All parent member reviews for The Hangover

Parents say

(out of 67 reviews)
age 15+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 11 year old Written bysusak10 May 15, 2011
 
Great. funny, smart. Not for kids.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 year old Written byxboxgeek May 8, 2011
 

brilliant funny film

There is nothing inapropriate in this movie the bestiality is fine its one picture of a monkey on top of a man and it says picture of explicit acts the is one picture of to naked people just kissing and you can barely see iti would say apropriate for any ages above 2!
Parent of an infant and 8 year old Written bySteffauri516 February 24, 2011
 

Great for young adults, definately off for kids

Haha! Personally, I enjoyed this movie greatly, it's raunchy, funny, engaging...but WAY too risque for my young children. My kids are 8 years and 9 months old so, this movie will be off for us for quite some time! While it is a very enjoyable film, it is best suited for adults and older teens; there is TONS of swearing, drinking, drug references, nudity and sex. It's a rather edgy film for teens under the age of 16 or 17, as there is some present content that they may not understand or misconstrue (innapropriate content) So, while this is a great, funny film for young adults, it's definately off for anyone under 16 or 17
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 and 13 year old Written byCommon critic January 7, 2011
 

Mature audience only

A very funny movie.mature audience only
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 year old Written byD_Sides December 9, 2010
 

Funny

I loved this movie! You can't keep your children angels forever. Trust me they know everytging in this movie and it's not that bad.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 14 year old Written byzackk710 November 7, 2010
 

Very Funny, but not for kids.

Very funny, although very violent, and lots of cussing. Some drug/alcohol use. Gambling. Etc.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byFancyChristine15 October 7, 2010
 

Perfect for older teens and adults.

This movie has a ton of cursing and some nudity but it is one of the funniest movies I have ever seen.
Adult Written by4Spice September 16, 2010
 

great movie

this movie was very funny no kids 16 and over for strong language drugs and nudity adults only
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 5 year old Written bynaomianniebelle August 27, 2010
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 9, 11, and 14 year old Written byJaelyn Artista August 20, 2010
 

use as a teaching tool

This is definitely an adult movie. And it is hilarious...for adults. But here are some points to ponder. A significant majority of kids have seen this movie. They are going over it VERBATIM in the schools. My take would be to watch it with your child 14+(depends on how much they know about sex at this point. Reminder about how many are currently having sex at 13) after you have seen it first and discuss what's wrong with it vs. glossing right over these issues. Like it or not, society finds this funny....why?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byoliviamarie July 23, 2010
 

IN THE FACE!!!!!!!

Okay; so this movie is the most hilllarious movie I've ever been blessed to see. Honestly, I dont' think it's that terrible. Let me tell you about humor now adays. 1. Saying you cannot be within 200 yards of a school......or Chuckee Chease is pretty hilarious in my book. It could be implying something but you'd have to think about it in "that" way. 2. Getting shot by a stun gun in the face is pretty hilarious, especially how the person opperating the gun is a child. Have you heard your children talk lately? Because if you have, then you've heard the phrase "IN THE FACE!" that's from the hangover. Let me tell you; most of you parent's who are deciding whether or not to let your child watch this movie I'm sorry to tell you this but.......90% of your children have already seen this movie, on youtube, online, or with a friend. Sorry to burst your bubble. The biggest concern I have with this movie is the nudity. It occurs a few times at most but still. But then again; you all have gone through health class. Also; concerning the language. Trust me. They HAVE heard worst. Although you may be trying to protect them, they've still heard a LOT worse! I recomend it(: Go For It!(:
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byrybro152 July 2, 2010
 

Hilarious but not for young kids.

Although it is very funny, it is not for younger aged kids. there are many things wrong in the movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 year old Written byBig Reb June 27, 2010
 

Hysterical movie, but really raunchy

My son is WAY too young to see this movie yet, so I left him with the babysitter for this one. It is probably one of my favorite movies now and is just a fun movie to watch, but it is really raunchy. The violence isn't bad at all. There's plenty of drug/alcohol use of course (it's called "The Hangover" for a reason), and the language is really crude throughout (beyond swearing - for example, one character talks about a woman being grossed out by semen). Actual depictions of sex aren't bad until the end where you can see a character getting oral sex (I was surprised that made it into theaters, actually). Is it vulgar? Yes. Is it funny? Yes. I can tell you that if I had watched this movie at 12 or so, I wouldn't have learned anything new from it. If you're looking for a movie with positive messages and role models for your teens, keep looking. If you're looking for a good comedy, and your teens are reasonably mature, this is a great movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byjoshua martinez June 20, 2010
 

not for kids.

the hangover is definitely not for kids this movie is only for adults the violence is mild there's a lot of sex and nudity and a lot of sex talk about sexual acts, techniques, and one character's work as an "escort also they show disturbing Photos of nudity and explicit sexual acts including glimpsed male genitalia in the closing-credits montage there's a lot of strong language used and a lot of drinking, smoking, and drugs used.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 14 year old Written byjayran June 7, 2010
 

IT'S PORNOGRAPHIC

WHY DID THEY DESTROY the humor in this movie with ALL THE NUDITY, ESPECIALLY AT THE VERY END WHEN YOU LEAST EXPECT IT! HOLLYWOOD-STOP!!! YOU DON'T HAVE TO DO THIS.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 17 year old Written byNinnggaaaaaa May 4, 2010
 

perfect

(:
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent Written bydaberryfam April 9, 2010
 

Not appropriate for under 17

Completely inappropriate for children and teens. There are far better ways to talk with kids about the pitfalls of drug use and casual sex than taking them to see this film. If we parents allow our children to see such films we are telling them by way of our permission that we condone the trivializing of drug use and casual sex. Save it for a date night or a guys/girls night out among the adults and get something more appropriate for the kids.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 17 year old Written byxianxxx February 24, 2010
 

Check your morals at the door

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 15 year old Written byMom2them February 21, 2010
 

Raunchy movie that insulted me as a parent

My husband thought this was a funny movie to take his daughter to. I know....what Dad would take is 15 year old daughter to see this movie? It is a movie for guys and a stupid one at that. They rented it one night for me to watch and I watched 2 minutes and said no way. It might be good to see stupid men getting drunk and thinking it was wrong, but mostly they both thought how funny it was. It made me really question my husband's judgement and I thought less of my daughter for watching it. So even though I did not watch the whole thing, I got the jist of the movie and realized that if things got worse (which it sound like they do) then why watch it. My standards are high now as a parent and I resent movie directors who try to think that this is good subject matter for our kids.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byNoFilth January 15, 2010
 

Filth

Filth. Ending credits show an oral sex scene. Bad, bad.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages