sick, twisted, demented and just f*cked up, pardon my French. When he hit the girl with the, what I'm guessing was a, 5"x 6" piece of wood, you hear a loud "CRACK!" I felt like I was the one who did that! The most brutal scene, though, was, I'm sad to say, my favorite violent scene. I just love comeuppances-when d-bags get whats coming to them- and I was waiting a while but when Evan started beating that guy with the titanium bat, I just loved it! Every second. I know that sounds demented and sick, but-HEY! The little twerp had it coming! He burned the dude's f-ing dog! Sexual. Nudity. Explicit sex scenes. And don't forget the whole child molestation and pedophile thing! Twisted, vile, and just plain EVIL! Like was that REALLY necessary?!?! Negative Role Models. The little evil brother is abusive, foul-mouthed, short-tempered, and just a total jerk! But it is viewed as negative. More a romance than a thriller in retrospect. The alternate ending...SUCKS NUTCRACKERS!!!!! Good movie all-in-all. I know everybody makes it seem so bad. The worst is the violence. A bunch of brutal for me, so...REALLY BAD 4 U! The nudity I hate! I have a strong moral stance against nudity! But all-in-all: breathtaking and incredible feat in motion pictures. The strangest of all? This movie is based off a children's book.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bykassidywhite11 May 16, 2010
xcfh
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byink January 31, 2010
Teen, 17 years old Written byThorndrop October 31, 2009
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bygarden.gnome0003 August 28, 2009

great!

This movie may be vulgar, swear-y, and sexual, but it gives a good glimpse into the real world. This man's paranoia and mental problems aren't completely realistic, but they show how some people go through horrible things and the choices that you make can change yours and other peoples' lives.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byLoveMovies June 7, 2009

I love this movie.

How can you say this isnt appropraite for kids?!! This is one of my favourite films in the whole wide world I watched it when I was thirteen and wasnt affected by it all. It's just such a good movie and depriving your child of seeing this would just be wrong. - appropriate for 13 and up :)
Teen, 14 years old Written byCheerlaeder33 April 9, 2008
Teen, 16 years old Written bytrevtenntitans April 9, 2008
Teen, 17 years old Written bydouble E April 9, 2008

This movie is as original as it gets!

No offense, but how could you not appreciate this movie? How can you so this movie is so bad its good? I can't believe it! This movie has stuck with me since it came out in theaters years ago. Brilliant storyline, brilliant acting (surprisingly), and AN ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT ENDING!!! THE ENDING WAS AMAZING!!! I ALMOST CRIED!!! The movie was fast paced and wonderful. This movie is down right dark, with disturbing violence and sexual themes. I remember I was I think 12 or 13 when I saw it with a friend and my Mom, and we considered walking out after a kid burned a dog alive. But I'm glad we stayed, because the movie is better as a whole, and the ending completes it so perfectly. You can't go wrong here.
Teen, 16 years old Written byCurbspaget April 9, 2008

Not completely bad

This is a really good movie, I don't know why it only got one star. Sure, Ashton wasn't the best choice, but he didn't do a bad job either. Also, be sure your kids aren't around. Lots of violence and language. Animal torture and child porn. Ewww.
Teen, 13 years old Written bypicker1208 April 9, 2008
Teen, 14 years old Written bypatthetrick April 9, 2008
ok first let me say this, its a good movie. i loved it. but i think that the stuff in its bad. they show female nudity, brief when showed, but its though out. the violence, well i don'y remember, there is one drug scene, and alot of bad words, and graphic sex talk, but i think anyone 14 and up should see it.

Pages