All member reviews for The Hangover

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 160 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written bytbrandt23 June 26, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Perfect for anyone 17 and up that wants to see the #1 comedy of all time.

Loved it, best movie ever. Lots of expliot material (makes it awesome and the funniest movie ever). NOT FOR ANYONE UNDER 17!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bykatiemay017 March 29, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Best Movie EVER! 15+

this is my favorite movie EVER. it is hillarious and a musst see. there is MUCH swearing and referances to sexual things but otherwise an amazing;y funny film. SEE IT!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byCheerleaderBabe April 23, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Real Review

It was a very good movie. Lots of swearing, but kids hear that at school.. The sexual content is bad, and involves nudity and plenty of talk about sex. If you are 12+, have non-sheltering parents, and love funny movies.. This is for you!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byxcinemaxfan December 29, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Funny movie, but for mature teens and adults only.

I love this movie and thought it was the funniest comedy of the year. That being said I think parents should take caution in deciding if it's ok for their children. I think any mature 13 or 14 year- old would be ok, but not anyone younger.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 2 years old September 24, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I saw this with my mommy and daddy

I loved it and thought it was really funny
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew November 30, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Hilarious but drug filled and not for kids

My rating:R for comic violence,pervasive language,crude sexual content,graphic nudity and drug use throughout
Teen, 13 years old Written byjohnstewart August 19, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

the only nudity are breasts and some man buttocks (one genital is covered by pubic hair)

Also 100 f-words, but i hear like 50+ of them everyday at school so i'm used to them. not too much violence but some
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old August 6, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

The Hangover Review.

This movie is very comical yet inappropriate but I think kids should be learning about this type of stuff it will help them grow up because if it actually happens to them for example being offered drugs they wouldn't know what to do it is simple logic. Here are some of the bad things that happen in the movie a naked man jumps out the trunk of a car then beats the main characters up, you see a picture of a man snorting cocaine, you figure out that one of the characters put some the other characters on roofies, you see a tiger eat a drug laced steak and there are many sweir words, drug use, and sexual terms throughout the movie. There are also a little good parts. but like I said I think kids like me should be learning about this stuff not shielding it out. So like I said in another review next time if your kid asks to watch a movie like this let them try it out.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byeazy__breezy August 4, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Not for kids at all

This review is for the unrated version, not the rated version The Hangover is not for kids. It contains tons of language (lots of f-words, sometimes they are used in a sexual way). The violence isn't too bad, but it does contain some, a man is tazered in the balls, another man is tazered in the head. The three guys are beaten up with a crowbar, and in another scene one is punched in the face and later, clawed by a tiger. A man is shot too, he doesn't appear to die. The sexual stuff is pretty bad, a woman is seen breastfeeding a baby, her nipple is briefly seen. The same baby is made to pretend masturbate. A man is seen fully nude, his penis is blocked by his pubic hair and is not seen, a man is seen without any pants on, supposedly naked, and in another scne is seen with thong like underpants on, he hugs another man. A drunk man is seen pretending to hump a tiger, a makeout scene and some sexual talk. The worst is in the credits, we a picture of a topless woman on a man, several woman in suggestive clothing and some sexual positions, a man is seen getting a blow job but his penis is barely seen, remember this is all in pictures not video. The achohal is high in this movie, but hey what do you expect from a movie called The Hangover. Overall this isn't a kids movie. Don't let your kids watch it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byLauraJ2012 July 14, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Really funny film

Great film but feature lots of sex and drinking references which ok for the age group. They cost of the hotel might give extreme ideas.
Teen, 13 years old Written byGenesect84 July 13, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Awesome, but inappropriate for young kids

This movie was great, but there's a lot of adult content. First of all, the movie revolves around the fact that the four main characters were under the influence of roofies, the date rape drug and did a lot of crazy things, including steal a tiger and one of them married a stripper. There's also a lot of bad language, such as f**k, d**k, j**z, c*m, sh*t, t*ts, and much more. One of the character's nickname is "Dr. F**got". Also there is nudity showing breasts at the end and when they go to the wife's house. There are also depictions of anal sex and bestiality. So this movie is definitely NOT for young kids... maybe teens if they can handle it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bylafaue July 8, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Hilarious- for high schoolers

I loved The Hangover- it was absolutely hilarious! There is a LOT of swearing and a little nudity. Most teens will understand and appreciate this movie. I think most 13 year olds could handle it (but skip the credits- they're disgusting).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byawesome570257023572 May 12, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

AWESOME MOVIE

BEST MOVIE EVER. drinking drugs smoking. inappropriate about 687 scenes of swear. lots of sex scenes and violence but other ways best movie for 14 and over
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWG1 February 1, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

One of the funniest movies I have seen

This movie was absolutely funny, but had a lot of content little kids definitely do not need to see. First off the sexual content is mainly just some jokes and one scene of nudity ( A non-sexual scene where a man's pubic hair and butt are shown for a brief time as he runs away) in the movie itself and for the most part is crude but isn't horrible... Then the credits start to roll and this begins the real nudity and sexual content that will surprise many is definitely not kids. There is also frequent language that is used throughout by many of the characters. There is also a lot of drinking as well as drug use and these two things are basically what make up the plot of the movie. There is only slapstick violence and little amount of blood. Now I would say pause for 15 with the credits, but without the credits I would say mature 13!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMultimedia Expert October 11, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Hilarious movie best suited for teens.

Content: Off for ages: 1-12 Pause for ages: 13-15 On for ages: 16 and up Positive Message: 0/5: A very blurry message, be careful, when in Vegas. Positive Role Model: 0/5: No one here should be looked at as someone to look up to. Violence: 3/5: Beatings, guns, and vehicular danger happen occasionally. Sex: 4/5: Occasional nudity (most of the nudity is in the credits, which contains some bare breasts and exposed male genitalia), and a lot of explicit sexual conversation and references to techniques, acts, and innuendos for body parts. Reference to being on a sex offender list. Language: 5/5: A curse word virtually every other sentence. Words used: F**k, s**t, b***h, hell, a**, and many others. Consumerism: 2/5: The movie is partially filmed in Vegas, so real places in Vegas can be seen. Various brands and other pop culture references (e.g. Chuck E. Cheese, Indiana Jones, and others) are referred to. Drinking, Drugs and Smoking: 5/5: With hangover in the movie title, alcohol content shouldn't be a surprise, constant alcohol and drug use. However, the side effects are well represented. Quality: While not a good choice for a family movie, for the appropriate audience, The Hangover provides a laugh out loud good-time summer film experience.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byEric Paul October 7, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

ADULT MOVIE

THESE MOVIE IS FOR ADULTS not for kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byJohn Haugland August 3, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Are people seriously looking up if they should show this to their kids?

This movie was awesome, but the only reason I saw it was because I was at a sleepover. You can't block your kid from watching it, but try your hardest, because when your kid sees it, he's going to be... wiser.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byTip yap July 17, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Funniest Movie Of All Time

This movie is just overly hilarious the whole premise is about 4 guys who can't handle Vegas it is full of drugs alcohol and language it also features some nudity and sex but nothing graphic it is hilarious but very crude 14+
Teen, 16 years old Written byMr. Smiley July 10, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great Movie, Not Appropriate for Some Ages

Extremely funny. Watched it many times. Kids 14 and under should probably watch with an adult.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bystudboy24 July 3, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

not for kids

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages