All member reviews for The Heat

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 39 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byDuckCommander13 August 3, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Really Funny Buddy Cop Movie

This is a funny movie but it does have many F words, sexual references , there is some blood when unlock preforms a tracheotomy on a choking person. The plot is based around a good and bad cop trying to catch a drug lord. But there's nothing that an 8th grader has never heard or known about before .
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byIlovemovies❤️❤️❤️ July 27, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Love this movie!!!

Great movie, Great plot, great actresses/actors but is it for kids??? The heat has constant swearing including "f--k", (which Melissa McCarthy practically uses in every sentence) "s--t", p---y", "a-s", "b---h", etc. Sex is not in this movie but there is some brief sexual content such as "porn", "d--k" etc. There is also a scene where Sandra bullock dances dirty with another character while he attempts to lick Sandra bullocks breasts (everyone is completely dresses and their is no nudity shown) a lot of drug content too. (Mostly pot) other than that the movie is great!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byJodieChupp July 2, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Funny but definitely has ALOT of cussin in it. I loved this movie. Because of the language its rated R but other than that its a pretty good movie
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySDS1328 June 24, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Heat

Its a hilarious movie with a great storyline. Sandra Bullock is amazing in it. It has tons of swearing. It does have some sexial jokes. It has some drugs.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old June 11, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

My Favorite movie

The main reason the movie is R i because elf the swearing ok get it so if your kid knows the words let them watch it. There is an regular amount of violence accept when someone gets shot in the head. There is almost no sex i mean some references and the part at club ekko has some parts but not a lot, a scene where Mullens is interrogating someone by threatening to shoot there balls of and when Sandra bullock does it is kind of bad. The drugs ok THE WHOLE MOVIE IS ABOUT DRUGS if you don't want your kid to see drugs don't show them it you see Mullens' brother have the holes in his arm from drugs and when they look for them they find them. Overall it is a great movie
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bybjf15 June 9, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

I saw it a couple months back when I was 14 at a friend's. Thought it was fine. It was really funny but the swearing was like every other word. Good message but again the language is in every minute of this buddy cop movie.

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byWarriorsCat May 26, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Just Plain Epic

The characters were very interesting, especially the character of Melissa McCarthy. The Heat is a well made movie, and the characters are very likable. This is not a chick flick, some people mistaken it for one because the two main characters are female. There are movies where the main characters are male, and it's not considered a man flick! Eg. Dumb and Dumber, The Three Stooges, Jaws. Anyway, this movie is one of the best crime comedies of all time. There is only this one disturbing violence scene where blood comes out of a choking man's throat.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byakaay2854 April 26, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Funny but inappropriate

This movie is really really funny. It doesn't show any nudity, unless you wanna consider Sandra Bullock looking provocative. But I don't think that's too bad. Language is something you need to take note of before showing your kids this. I showed my brother this move and he's 13. If you know that your child knows bad words, and doesn't have a problem with it. I think it'll be a great movie to watch. I could watch this movie 30 different times, and won't get sick of it. There is violence, when they threaten to shoot their d*** or when Sandra gets stabbed in the thigh. That's gross.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMayo72 March 1, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Teen, 17 years old Written byAmber Newberg February 4, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I love this movie and i own it but i think on the teen 13 birthday they should be able to watch it. Hope this helps,parents plz watch this movie you will be on the floor!! Have a good night!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byjessealexanderrrrr January 31, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

this movie is really funny but it is also very rude!!!!!

There is a lot of swearing in this movie, a lot and heaps of sexual references. Perfectly appropriate for 16 and up not for kids or teens under 16.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlake_Slaughter January 16, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Melissa Mccarthy is awesome as always!

Hilarious movie. Some inappropriate humor, no inappropriate content. Strong language (mostly from Melissa Mccarthys character). Some violence, considering that it is a cop movie. If your child is mature enough, definitely watch this movie, it his REALLY funny!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old December 29, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Ok

I think its ok for like 13 and above or atleast 12. No unappropriate parts. Just violence and language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old December 26, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

FOSTER KID NOW YOU GOT A SISTER

Best movie everrrrr me and my little sisters watched this with our mum their 8 and 7 there is alot of F bombs and stuff but In Australia it's only MA but still EPIC
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byJmc123 December 18, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

the heat is a good film but kids under 15 should not watch it

The heat is hilarious and really good but kids under 15 should not watch it. The heat has lots and of swearing in it and some violence and drug use. there is about 250 uses of course language, people get shot and stabbed and people smoke joints and deal drugs.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byThomasLovesCinema November 30, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Such A Hilarious Movie!

Insanely Hilarious!. This movie isn't a comedy classic, but this movie has lots of creativity and awesome stuff. Almost all kind of comedy we have here...A little crazy and funny movie.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bymji8o November 29, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Awesome Review

This Is An Amazing Movie For Mature Teens! I Loved This Movie! I Encourage People To Watch It!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byjasgreg12 November 23, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

The Heat

Really great movie. A great movie for older teens. But some parents may have to worry about the language.
Teen, 14 years old Written byironkid21 October 10, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Sandra Bullock/Melissa McCarthy cop comedy is foul mouthed and crude but really funny!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages