All member reviews for The Goonies

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 56 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old June 4, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

The Best! An instant classic

Kids that dont get scared easy love this movie! I loved it, It was a little freaky when the obese kid was stuck in that freezer with that dead guy, but besides that I was rolling on the ground laughing! Not recommended for kids that get lots of nightmares and get scared easy.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old January 22, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 17, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

In general, pretty good

I watched The Goonies as a 2-year-old, but then again, I didn't know what all that stuff meant. I'd say it's pretty good for 9+, and for some mature 8-year-olds. It has a good theme of working together.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovieWatcher0606 October 23, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Great Kid friendly movie!

Swearing is not a big deal! I saw this when I was 4 and it is still one of my favorite movies today!
Kid, 10 years old August 23, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
funny tale that will charm everybody.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byolli3 April 23, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Goonies

I think it is an exellent 80's film. following a 1663 map into a spectacular underground passage, its got booby traps and wonderful scenes.Athough I have rated The Goonies as a 12, the film has a few mild swearing like s*** and cr** and may not be suitable for viewers unless parents allow or accompanied by an adult.
Teen, 13 years old Written byjames brown April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

good but, not good at the same time

what all the adults say about the s-word is true. In a PG-13 or R movie I would of expected it and not mineded it as much, but it's kind of disturbing on a PG. A pretty lot of sex to. it is hularious tho. on for 13+ otherwise make em' wait.(it shoud of been PG-13. you've also got to realize that there was a time in the 80's were the s-word was ok in kids movies.)
Teen, 13 years old Written byschuymarch1 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

This movie is one of the best.
Teen, 14 years old Written bybrodytrinceTV May 30, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

THIS MOVIE IS GOOD ENOUGH

i received thisa film on my 5th birthday, and after nine years it is my favorite movie, this is some language, a deformed person who does have a shining ending, and yeah i bought a baby ruth after watching it
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written byXemnasSuperior March 10, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 8 years old January 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

great

this is a very good movie because I like how they search for one eyed willy in the caverns and its very interesting.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 14, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
haa i love this movie. its very interesting.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old August 8, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great, but some stuff in there, NUH UH.

This movie is VERY GOOD and what I'd expect from a Spielberg movie (this is a Spielberg movie, by the way), but some stuff in there, NUH UH.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old December 20, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Even kids in Middle school need to be checked in maturity rate bedfore atching this

Thsi PG movie is a bit to much for kids.You should let your kids watch if their MATURE.Great movie though
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old August 8, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
very bad language
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old July 11, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Four Friends.....

go on an adventure to seek a old pirate's treasure before the bad guys.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old May 30, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byerik252 May 1, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
this is one of my alltime faviorites
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestPicture1996 April 4, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

An absloute classic!

Salty language and sexual content surround the film, but it is always going to be on of my favorites!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bymoviegeek97 February 26, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

One of the best movies ever

I personaly loved this movie, it is full of action, suspence, and full of laughs
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models

Pages