All member reviews for The Heat

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 39 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byAmber Newberg February 4, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I love this movie and i own it but i think on the teen 13 birthday they should be able to watch it. Hope this helps,parents plz watch this movie you will be on the floor!! Have a good night!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byjessealexanderrrrr January 31, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

this movie is really funny but it is also very rude!!!!!

There is a lot of swearing in this movie, a lot and heaps of sexual references. Perfectly appropriate for 16 and up not for kids or teens under 16.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlake_Slaughter January 16, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Melissa Mccarthy is awesome as always!

Hilarious movie. Some inappropriate humor, no inappropriate content. Strong language (mostly from Melissa Mccarthys character). Some violence, considering that it is a cop movie. If your child is mature enough, definitely watch this movie, it his REALLY funny!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old December 29, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Ok

I think its ok for like 13 and above or atleast 12. No unappropriate parts. Just violence and language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old December 26, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

FOSTER KID NOW YOU GOT A SISTER

Best movie everrrrr me and my little sisters watched this with our mum their 8 and 7 there is alot of F bombs and stuff but In Australia it's only MA but still EPIC
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byJmc123 December 18, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

the heat is a good film but kids under 15 should not watch it

The heat is hilarious and really good but kids under 15 should not watch it. The heat has lots and of swearing in it and some violence and drug use. there is about 250 uses of course language, people get shot and stabbed and people smoke joints and deal drugs.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byThomasLovesCinema November 30, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Such A Hilarious Movie!

Insanely Hilarious!. This movie isn't a comedy classic, but this movie has lots of creativity and awesome stuff. Almost all kind of comedy we have here...A little crazy and funny movie.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bymji8o November 29, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Awesome Review

This Is An Amazing Movie For Mature Teens! I Loved This Movie! I Encourage People To Watch It!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byjasgreg12 November 23, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

The Heat

Really great movie. A great movie for older teens. But some parents may have to worry about the language.
Kid, 11 years old November 4, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Hilarious movie! Loved every minute of it!

This is a very funny movie, with great chemistry between the two leads. Also it had a heartfelt aspect mixed in closer to the end. There is a lot of swearing, sexual references and humor. There is some violent scenes in this movie but in a comical fashion mostly. Hilarious movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byironkid21 October 10, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Sandra Bullock/Melissa McCarthy cop comedy is foul mouthed and crude but really funny!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bySlimShady2000 September 1, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Fantastic Movie, Super Funny, 13+

It was a great movie that was REALLY funny but involved a ton of swearing, violence and some drinking!! It was super funny and great for teens 13+!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byHollowNight August 15, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Badmouthing it

Wow. Just, wow. This movie is funny, but not nearly funny enough to make up for all the profanity, violence, drinking, and "seducing" going on. I'd recommend giving your teenager the option to get up and walk out if they need to, not to mention a little chat about ethics before/after.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bytay123 August 10, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

a good movie for teens

this movie has bad language some violence including 2 men getting shot in the head. and a scene were a man is choking and one of the cops cut a hole in his throat and shove a straw into his throat scene is quite funny but very bloody.not for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byBroadwayFan7 July 24, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Extreme language, but still an awesome movie

The Heat was one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. I loved it, but I would not recommend it for anyone under age 16. One of the agents constantly uses profane language, mostly the f-word, throughout the entire movie, while other characters occasionally use milder profanities. The acting is excellent, and the plot is captivating. I would say this is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Although I did not enjoy hearing the f-word every ten seconds, I loved this movie and will definitely see it again.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byomigodbecky July 16, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Great, but so not for kids by any means.

LOL. THIS MOVIE IS REALLY FUNNY. But, c'mon. When they say f**k 100 times (literally, in every sentence) how can you expect a 10 year old to watch this? It's a great movie though.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byBroccoliLover84 July 13, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Way too much language for my sisters.

Fairly entertaining film, not too raunchy, some flirting. Lots and lots of cursing, particularly f--k and G--dammit; also s--t, b-tch, d--k, a--, h-ll, some racial slurs, and sexual innuendo; Way too much for children and early teens. I got up and did some things throughout the film; I kind of lost interest several times. It wasn't as funny as I had hoped. A little disappointed, and I am not hard on comedies. Quite a bit of violence, a couple scenes made me cringe. Definitely too violent for kids around 12 or 13 and under. Not too much sexual content, but still too much for 12 or 13 and under, but I'm strict when it comes to "that".
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymattp July 1, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Hilarious movie, however viewer discretion is advised.

Well, to start off, I thought it was pretty good. It was certainly raunchy, but it was still good. It was nowhere near the likes of movies that claim they are "fun and raunchy" comedies like The Hangover, however (or at least to my knowledge. I've never watched The Hangover due to the fact of just how idiotic it looks). Language is probably the worst part. McCarthy's lines are chock full of language, to the point where she can barely finish a sentence without using the word f**k, or a variation of it. In terms of sexual content, there was nothing besides strong references, and one scene in which Sandra Bullock tries to be... sexy, I suppose... to get to something a bad guy has (which she happens to be very bad at, to a hilarious degree). Also, while a character is watching T.V., a show called The Doctors is on and they are showing a procedure that involves the private regions of a female (the procedure is shown for a split second, but only on a computer generated body that does not look realistic). Also, in terms of violence, I'll try not to spoil too much, but in one scene a man is choking and Bullock attempts to cut his throat open to put a straw in it so that he can get oxygen, which isn't very succesful, resulting in blood spilling everywhere. Quite cringe-inducing. Also, a knife is stuck into someone's thigh, a man is shot at close range and you can see the blood splatter on the wall, not to mention grisly dismemberment pictures in a police case as well as other things involving dismemberment and shooting. It should be noted, however, that the majority of this violence is for comedic effect, as is everything else. Also, drugs are a key part of the main case in the movies and they are found in a minor case earlier on. So, overall, pretty inappropriate movie, but it does sound worse than it actually is. P.S. Also, there are prostitutes in the movie, but nothing ever actually happens, they are just shown talking to a man in a car (who is busted by McCarthy) and it is hinted that a suspect is a prostitute in the main case in the movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byBestPicture1996 June 30, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Packed with laughs, most deliver!

The movie was surprisingly vulgar, with just about anything McCarthy saying being profane, but boy did she carry the film on her shoulders. Together her and Bullock make a great team, especially in the latter half when Bullock loosens up, and their drunk sequences provide a ton of laughs. But "The Heat" is fairly predictable, and could have used better writing story-wise.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages