All member reviews for The Departed

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 52 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written bydouble E April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

THE BEST MOVIE OF 2006!

Anyone who think this movie is not good should not be allowed to live. This film is so good that I was jumping after the movie!!!! I am 16 and saw it with a friend... Yea it's violent... but is it anything we haven't seen. Comon, this is a SUPREME FILMAKING. I am not saying take your 12 yr old kid to it but 15 and up is fine. BEST OF 2006 SO FAR I MEAN REALLY THIS MOVIE ROCKS. To the review above me.... I just don't have words expressing how crazy you must be (being 11 yrs old, getting into the movie knowing it had violence and cussing and then bagging on it? I had better common sense that that when I was 5). ANYWAY, GO SEE THIS MOVIE!!!
Teen, 16 years old Written byourblackego February 28, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Brilliant but Disturbing

This movie was organally rated 17 and up???? What happened to this rating. There is no way this movie is apropiate for all let alone any 15 year olds
Teen, 14 years old Written byNo Name, for real. February 13, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Fantastic gangster crime/drama is NOT FOR KIDS!

This movie is filled with violence, profanity, and sexual situations. Its got savage beatings, shootings, stabbing, head-bashing, a man thrown off a roof. Bloody corpses/crime scenes, and spraying blood. As well as over 200 uses of the F word. Billy takes abuses medicine like pain killers to get the stress off his mind about being caught. But this is an intelligent crime story. The movie is filled with brutal and smart plot twists and cleverly illustrated by oustanding performances by Leo, Jack, Matt, and Marky Mark.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byMob Man 12 August 11, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing Scorsese movie a must watch

Wow how do you get a film starring Leo Dicaprio Matt Damon Jack Nicholson and mark Wahlberg directed by Martin Scorsese and not get perfection the answer you don't as The Departed clearly shows it is amazing
Teen, 13 years old Written byjoedude April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

good movie

lots of the F word in it over 200 times.it is a good movie but there is a lot of violence and some sexual content there in this porno movie. this is were they meet so no one finds them. and frank takes his pants of flashing his gennitals but it is only for a second. if you let your kid see this make sure they know this kind of language is very wrong. and if they get in trouble for reapeating it dont let them watch these kinds of movies. i am in middle school and i here kids talk like this sometimes which annoys me
Teen, 14 years old Written byjgray232 February 2, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great movie!

This is a great movie and is very entertaining. The best character is mark wahlberg "dignam" he is hilarious and very good. This movie is violent with "boston lingo" the only sex related scene is the porn theater but its a very good movie with an outstanding cast.
Teen, 15 years old Written byCougars11 July 26, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byR. Zrike July 11, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Fantastic Movie with Extreme Violence

Lots and lots and lots of violence. The swearing was very over the top. Amazing movie, though. Catch it on TV, which is what I did. It takes out all the swearing (expect to hear the word "freaking" a lot) and some of the sexual stuff. There were still some scenes that slipped through like the scene in the erotic movie theater (which was pivotal to the plot) and a short scene of Nicholson's character with two woman where it is implied that they're going to have sex (there is also cocaine involved). This movie is not appropriate for children when it is uncensored. When it is on TV, I would say it is appropriate for 16+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bybryan12 June 25, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

suspenseful, well done great movie

Great movie but has a lot of inappropriate material so know your kid. 5 stars. Great boston thriller
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bythesturgmachine February 15, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Highly entertaining and interesting film

It is like Taxi Driver, even worse really, people say taxi driver is highly rude but it really isn't if you compare it to this. I saw it when I was 12 and just watched it again at the age of 16. I'm finding that most rude movies are more educational than the kid movies. Compare this to say, Smurfs 2, that movie is making kids stupid, this movie is teaching a lot of things because it shows the most likely consequences of being a gangster, just like most other gangster or crime movies out there, and pretty much most, if not all of them are rude. That's my opinion.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byJack Harlor February 8, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Another Scorcese Classic

How Martin Scorcese hasn't won an oscar before this is beyond me, with such classics like Goodfellas, Casino, Taxi Driver, and The Last Temptation of Christ. This film is what you'd expect from a Gangster film. Violence, Heavy language, Interesting Characters, Plot twists, and multiple oscar nods. This is a great film. There's really nothing else to say about it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byWizFan42 December 30, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Good Movie

I'll start off by saying I am a huge fan of about every actor in this movie so this automatically became a must see movie when I heard about it. I looked up the movie when I was bored on the weekend on On Demand because I know how good Marty and Leo are together and love every movie they team up in. I have to say this movie was awesome lots of language though but after seeing movies such as Goodfellas or Wolf of Wall Street (which are two other Scorsese classics I recommend) it isn't that much. If you are also sensitive to violence this movie may not be for you because there were at least 2 or 3 head shots with spurting blood and other people are shot with blood shown also. A man is dropped from a building and we see blood splat when his body hits the ground. One sex scene (not very graphic). And a "joke" about anal sex from the gang leader Frank Costello and also there is another scene involving a man pretending to be masturbating in an adult movie theater. The movie won a couple oscars and I personally loved it. Also, Dicaprio was outstanding in the movie and should have won an oscar. So I think if your child is 15 or older they can definetly handle it. But it may be akward to watch with your child because of the violence and the fact it contains 237 uses of the f word. Sex 6/10 Violence 7.5/10 Substance Abuse 4/10 Language 10/10 Overall it gets a 15 pause and ***** stars
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byBehindthescene November 28, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Totally overrated and definitely not for kids.

Like "Pulp Fiction," this is a film that, although releasing to huge critical acclaim and love from fans, I personally believe is overrated. Don't get me wrong, it's well crafted, but not Best Picture material. Where violence is certainly an issue here (considering the film's plot material, it all fits and shouldn't seem to extreme considering), it's the language that, like "Pulp Fiction," drives the movie. There are over 200 uses of the F-word, as well as a multitude of other choice words (Mark Whalberg's character using some of the strongest words in the film, also deserves the Best Supporting Actor award he was at least nominated for). There is a fair amount of sexual content in this film as well, including a scene in a porn theater (remind you of a similar scene from "Taxi Driver," hmmm?). Parents be warned, this is a well-crafted crime thriller with some great performances, but overall not a kid-friendly film. 8/10.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byKennedy_Tucker1 August 13, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing and Based on true events

Another one of my favorite Leonardo Dicaprio films! This movie has a lot of violence and language. It is also very intense because it is based on true events. I recommend viewers 14 & up and maybe even 13. There were two sex scenes in the movie. It depends how mature your child is to be able to watch the two scenes. Very thrilling and is my favorite movie!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byjames.bulfinch June 19, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Masterful, Powerful, Yet Violent

The Departed is a very inappropriate movie that touches all five of the IMDB parental guidance categories. There are several references to sexual behavior, but nothing is ever seen. The violence is graphic and fairly extensive. Lots of shooting, blood, beating, throwing off buildings, threatening, and torturing. The most graphic of which is when a man's broken arm is repeatedly and brutally smashed on the edge of a table. He screams in pain. Furthermore, there are hundreds of uses of f**k and dozens of other milder and more severe profanities. All in all, this is a great movie, but not for most kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old May 29, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The Departed Is Awesome But Intense

This movie is more like a bloody mafia fight to the death. When I was 9, I watched this movie with my grandpa. It turns out that he likes it but its pretty gory. There are too much weapons (including that part where Leonardo DiCaprio and 2 other men die by two characters although one of the characters die in the bloodbath and the other dies after getting shot by a silenced pistol in his apartment) that include but not limited too, guns and knives. This movie is also bad on language too including f--k, f---ot, p--s, and h--l. This movie should be for kids 14+. I also think this movie is great too and I forgot there is a little bit of sex.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bycinnagurl March 1, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

The Departed

Well this movie does have just about everything. Constant swearing, bloody violence, and drug abuse. but dont let this turn u away. this is a great movie once u get past that stuff. give it a chance. all star cast and great action. 4 stars
Teen, 15 years old Written byPart IV August 20, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

I love this movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byStevie111 March 21, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Intense crime thriller

Strong graphic violence and language, some drug material, know your kid, very mature
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bywannabemoviecritic January 12, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

REALLY? PARENTS

Do you parents honestly think that your children haven't heard these words!? Like wtf really? come on! If you don't think your kid should watch this movie then you appartely raised a stupid kid! Your kids watch these types of movies on the internet! Please! don't even get me started on the language! I hear the f word at least 96 times a day! your kid is truley stupid if they start repeating words like that from movies! ALL IN ALL THIS MOVIE WAS OUTSTANDING AND DISERVES APPLAUES AT THE END!

Pages