All member reviews for The Heat

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Female buddy-cop comedy mixes humor, violence, drinking.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 51 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written bymoviemaniac2 June 29, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Disappointment rules

SO disappointed by Sandra Bullock and disgusted by Melisssa McCarthy.. the incredibly FOUL and RANK vulgar language overshadowed the entire movie..the story line was very typical -find the main drug dealing honcho..,, EVERY time McCarthy opened her mouth it was the F word and worse. I have no respect for her and will NEVER watch anything she appears in. Sandra--you disappoint me and my friends who saw the movie--I didn't know you were so desperate for a movie role that you would lower yourself to do such trash....maybe the public persona is just that--a persona. Will be much more careful in the future to really check out any movie you are starring in....just saying..
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old June 29, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

WOW!

SWEARING, DRINKING, SEX AND VIOLENCE ALL ARE IN THIS FILM. BUT IT WAS REALLY GOOD!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bySean Broucek June 27, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Funny, But Mature.

Parents, this raunchy and somewhat brilliant drugged-up action comedy from the acclaimed director of "Bridesmaids" is probably on your teen's radar, but the violence and drugs and language and sex makes it better for only mature teens and adults. There is bloody but comical combat, waterboarding, interrogation, stabbing, destruction of property, snapped necks, and knife ambushes. Sex includes brief graphic nudity (female genitals and breasts), seduction, many inappropriate sexual references throughout, and flashes of comedic sexual assault. Language includes f--k, s--t, d--k, c--t, a--hole, b-tch, c--k, c--ksucker, wh-re, d-mn and the "N" word towards African-American criminals. Pot use is also frequent. In the end, this mature and funny comedy is best left for old teens and adults. Rated R For Brief Graphic Nudity, Some Strong Sexuality, Pervasive Language, Violent Material & Drugs.
Teen, 14 years old Written byDancermcm August 12, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Hilarious, but Be Careful

This is so hilarious, and I know, I'm 14 and I'm only kind of recommending this for 16-year-olds. I'm mature for my age, and I BEGGED my grandmother to see this. It does swear, a LOT, but I'm used to it from school, it goes right over my head. It IS violent, most notably when Sandra Bullock's character tries to do an incision in a guy's (who's choking) throat, and it goes terribly wrong, and when she puts a straw through the incision, blood comes up the straw and goes everywhere. There is a lot of drinking and drug use, and a lot of strong sexual conversations, which make it kind of suitable for 16-year-olds who can handle this stuff.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byNizar G August 26, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

A MUST!!!!

So it was a normal boring sunday until we decided to go to the movies because there is this new movie called "THE HEAT" and after all the trouble of not having an ID because im too lazy to make one we finally made it in. And from beginning to end this was one of the most brilliant movies ever made. its a mixture of romance comedy and action. So therefor its suitable for both genders. There WERE curse words in the movie and there was some naughty scenes but they put the limits exactly where they should be. great movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnaheim2011 August 14, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

Ok I'm 13 almost 14 and I watched this movie and I liked it. Yes, it did have some sexual parts and a lot of use of drugs and drinking but we all know that it's bad to do drugs so it's not much of a big deal honestly, I thought that the movie was funny and it did have a little positive message in the end. Even though in the begging both agents hate each other, they learn more about each other and work together and end up being friends. One agent, based on her looks is made fun of but she really is pretty much the best FBI agent and you shouldn't judge people on how they look because there is a story behind them. All in all it was a pretty great movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byAliphulupus June 28, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Funny comedy has gore, swearing and violence

This movie is a comedy about two cops who have to join together to catch one main bad guy. One swears ALOT while the other one is kinda against swearing until the end(Says what the F) There is lots of violence and gore at some scenes, people get shot in the head(Blood splatters) and people get stabbed in the leg, headbutt in the head and in one scene the cop cuts open a guys throat to remove some food he was choking on(very disturbing) they stick a straw into the hole and blood comes flying out. Some pictures of dismembered bodies. There is some sexual references through the movie There is drugs and drinking. But of course they go after the drug people. I really enjoyed the movie I would say this movie is good for teens 16+ The main things are violence, swearing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bychristian2011 July 23, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

I didn't expect much when I first saw the preview, but I was surprised!

The Heat was actually a very funny movie with clever quotes and actions shown and said by the characters, and the acting was spot on. Melissa McCarthy was hilarious in this film, and of course Sandra Bullock rarely fails to impress - it's a sort of a female cop buddy comedy. The violence is infrequent, but quite graphic - people get shot (some in the heat at point blank range), a torture scene, and some brawls between characters. The language is the number 1 issue - PERVASIVE use of the words f**k, motherf**ker, godd**n, sh*t, d**k, p*ssy, and tons of name calling. There is a very fair and brief amount of adult/sexual content, some showing prostitutes, provocative night club dancing/stripping - mostly sexual dialogue and references (very graphic).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13, 16, and 19 year old Written byshelly2121 July 17, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

adults only extreme violence/language/sex

Okay, this is NOT for children first of all. If you don't want your child exposed to extreme violence, sex, or horrible language, avoid this movie. For adults, its okay. It is funny, however, there were many sexual parts not needed, it opens with a married man buying time with a prostitute, and I agree that Sandra bullock was a little too trashy in this movie. I do not like women being overly sexualized. It is not necessary in this movie, they could have just toned down the sex & violence a bit & made more suitable for even teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 7 and 11 year old Written byKelliott94 July 11, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Rethink taking your kids to this due to the VIOLENCE, not the language

I'm shocked at some of the other reviews focusing on mainly the language. Most kids are going to hear the language. I'm more concerned about the blood and violence in this movie for kids under 15. There is some pretty bloody scenes in the movie and shooting of people, hurting people, etc. I loved this movie for myself but would not take my kids. Not for the violence part anyway.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bySlydog July 8, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Vintage Mccarthy

This movie was a very funny movie that made me laugh a lot. However, there is a ton of swearing. It is very profane and my parents let me see movies with only swearing because I don't use that language. There are a couple references to Mccarthy sleeping with men and saying whether she "liked" it or not. But, the sex is on the down low. The plot revolves around a drug lord but not people using drugs. It does show big bags of marijuana though. Women also get very drunk and do some crazy things while drunk, but it only talks about it, doesn't show it. The violence is very comedic but is definitely present. But all in all a very funny movie that kept me laughing the whole time.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySaad1Khan November 15, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Fine is Ok

Rated R by MPAA but girls or boys aged 15 can watch it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew October 12, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Funny buddy cop comedy has adult humor and drinking but great laughs

My rating:R for crude humor,suggestive content,drug use,violence,nudity and pervasive language
Teen, 13 years old Written bybands4life October 3, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

My Review on "The Heat"!

Parents must know, that this movie includes infrequent violence, infrequent but sometimes strong crude and sexual references and humor, a topic centered around taking down a drug lord, and constant language. F--k and s--t are used constantly, Milder swears such as damn, hell, bitch, ass and d--k are used a few times each, C--t is used once. As for violence, this movie has infrequent and sometimes bloody violence, such as, a man being shot in the head, a knife being stuck into Sandy Bullock's leg, a man being shot in the testicles and Sandy trying to prevent a man from choking by making an incision in his throat, and accidentally killing him, this scene is very bloody. As for drug and alcohol use, Sandy and McCarthy get really drunk at a bar, the theme is about tracking down a drug lord, many substances are shown but rarely used, a few drug references, and mention of drug dealers throughout. As for sexual stuff, there are a few crude and sexual references, a woman attempts to dance suggestively to a man to reach into his pocket and get his phone, a scene involving prostitutes who are suggestively dressed and they are discussing the price but no sexual stuff is shown, about 3 references to women's private area, and some brief but strong crude/sexual humor. Great movie. 15+. Suggested Rating: R - For Language Throughout Including Sexual References, Violence and Bloody Images, and some Drug Content
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old September 6, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Ok for some kids

You should let your kids watch it if you let them watch movies some violence bad language and sextuality.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old September 2, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Super funny, super swearing

Great film not very much bad stuff except TONS OF SWEARING so if you are okay with hearing almost 2 f words a minute for like a hour and half you should be okay with this film
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byDuckCommander13 August 3, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Really Funny Buddy Cop Movie

This is a funny movie but it does have many F words, sexual references , there is some blood when unlock preforms a tracheotomy on a choking person. The plot is based around a good and bad cop trying to catch a drug lord. But there's nothing that an 8th grader has never heard or known about before .
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byIlovemovies❤️❤️❤️ July 27, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Love this movie!!!

Great movie, Great plot, great actresses/actors but is it for kids??? The heat has constant swearing including "f--k", (which Melissa McCarthy practically uses in every sentence) "s--t", p---y", "a-s", "b---h", etc. Sex is not in this movie but there is some brief sexual content such as "porn", "d--k" etc. There is also a scene where Sandra bullock dances dirty with another character while he attempts to lick Sandra bullocks breasts (everyone is completely dresses and their is no nudity shown) a lot of drug content too. (Mostly pot) other than that the movie is great!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byJodieChupp July 2, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Funny but definitely has ALOT of cussin in it. I loved this movie. Because of the language its rated R but other than that its a pretty good movie
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySDS1328 June 24, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Heat

Its a hilarious movie with a great storyline. Sandra Bullock is amazing in it. It has tons of swearing. It does have some sexial jokes. It has some drugs.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism

Pages