All member reviews for The Heat

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 39 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old June 29, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

WOW!

SWEARING, DRINKING, SEX AND VIOLENCE ALL ARE IN THIS FILM. BUT IT WAS REALLY GOOD!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bySean Broucek June 27, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Funny, But Mature.

Parents, this raunchy and somewhat brilliant drugged-up action comedy from the acclaimed director of "Bridesmaids" is probably on your teen's radar, but the violence and drugs and language and sex makes it better for only mature teens and adults. There is bloody but comical combat, waterboarding, interrogation, stabbing, destruction of property, snapped necks, and knife ambushes. Sex includes brief graphic nudity (female genitals and breasts), seduction, many inappropriate sexual references throughout, and flashes of comedic sexual assault. Language includes f--k, s--t, d--k, c--t, a--hole, b-tch, c--k, c--ksucker, wh-re, d-mn and the "N" word towards African-American criminals. Pot use is also frequent. In the end, this mature and funny comedy is best left for old teens and adults. Rated R For Brief Graphic Nudity, Some Strong Sexuality, Pervasive Language, Violent Material & Drugs.
Teen, 14 years old Written byDancermcm August 12, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Hilarious, but Be Careful

This is so hilarious, and I know, I'm 14 and I'm only kind of recommending this for 16-year-olds. I'm mature for my age, and I BEGGED my grandmother to see this. It does swear, a LOT, but I'm used to it from school, it goes right over my head. It IS violent, most notably when Sandra Bullock's character tries to do an incision in a guy's (who's choking) throat, and it goes terribly wrong, and when she puts a straw through the incision, blood comes up the straw and goes everywhere. There is a lot of drinking and drug use, and a lot of strong sexual conversations, which make it kind of suitable for 16-year-olds who can handle this stuff.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byNizar G August 26, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

A MUST!!!!

So it was a normal boring sunday until we decided to go to the movies because there is this new movie called "THE HEAT" and after all the trouble of not having an ID because im too lazy to make one we finally made it in. And from beginning to end this was one of the most brilliant movies ever made. its a mixture of romance comedy and action. So therefor its suitable for both genders. There WERE curse words in the movie and there was some naughty scenes but they put the limits exactly where they should be. great movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnaheim2011 August 14, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

Ok I'm 13 almost 14 and I watched this movie and I liked it. Yes, it did have some sexual parts and a lot of use of drugs and drinking but we all know that it's bad to do drugs so it's not much of a big deal honestly, I thought that the movie was funny and it did have a little positive message in the end. Even though in the begging both agents hate each other, they learn more about each other and work together and end up being friends. One agent, based on her looks is made fun of but she really is pretty much the best FBI agent and you shouldn't judge people on how they look because there is a story behind them. All in all it was a pretty great movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byAliphulupus June 28, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Funny comedy has gore, swearing and violence

This movie is a comedy about two cops who have to join together to catch one main bad guy. One swears ALOT while the other one is kinda against swearing until the end(Says what the F) There is lots of violence and gore at some scenes, people get shot in the head(Blood splatters) and people get stabbed in the leg, headbutt in the head and in one scene the cop cuts open a guys throat to remove some food he was choking on(very disturbing) they stick a straw into the hole and blood comes flying out. Some pictures of dismembered bodies. There is some sexual references through the movie There is drugs and drinking. But of course they go after the drug people. I really enjoyed the movie I would say this movie is good for teens 16+ The main things are violence, swearing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySaad1Khan November 15, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Fine is Ok

Rated R by MPAA but girls or boys aged 15 can watch it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew October 12, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Funny buddy cop comedy has adult humor and drinking but great laughs

My rating:R for crude humor,suggestive content,drug use,violence,nudity and pervasive language
Teen, 13 years old Written bybands4life October 3, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

My Review on "The Heat"!

Parents must know, that this movie includes infrequent violence, infrequent but sometimes strong crude and sexual references and humor, a topic centered around taking down a drug lord, and constant language. F--k and s--t are used constantly, Milder swears such as damn, hell, bitch, ass and d--k are used a few times each, C--t is used once. As for violence, this movie has infrequent and sometimes bloody violence, such as, a man being shot in the head, a knife being stuck into Sandy Bullock's leg, a man being shot in the testicles and Sandy trying to prevent a man from choking by making an incision in his throat, and accidentally killing him, this scene is very bloody. As for drug and alcohol use, Sandy and McCarthy get really drunk at a bar, the theme is about tracking down a drug lord, many substances are shown but rarely used, a few drug references, and mention of drug dealers throughout. As for sexual stuff, there are a few crude and sexual references, a woman attempts to dance suggestively to a man to reach into his pocket and get his phone, a scene involving prostitutes who are suggestively dressed and they are discussing the price but no sexual stuff is shown, about 3 references to women's private area, and some brief but strong crude/sexual humor. Great movie. 15+. Suggested Rating: R - For Language Throughout Including Sexual References, Violence and Bloody Images, and some Drug Content
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old September 6, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Ok for some kids

You should let your kids watch it if you let them watch movies some violence bad language and sextuality.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old September 2, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Super funny, super swearing

Great film not very much bad stuff except TONS OF SWEARING so if you are okay with hearing almost 2 f words a minute for like a hour and half you should be okay with this film
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byDuckCommander13 August 3, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Really Funny Buddy Cop Movie

This is a funny movie but it does have many F words, sexual references , there is some blood when unlock preforms a tracheotomy on a choking person. The plot is based around a good and bad cop trying to catch a drug lord. But there's nothing that an 8th grader has never heard or known about before .
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byIlovemovies❤️❤️❤️ July 27, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Love this movie!!!

Great movie, Great plot, great actresses/actors but is it for kids??? The heat has constant swearing including "f--k", (which Melissa McCarthy practically uses in every sentence) "s--t", p---y", "a-s", "b---h", etc. Sex is not in this movie but there is some brief sexual content such as "porn", "d--k" etc. There is also a scene where Sandra bullock dances dirty with another character while he attempts to lick Sandra bullocks breasts (everyone is completely dresses and their is no nudity shown) a lot of drug content too. (Mostly pot) other than that the movie is great!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byJodieChupp July 2, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Funny but definitely has ALOT of cussin in it. I loved this movie. Because of the language its rated R but other than that its a pretty good movie
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySDS1328 June 24, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Heat

Its a hilarious movie with a great storyline. Sandra Bullock is amazing in it. It has tons of swearing. It does have some sexial jokes. It has some drugs.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old June 11, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

My Favorite movie

The main reason the movie is R i because elf the swearing ok get it so if your kid knows the words let them watch it. There is an regular amount of violence accept when someone gets shot in the head. There is almost no sex i mean some references and the part at club ekko has some parts but not a lot, a scene where Mullens is interrogating someone by threatening to shoot there balls of and when Sandra bullock does it is kind of bad. The drugs ok THE WHOLE MOVIE IS ABOUT DRUGS if you don't want your kid to see drugs don't show them it you see Mullens' brother have the holes in his arm from drugs and when they look for them they find them. Overall it is a great movie
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bybjf15 June 9, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

I saw it a couple months back when I was 14 at a friend's. Thought it was fine. It was really funny but the swearing was like every other word. Good message but again the language is in every minute of this buddy cop movie.

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byWarriorsCat May 26, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Just Plain Epic

The characters were very interesting, especially the character of Melissa McCarthy. The Heat is a well made movie, and the characters are very likable. This is not a chick flick, some people mistaken it for one because the two main characters are female. There are movies where the main characters are male, and it's not considered a man flick! Eg. Dumb and Dumber, The Three Stooges, Jaws. Anyway, this movie is one of the best crime comedies of all time. There is only this one disturbing violence scene where blood comes out of a choking man's throat.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byakaay2854 April 26, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Funny but inappropriate

This movie is really really funny. It doesn't show any nudity, unless you wanna consider Sandra Bullock looking provocative. But I don't think that's too bad. Language is something you need to take note of before showing your kids this. I showed my brother this move and he's 13. If you know that your child knows bad words, and doesn't have a problem with it. I think it'll be a great movie to watch. I could watch this movie 30 different times, and won't get sick of it. There is violence, when they threaten to shoot their d*** or when Sandra gets stabbed in the thigh. That's gross.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMayo72 March 1, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Pages