All member reviews for The Hangover

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 160 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written bybalimango August 7, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Hilarious movie, somewhat inappropriate.

yes, this movie includes bad language, drinking, drugs, full nudity, implied sexual content, and other things with may be offensive, BUT it is a very funny movie. You may not want to admit it, but chances are, by the times your child is 14, they have probably already been exposed to all of these things. Hiding them from your child will just make them more curious. So, if your kid is not offended by these things, they will probably find this movie hilarious. If you are unsure, it may be a good idea to watch yourself first. I watched when I was 13/14 (with my parents premission)and I loved it. It's my favorite movie ever.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byantoineisthebest August 3, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

hilarious probably the funniest comedy I ever saw

I have seen it after the second (on the first day it came out) so on saturday I went to best buy and got the hangover unrated on blu-ray with 100 of the lost pictures.I find way less inapropriate than the second.all of this happen in may the ending credit are innapropriate yes but in the movie all we see is nudity and nudity is part of life but yes there's sexual joke that are hilarious but not for kids for mature 13 year old
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bybdawg325 July 28, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Funny

I am thirteen and watched this. Its not that bad. My parents didnt let me watch the end credits (boobs.) Most of the sex jokes i hear at my school. Funny movie but i would say 13 would probably be the youngest age to watch it. Lots of swearing, but you here F*ck once, you here it a million times.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byAshinthehouse July 20, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

funny good movie apporate for older teens

the hangover is a good movie i really liked it. its not super funny but pretty funny =) it has alot of language but it is rated R,and has some sexaul things like half naked girls, and when stu marries a hooker, and of course drinking after all the whole problem they get into because they take roofies accidentally.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byManami July 9, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Hilarious, for the right audience

I'm a huge fan of this movie, and it kept me rolling on the floor laughing the whole time. That being said, you need to make sure your kids are mature and educated enough to know about the content. Every child is different, but for most it would be easier to handle by age 13 or 14. Skip the ending credits though (the "pics from the night"), or at least beware of the hardcore nudity at the end.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written by2052 July 2, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Age fifteen and up for mature oeople

This movie is not for kids age 14 and under. With a man making a baby master bate and more
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written by9001 June 30, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

The funniest movie I've ever seen in my entire life.

This movie is hilarious, however it is no where near appropriate for children. It contains strong explicit language, and some nudity in the end credits. In the rated version of the movie, the oral sex picture is shown in the end credits, but it's censored. In the rated version, unless I'm not remembering something, there is no uncensored view of genitals, male or female. However, there are some pictures of breasts and scenes containing people with bare buttocks, but that's not a big deal for mature teens. The main thing here that worries me is the overall adult storyline: getting drugged, using drugs all the time, etc. That is why I do not RECOMMEND this movie for anyone under 18, but it really depends on your child. I was mature enough to handle this movie, even though I'm only 14, but another kid might not be able to handle this movie until he's 18. However, due to the sexual references and language, I think it would be inappropriate to show this movie to anyone under 14, no matter how mature they were.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 27, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

GO FOR IT!!!!!!!!!

i wayched at 9 but i think 10 is good its really funny the sex jokes are the best i have ever heard
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheSuperman765 May 27, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Funny, yes, but chock-full of alcohol-fueled adult content.

Positive messages: The movie's message is, at best, a little m...The movie's message is, at best, a little muddled; while the three main characters pay a price for their misadventures -- beatings, dehydration, sunburn, and more -- everything works out well in the end. Positive role models: Friends act despicably, but pay the pric...Friends act despicably, but pay the price. While some female characters are depicted as life partners andpositive influences, some are depicted as nagging harridans or simple sex objects. Violence: Beatings, vehicular mayhem, the use of stun guns on ...Beatings, vehicular mayhem, the use of stun guns on "volunteers" in front of children (with children, in two cases, operating the stun guns/tazers), beatings with crowbars, and a gunshot wound to an innocent bystander. One character spends much of the film lamenting an excised tooth -- a bleeding, gaping wreck of a lost incisor. Some gunplay. A baby is hit in the head with a car door and is present during a few scenes of peril. Sex: Extensive male and female nudity, including nude buttocks...Extensive male and female nudity, including nude buttocks and breasts. Discussion of sexual acts, techniques, and one character's work as an "escort." Photos of nudity and explicit sexual acts (including glimpsed male genitalia) in the closing-credits montage. Explicit discussions of infidelity, one-night stands, and other acts. Mimed mock bestiality for comedic effects. A character notes that he cannot be within 200 yards of "A school ... or a Chuck E. Cheese," implying that he's on some kind of serial offender watchlist. Language: Extensive, inventive, and constant vulgarity, includ...Extensive, inventive, and constant vulgarity, including "f--k" and its derivations, "a-s," "f--got," "do-chebag," "wh-re," "g-y," "h--l," "s---t," "s--t," "Jesus," "se-en," "ret-rd," "bi-ch," "god-amn," "oh my God," "butt," "we--us," "bas-ard," "b--ls," "a-sholes," "nuts," and much, much more. Consumerism: Mentions and on-screen display of brands includes...Mentions and on-screen display of brands includes many mentioned as plot points, including Caesar's Palace, Mercedes-Benz, Chuck E. Cheese, Rogaine, Monster Energy Drink, Gremlins, Indiana Jones, Rain Man, Jagermeister, Carnival Cruises, and more. Drinking, drugs, & smoking: The entire film revolves aroun...The entire film revolves around excessive drinking and drug abuse. Characters drink beer, wine, and hard liquor to excess. A character thinks he's giving his friends Ecstasy without their consent but is, in fact, giving them "Roofies," the "date rape drug." Mentions of cocaine, crystal meth, and crank abuse. Drunk driving is implied. Photos in the closing-credits montage depict cocaine use. Reference to marijuana. It's worth noting that the brutal consequences of drug and alcohol abuse -- aches, memory loss, vomiting, humiliation, and despair -- are depicted unflinchingly.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byGingerKiss8 May 27, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Rawr

Absolutely hilarious fun! I was clutching my sides literally the entire movie! Yes it is overtly sexual and explicit but I have honestly seen worse! And I obtained most of the words in my colorful vocabulary from school and other such educational places. Definately let 13 year olds see this movie and maybe talk over the boundaries that your 11-12 year old kids want to set for their movie watching. And do NOT let them watch the credits! (Nudity and B-J's) But apart from that this movie is one of the best american comedies I have seen in a long time!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 21, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great for mature 11+

FUNNY AS HEL! saw this when i was 10 and loved the movie, but only now do i really get it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written bygingerkiss May 14, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fun (:

Absolutely loved this movie! It was completely hilarious. I think this is a good movie for 13 and over, or even some 12 year olds I know that are pretty world weary. Nothing to gross onscreen, but I'd skip the ending credits if I were you as they have some dodgy pictures. Yes there are some bums but it's not too pornographic. It actually also shows why you should never leave your drinks unattended as baaad stuff could happen! Also the language in it is a little iffy but if you're 13 you already know most of that! I mean come on... You may think your 13 year old is innocent and naiive, but if they go to a school with other kids, chances are... They're not. So I do highly recomend this movie!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byPuppyluv13 May 11, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

AWESOME MOVIE

It did have some things in it that were inappropriate but overall, a GREAT movie! I was laughing through the WHOLE thing!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bymardoggie2013 May 6, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

We're the three best friends that anyone could ever have...

This is a funny movie, no doubt about that! It's definitely not appropriate for anyone but older teenagers.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 3, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

great but bad!

i saw this movie with my mom when i was i think 10 and i knew alot for a kid my age that was in this movie! hilairous yes but also very uncomfaterble watching with mom! oh boy and they've come out with another one to
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byashowiscool April 5, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Definately a movie for ages 15-. A hilarious film, lots of conversation about ecstasy and roofies, lots of language, breif nudity (and a guys butt, but big deal) and sexual content. I honestly say that it isn't so bad compared to the stuff that kid's watch today. I mean, first graders already know about sex, drugs and curses. So really it's not much new, but I would really show it to an older teen. but in the end it's a heartwarming tale of friendship.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byavapink16 April 4, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Perfect for anyone over 15 who want to laugh

There is absolutely not one benificial thing about his movie they cuss too much drink till they cant remember what they have done and have lost the groom but it is sooo funny and entertaining that all that is forgiven in return for a bucket of laughs i would watch the movie with your over 15 kids but it is very entertaining and worth the movie rental and time.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old April 4, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

funny

funniest movie ever
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byGreg Foltynowicz March 29, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
This movie is really funny but it contains non-stop sex related jokes and references including some male/female nudity (more prevalent in the "UNRATED" cut) -- most jokes are minor, but there is a graphic reference to necrophilia and a scene where the Doctor jokes that Phil may have been raped , which may offend some viewers-- Eddie the Wedding Chappel owner is revealed to be a pimp Alan makes a baby simulate masterbation several times, and points out to his friends what the baby is doing. at the end of the R-RATED and UNRATED film, in pictures, Alan is shown receiving oral sex in the R-Rated cut, the body part is blurred out, but it is graphically shown in the UNRATED cut. Non-stop R-Rated profanities including many uses of the "F word" and "S word" - more in the UNRATED cut. Gay/Rape references/jokes are made a few times. Two of which may actually shock some viewers And it also has the big theme of the movie is that 3 guys were drugged by Roofies while getting drunk in Las Vegas, so they dont remember anything about what happened to them-- (most of this is shown in pictures, but there is a scene of them taking shots of Jaeger) several jokes about alcohol and drug use towards the end of the movie, there several scene in a casino where Phil is seen drinking several drinks. a minor character is revealed to be the drug dealer that sold Alan bad drugs. In the end credits of the UNRATED cut, Carrot Top is seen snorting cocaine, and other characters are shown smoking marijuana
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bykjglk March 22, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
The best movie ever! I've never laughed so much... But a lot of bad language is used. Otherwise, teens will love this but the movie's not very suitable for young kids...
What other families should know
Too much swearing

Pages