All member reviews for The Descendants

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Devastating, moving dramedy about death and forgiveness.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 27 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old December 13, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Thought-Provoking and Beautiful Film

I know I've been handing out many positive reviews lately, but only because I know which movies to watch. This is a lovely film. The second half is much better than the first half. That said, it never really drags and has good cinematography, good acting, and absolutely Oscar-worthy editing. Critics don't lie, the public doesn't lie. There are a few concerns for parents, though. Lots of language, and almost all of the language is spoken by teens, so kids may receive mixed messages on profanity. It's very moving, and may even be too sad for younger viewers. It's really not only the language that makes it for older kids or teens; it's also the subject matter. Not for kids anyway, unless the child is very intellectual, intelligent, mature, and patient.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bymoviemadness November 26, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

This Heavy, Dark Thinking Film is Great -for adults

The Descendants is a great movie that walks the tenuous balance between happiness and darkness and treats its delicate subject matter rawly. You will see each character with their greatness and failures plaid out in broad detain against the backdrop of gorgeous Hawaiian vistas. Truly this is a spectacular movie with fantastic acting, humor, sadness, and forgiveness. Not a movie for children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 8 and 12 year old Written byLara Liliby December 30, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Subtle, oddly funny movie for older teens

Nuanced performances and frank family discussions make this a good choice for more mature teens. There is much swearing and discussions of infidelity and marriage troubles. Also there is clear reference to the privileges of money and power. The locale of Hawaii is almost like a supporting star, and really captures what I have seen of it. Surprising moments appear like quiet gems every once in awhile to move the story along, but for the most part they are natural and do not seem contrived. The film stayed with me, especially the work of Shailene Woodley and George Clooney. If you liked Up in the Air you will like this movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant, 2, 5, and 10 year old Written byAG Fan Parent February 23, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Amazing, no higher then PG-13!

Wow. I cannot have enough praise for this lovely, beautifully done, overall amazing movie. I love George Clooney, so me and my husband saw this in theaters days after its release. I couldn't believe how well-acted, magically crafted this movie could be. While the main issue is enough to make anyone nervous (man's wife is dying, and then he finds out she's cheating..... I get it, it sound like the absolute R), the jist of it is a remarkable PG-13 movie with a bit added swearing. Sure, sex is mentioned, but not a lot, and it's never done in any way at all. The messages in this movie are also amazing: (where do I start?) Matt, George's character, somehow manages to live through the cheating with his wife's death, and he even tells the guy she was cheating with to come see her because he thinks she would have wanted it. Shailene Woodley's character drinks, but only at the beginning, she soon shapes to be a very mature teenage girl who is an excellent mother-figure to 10-year-old Scottie, her sister. There are just so many great messages about coping through things and living beyond troubles, even when you want to hate someone. Scottie was mostly a comic relief, but she did a great job at that at was a fairly realistic fourth/fifth grade girl. I honestly love this movie so much I showed it my 9-year-old daughter, who mildly enjoyed it. She's allowed to see PG-13 movies, and this was not a step up from those. The swearing's bad, but everything else is fine for any kid over 10 or 11 who's seen a PG-13 movie. If you're not sure about this one, watch it first, as it's one different parents may read different ways. I, however, am in love.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byqwerty keyboard December 29, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

There is really no point to it.

Well, I really like George Clooney, but this movie just didn't entertain me. I just couldn't get into it. I mean seriously, one of George's daughters asked him if she could watch porn. Wow, that is like the dumbest question ever asked, and the daughters constantly cuss to try to get people to laugh, I am sorry for those of you who like the movie, I am just trying to be honest!!
Kid, 12 years old September 1, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Amazing

It was a good movie with much swearing. It is iffy for anyone under 15. It has a great movie that shows a real family
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byMaWalker66 April 22, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good Movie

Absolutely No Violence or Sexual Content Is only R for 20 F Words Which isn't that much and most of it comes from one character it's not that sad should possibly be PG-13 and could definitely be PG if there were no swears if you are 8 and up you should watch this movie It's pretty good, but not amazing
Teen, 13 years old Written bybeautifuldarkness December 25, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great for 13 and up!

The Descendants is a VERY touching movie. the whole story bases around George Clooney trying to find out who was having an affair with his wife who is currently in a coma. The few problems in the film are 1) Language, shows a -lot of swear words coming from a 10 year old (Whore and middle finger.) and a lot of uses of the f-word and the s-word. 2) Sex- an issue of an 11 year old wanting to watch porn, and the whole story revolves around the affair the wife has. 3) A-lot of drinking drugs and smoking from the 17 year old who is trying to get back on track.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byC202C November 10, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good movie. 10 and up.

