All member reviews for The Hunger Games

Common Sense Media says

Intense adaptation is violent, thought-provoking for teens.
 

Users say

(out of 919 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old July 13, 2015
age 14+
 

Great movie, lot's of violence

After watching this movie, I noticed that it wasn't that different from the book. There was plenty of violence and blood, but you should be expecting it considering of the summary or the front cover. Now, there wasn't any sexual scenes, only a few kisses. The main character, Katniss Everdeen, showed that she was a strong character and fought for her sister. There was no poor choices made by her as well. One thing I did find inappropriate was District 12's mentor, Haymitch Abernathy. Most of the movie, it was shown that he was drunk. Overall, 14 and up should be a good age because of all the violence.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byimoviegoteen July 10, 2015
age 13+
 

Great book, Gruesome movie.

The Hunger Games was very entertaining for all the teens and some adults out there who loved the book. It was very intense but showed friendship and teamwork. Besides some of the messages you'll find in this movie, there is a lot of gore and violence. Kids are shown slaughtered, a woman gets trackerjackers all over her body and dies, and a girl is stabbed in the chest with a spear. Overall this movie will teach you a few lessons if you look closely. Also Katniss is a very good role model for young girls. Sex is not an issue. And Haymitch is a big drug addict.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 3, 2015
age 10+
 

Popular sci fi has intense plot and yucky moments

The plot of the film is very intense because innocent people are getting thrown into an arena were only one survives. There are some great messages in this film and role models but most of it is dark, sad and scary. The main characters include a girl trying to save her sister and get back to her family, a boy who has a big crush on the main character, an alcoholic who is supposed to be their mentor and a ruler of all the world who wants to try and kill the contestants in the most brutal way possible. In the arena there is some iffy stuff including a guy getting eaten by killer beasts, screams, a girl who has eaten poisoned berries, a twelve year old girl has a spear thrown into her which leads to her death and it causes an outrage at her district and also a girl stung to death by killer bees you can see her face stung for a couple of seconds. Minimal scenes that are very intense, depends on your kid.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 28, 2015
age 12+
 

Infectious movie you will watch OVER AND OVER AGAIN.

For once, I think Common Sense is wrong about this movie. Most of the worst violence is off-screen, and you rarely even see the results. Damn, hell. A message about the complexity of the nation's game shows and how people are too entertained by the content they don't care what is happening to the actual children. As the hunger games go, children in peril, kid on kid killing with axes, fists and knives. A boy snaps another boy's head. A few kisses between Peeta and Katniss, the one in the cave very passionate. Haymitch, Peeta and Katniss'es mentor, is seen with a drink in his hand for half of the movie and acts drunk, but he gains consciousness before the games begin. Hunger games merchandise and video games are available for purchase. Peeta and Katniss help each other out, Katniss sacrifices her own life to save her younger sister, Prim.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 28, 2015
age 11+
 

Book is better, but do bother

I am obsessed with the book! The movie is not as good, but still bother watching it because it's not that bad. PG-13? What? I just turned 11 and I could've watched this at 8! Still, some people are easily scared, so don't rate it too low... 11 is perfect! t
Teen, 13 years old Written bytessah5 June 20, 2015
age 12+
 

It depends on the kid

Most kids have probably read this book and think, 'It's fine if I watch the movie,' but it might not be okay. Seeing the violence portrayed on a screen is different than reading it. Most mature tweens and teens can watch this. There are a couple of kisses and Katniss goes back and forth between two guys.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byBriettaPolly June 5, 2015
age 11+
 
I saw this when I was 12 and I was perfectly fine. There isn't too much gore (except for a scene where a bunch of them get stung by something), no sexual stuff whatsover (barely even kissing!), only a few small swears like d**n and h**l every once and a while (the only time you notice the swears is when Katniss is yelling at Peeta and says h**l), the only drinking is Haymith when he's almost always drunk (it's quite funny btw), which actually teaches kids NOT to drink, because then you'll become like him (who'd wanna do that!?), Great Messages and Great Role Models all throughout the movie, but I'll give you the confidence to figure them out for yourself (plus, it makes you curious so you can't stand not seeing the movie so you'll go see it, now! yes, you! go! see the movie!). Just hear me out: KNOW. YOUR. CHILD(REN). But if they ask you to go see it, they're probably gonna be fine cuz they know what's in store for them.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bykitty47 June 3, 2015
age 13+
 

Amazing movie!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byciara100generous June 3, 2015
age 17+
 
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byDansadancer29 June 2, 2015
age 12+
 
It's a really good movie sure there's a tiny bit of swearing but you can't catch it unless you have subtitles on there's quite a bit of violence but it puts the movie together there's a guy called Haymitch who drinks a lot but many of the side effects are not shown there a lot of kissing but it's all part of a plan to keep them alive katniss is a great role model sting and straightforwards but knows when to back down it basically shows how you can defy a popular crowd at school you don't have to go with the flow I say this is a good movie for 12/11 ish age because of the violence and stuff and plus little kids probably would not understand well
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byybco124 June 2, 2015
age 11+
 

ok

its a good movie dont get me wrong but the sceins will give people unde 10 nightmares and will scare them completly to death. as they are put un willingly in to a arena to fight to the death and the one who survives earns food for their faction. there are some bloody scenes and would 100% scare young children i would highly recommend this movie to a 10 year old and no one younger. it has little sex but has a wide range of violent distressing scenes. TAKE IN MY ADVISE AS I HAVE SEEN THE MOVIE AND DONT SHOW IT TO ANYONE UNDER 11/10 YEARS OLD.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bysaniyhaa.21 May 27, 2015
age 17+
 

great

I was watching these movies back to back which shows how great it is.It was like I was addicted to watching them.you should watch the movie it's awesome.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bybecca456 May 19, 2015
age 12+
 

Awesome

A brilliant movie, full of action and suspense. The only problems were the direction and a lot of things were changed from the books.
Kid, 11 years old April 26, 2015
age 13+
 

Hunger games

This movie is wery good but also wery violent and a bit gory!! age 12 and up!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old April 19, 2015
age 11+
 

Lots of blood

The hunger games inst really violent, its just that there is a lot of blood. In the opening scene, you see pools of blood and blood spraying from the tribute's chests. There are also lots of characters that have head wounds oozing with blood. But parents, please don't look at this and just see the violence. Renember there are messages about NOT KILLING, and great role models. But if your child does not feel comfortable with blood, don't watch this. But think about what your missing, its AMAZING.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old April 17, 2015
age 10+
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 8, 2015
Teen, 13 years old Written byStylish_Cat April 8, 2015
age 11+
 

Fantastic Movie!

The Hunger Games is GREAT! It doesn't have much gore, though there are a few scenes with people stabbing each other with knifes and spears, and there is quite a lot of blood. There is a part where these modified dog things (called mutations) eat someone up. It doesn't show anything, but you can hear the sound of them being eaten. Hope it helped! ;)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byfreakingbooknerd April 5, 2015
age 11+
 

Love this movie

I love this book and they did a good job with the movie, some scenes have blood and death and most people get freaked out that it's kids killing kids, but the whole point of the series is katniss trying to stop it. Just know your kid before you let them watch it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byTeamGale101 April 5, 2015
age 11+
 

Really Good Movie!

I really don't think it's inappropriate for mature children, and certainly not for teens. Sure, it may be a little bit scary at some times. But, the movies aim is not to scare, so it doesn't dwell on these scenes. It's really good, and I think EVERYONE 11 and up should see it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages