All member reviews for The Collector

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 13 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byHaithamB November 9, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Moviegoer14: The Collector

Although a familiar formula. But very clever and entertaining. Horrifying.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bybretnummer248 September 28, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Alright, Violent Horror Movie

This is a decent home invasion type horror/thriller type movie. The violence is similar to the Saw movies and is quite brutal and bloody. There is also a couple scenes that involve women's breasts. There is also some language. The movie's plot is alright, but there isn't really a reason why the collector is in the house.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 December 19, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Tweens may be able to handle it,but WATCH OUT for a few bad scenes.

Not that bloody,a lot of the violence seems to be implied but when the violence starts especially 1 hour or so into the film,the film starts to get really intense.One man is gutted(OMG) and another is tortured close to the ends( hung on meat hooks,cut here and there,having bugs put into his wounds,nothing you would want your child to see) I watched this with my little brother and dad at the mvoies when I was 11 since I was bored and thought this would be another mini saw.nothing Dissapointing though.
Teen, 13 years old Written bylittlemonster98 April 5, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Not to bad alittle violent though

I did not think it was to bad to get it an r
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bythecooldude1 February 3, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

For very mature teens!

I saw this movie it looked pretty normal but then like everyother movie it had sex/nudity and was completely out of line for 15 and under to see!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byMrsJakePitts January 1, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Loved it!!! It's totally for older kids like 17 and older. The plot was very good. And the little touches that the Dricetor put in made a big difference in the movie.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written bybdd458 December 23, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Stupidity at its best... Since when is "Oh My God" a swear?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byslasher23 September 5, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
extreme violent.very sexual content and some nudity.strong language.drug
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovieReviewer458 August 14, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

TWO WORDS.

BAD!!! GOREY!!! DO NOT SEE!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bymr.teenreview August 3, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

great father-son bond

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byTanked out April 9, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The Collector review

There really isn't much to say about this movie adult content wise. Sure it was gory, sure it has a couple of "bad" words, sure there's ONE scene with naked breasts (Your kids have seen it trust me). Do those things necessarily make it inappropriate? No, not really. If you can take very graphic and realistic gore (you can if you watched Saw or Hostel), and are old enough to understand the rest of it it should be fine. Teens + I'd say. On the other hand the movie was GREAT! It was a true horror masterpiece. This review is correct when it says it doesn't really contain matter but that's what a good gorefest is about. Plus it has plenty of exciting scenes. Recommended for sure.
Kid, 9 years old April 3, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

The Collector

Rated R For Pervasive Sadistic Bloody Violence,Language And Some Sexuality/Nudity
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byMikaylaaMadisonn August 8, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Not good. Hardly made sense at all. So many plot holes its ridiculous. I don't recommend it.