All member reviews for The Hunger Games

Kids say

(out of 711 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byStylish_Cat April 8, 2015
age 11+
 

Fantastic Movie!

The Hunger Games is GREAT! It doesn't have much gore, though there are a few scenes with people stabbing each other with knifes and spears, and there is quite a lot of blood. There is a part where these modified dog things (called mutations) eat someone up. It doesn't show anything, but you can hear the sound of them being eaten. Hope it helped! ;)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byfreakingbooknerd April 5, 2015
age 11+
 

Love this movie

I love this book and they did a good job with the movie, some scenes have blood and death and most people get freaked out that it's kids killing kids, but the whole point of the series is katniss trying to stop it. Just know your kid before you let them watch it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byTeamGale101 April 5, 2015
age 11+
 

Really Good Movie!

I really don't think it's inappropriate for mature children, and certainly not for teens. Sure, it may be a little bit scary at some times. But, the movies aim is not to scare, so it doesn't dwell on these scenes. It's really good, and I think EVERYONE 11 and up should see it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byyont_fabnegation March 27, 2015
age 12+
 

YES!

I watched The Hunger Games when I was 11 and I absolutely loved it! If you love a futuristic, dystopian thriller like me, this is the movie for you. It should be okay for 12+. I'm not going to lie, this movie is very violent and intense, especially when the hunger games first start. The hunger games is a competition to the death, so of course there is a lot of...well, killing. With knives, axes, bow and arrows, and other natural causes beyond the competitors' control. As you can imagine, this movie gets really intense and scary at some points. But there are also many positive messages and role models crammed in too. This movie is really great and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bystentimax March 20, 2015
age 13+
 

Can be disturbing to some but really good movie.

This movie contains many scenes of people being shot in the heart by a bow-and-arrow and it has occasional kissing scenes (once really slobbery!) I have seen it and I think that anyone under the age of 13/12 will find this movie very disturbing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bylangleyfaith55 March 15, 2015
age 13+
 

awesome

Its great for teens but has a lot of killing and violence, there are some drinking, very little swearing, and 1 kiss.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byrebo344 March 2, 2015
age 13+
 

Jennifer Lawrence gave a convincing performance in this dark,violent film.

The Hunger Games was entertaining. The cast really did well. I think I like Woody Harrelson as Haymitch, Elizabeth Banks as Effie, Liam Hemsworth as Gale and Stanley Tucci as Casear the most. Oh, the flaming dress was pretty cool. During The Hunger Games sequences, there is a lot of shaky camera, so for the sensitive people beware.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byGecko772 February 17, 2015
age 10+
 

One of the best books/movies ever!

I have said 10 and up because my younger brother first watched it when he was 9 and he loves it almost as much as me. He is quite mature for his age though. The concept of violence is very high but the actual violence isn't too graphic. My brother doesn't really understand the concept of corrupt government though so if young children do watch it, it might have to be explained!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 11, 2015
age 13+
 

The Hunger Games

The Film Is Good However Its Plot Is About a game which is put on tv where teens kill each other despite the plot it's not promoted and it shows kids the skills to survive violence includes stabbings and arrows there is also threat from menacing characters and fire and wolfs however Katniss is a good role model despite her killing a few characters she kills them in more humane ways like setting up traps and only kills bully's and befriends a nicer characters it shows how you should stand up for what's right but it's not for kids due to its violence and themes.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byNeonSprinkles February 2, 2015
age 16+
 

Pretty Disappointing....

Actually, I was extremely exited to see the movie after reading the book, and I was pretty disappointed. It was kind of good, and the violence was nowhere near graphic ( most of the killings were off-screen, like the worst one in the book, Cato's death) but it was missing key elements, like action, to make it great.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bycrazycoolbff January 18, 2015
age 13+
 

Iffy for kids under 13.

I don't really think this movie is good for kids under 13, because it can get scary! And It even gave me a nightmare the night I watched it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byLiviLux01 January 18, 2015
age 12+
 

Great for teens but very violent

A movie like this has everything a teen could want. Action, Romance and hints of Comedy. Although it is a really great movie it depends on the level of goriness you or your child can deal with.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bytarekj January 16, 2015
age 18+
 
I am just doing this for fun my review is fake
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byJenniferamkarlsson January 15, 2015
age 11+
 

Favorite movie

This is one of my favorite movies, and even though it's not really as epic as the book, it's still amazing. The movie is a bit violent, though I saw it when I was about 10, and I had no issues with it. You do see someone being hit to death with a brick: through a tv, it is a uncomfortable scene but it's not really cringe worthy and you only see a bit of blood on brick and the boys head. You also see a few dead bodies, but it's not anything that would bother a mature 11 year old. I wrote that a eleven year old could watch this; and it's probably true, but I think the problem is that they wouldn't really understand the message of the movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old January 11, 2015
age 10+
 

Depends what you find violent

Its a great movie but the story sort of dark its about killing others to survive there is blood and lots of injuries but it's also about love and how Katniss sacrifices herself for her sister
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 11, 2015
age 11+
 

super movie but too violent

the hunger games has been loved by all books and movies and although its an engaging interesting action movie it contains lots of serious violence that should not be seen by any kid. i recommend definite parental guidence off any age . DO NOT LET KIDS 11 AND UNDER SEE tHIS MOVIE
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old January 10, 2015
age 12+
 

Awesome

This is one of my favorite movies ever! I think Suzanne Collins did a really really great job creating the character of Katniss Everdeen. I think the movie creators did an excellent job creating this dystopian action-filled love story. I also think they did a really great job portraying the personalities of the characters such as Katniss' stubbornness, and Effie's personality. They recreated moments in the hunger games perfectly, and Rue's death was touching and sad, but beautiful. If you haven't seen or read the hunger games, you definitely should. It is really great.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byNorthturn January 7, 2015
age 10+
 

Overall great

The basic idea of the book is thrilling. The level of isolation the districts feel shows the emotions perfectly depending on the characters socio-economic standing. The plot was not dull a little predictable but not dull. The characters can be tiresome at certain point but are generally likeable.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old January 4, 2015
age 11+
 

AMAZING

I think that it is violent. There are some killing of children and may be too harsh for sensitive viewers. I think that in fifth grade you should be able to watch it. There are some kissing scenes too. Katniss is a great role model. There is some swearing too but just mild.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bydarfael January 1, 2015
age 12+
 

Very violent but incredible

This movie is an incredibly well made movie. It does not differ too much from the book. It is very violent, especially the cornucopia scene. It also shows a lot of positive messages, for example teamwork.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence

Pages