It is a really good movie. It's really sad though. There is nothing to bad in this movie. The kids do some bad things, but I don't think your kids will want to be like them!! Nothing bad is shown it is just said that one of the kids did drugs, the mom had an affair, and the kids use some bad language. It is no big deal. The movie was really interesting and it is really moving. I must of cried like 6 different times throughout the movie!! The only thing is the little kids won't even understand the movie until they are at least 10, so that is the only reason why I choose for kids 10 and up.
Kid, 10 years old September 10, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Only Bad Words

I know it's rated R,but I kind of saw anyway. It's depressing,but funny. The bad words were really annoying. But the acting is spectacular.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byILuvCandy August 6, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

only for 13

I cried soo much but i loved it! i watched it with my 9 year old cuzzin and she didnt get wat it wz about!! so only 13+ watch it!!
Kid, 9 years old July 7, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

It makes you think.

The movie was great it may be intense for some kids. I laughed I cried but it still has issues. There was alot of sex talk because that is in the plot point. And there was issues with an 11 or 12 year old wanting to watch porn. It was an amazing story of an affair and jealousy.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byNo Name, for real. June 23, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great move has tons of heart, and lots of kindness. One of my favorite

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bywonder dove May 22, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Hmmm...

It was slow and predictable, but a good watch overall. Clooney is excellent as usual. The story was definitely sad but I kind of found the kids to be unlikable in this. Lots of strong language, including by a teenage girl which was a little disturbing. However, I loved how it was Hawaii themed, such gorgeous scenery. Acting was great and the actors chosen for the film was perfect. I would not watch again but it's definitely worth a look.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byRobbyboyfye16 April 1, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

kmol78

Fantastic well made Dramedy is sad but really touching and remarkable.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old March 31, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing

I loved this movie! The swearing was not appropriate for younger viewers but the role models were improving as the movie went on. Basically, when tragedy stroke, they pulled together as had to accept that life is not perfect; messy is a good word for it. Recommend to any mature person over the age of 14
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old March 25, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

The Descendants

This was a heartwarming and sad film. Some punches were thrown. A major plot point is about an affair. 'Porn' is mentioned. Language is used occasionally, and Alex gets hungover. This was an amazing movie that was very sad.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byfreehope. March 20, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Great movie- language/themes are a bit old

I thought it was great; excellent performances by Shailene and Clooney. They played off each other well. Its very genuine and raw; it was very real. It really showed what real families are like without pulling punches; it was refreshing. There is extensive swearing and unclear messages regarding drugs/alcohol. For the most part young kids just wouldn't get the film and would be bored. Its a great story about grief and how to deal with losing a loved one who wasn't perfect, how you reconcile past angers at that person with your love for them.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old March 19, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Amazing!!!!! :)

I love this movie!!!!!!! I am nine, and I saw it. The only bad stuff is the language, but it is a great movie and Mummy didn't mind me seeing it. It should not be R rated, but it has lots of bad words, so I know that it is for a reason. Mummy says nine is a good age, but no younger. My sisters (they're thirteen, fifteen, seventeen, and one) all saw it except for my baby sister Lenny. It's super great! Star :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent Written byImjustsaying January 29, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Sad and good at the same time. Bring tissues.

This movie was very good and very sad. The movie is about a dad/husband who is coming to gripes that his unfaithful wife is going to die from a boating accident. His two children are very troubled and I have a big feeling it's from the fact that the mom neglected them (to cheat, extreme sports) and the dad who is a workaholic and also had his head in the sand about everything. Once the husband finds out about his wife's lover, he goes on a mission to confront/meet the guy and takes his two troubled daughters with him along for the bumpy ride. The girls cuss a lot and the younger one is very sexualized. Their is a slacker friend, Sid, of the older daughter who is excellent as her faithful friend who is with her and the dad and the other daughter the whole time through this journey. There are very sad parts like in the hospital when the family is saying goodbye. Bring tissues and I'm not kidding about you'll need to use them. Clooney is also very good in his role as clueless dad/husband. I just didn't get the feeling that he was crushed his wife was cheating throughout the movie as they were having marriage problems anyways. The scene where he says goodbye to her in the hospital is just heartbreaking. Don't bring anyone under 16 atleast.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages