All member reviews for The Hurt Locker

Common Sense Media says

Violent, complex Iraq war drama is rough, tough, thrilling.

Users say

(out of 41 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Written byAnonymous July 30, 2010

A great war movie...

While it's not on par with Saving Private Ryan, this is up there on the war-time thriller movies. A documentary LIKE movie about the war in Iraq, leaves you sad, angry, and tense throughout and after the movie is over...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byGoodActionMovieFan7 August 5, 2012

Movie reviews from a teenager: The Hurt Locker

Wow. I've never been this moved by a movie before. 'The Hurt Locker' is tough, serious, moving and very well put together. This movie, Jeremy Renner and all of the actors were outstanding. The concept, story, everything was just, whoa. Here is the list of content that parents might want to consider. Language: frequent uses of 'f**k', 'sh**', 'da**', 'a**', 'b***h' and other expletives. The film contains the realistic use of salty language used in a warzone. In one scene, Will gives another teammate 'the finger'. Violence: This is a war movie, so there is a lot of violence in the film. Many explosions occur in the film. A person has a bomb strapped to them and is blown up, a boy's body is found with a bomb inside the body and is gruesomely removed. Blood is shown on characters after close calls, blood is shown splattering after characters are shot. Many people are shot and killed and blood is shown frequently. Two soldiers have a brief brawl, a few punches are exchanged. Positive role models: The main character, Will James, (Jeremy Renner), is a 'live on the edge' kind of guy, who enjoys the thrill of almost dying. This quality is not what I'd particularly call good, but later in the movie Will realizes how he puts others in danger with his actions. He is brave (to the point of foolishness) and calm in tight and dangerous situations. But is being fearless always a good thing? Overall I'd give this movie five stars because it simply deserves it. 'The Hurt Locker' is definately one of my all-time favorite movies now. I would suggest that ages 16 and up see this due to the movie's graphic content.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byagenthappyman July 20, 2012

War violence

Lots of alcohal use, war violence, and religious exclamanitions.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byFiggy66 July 26, 2010

Ok for 13 and up

My favorite movie, sooooooo good very sad and gory.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 12, 2010

It is fine for a ten year old.

Great movie. MUst see watch it.
Parent Written byPlague March 8, 2010

The Hurt Locker

This is a really stunning thiller. I'm a big, big fan of war movies, that this is one of my new all time favorites.
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 15 and 17 year old Written bycitizenhope July 31, 2009

Great movie for seventeen and up.

I thought the movie was very well done. My husband loved it. It is very complex and realistic so younger kids would be negatively impacted and probably would not understand its significance. This is really a movie for 17 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old July 25, 2009

EXCELENT EXTRODINARY GRIPPING DRAMA

THE BEST FILM I'VE SEEN IN 2009 IS THIS ONE NO FILM THIS YEAR OTHER THAN HARRY POTTER ANF I LOVE YOU MAN THIS DRAME DESERVES OSCARS HANDS DOWN. THE TICK TICK OF THIS MOVIE WILL GET TO YOU WAY BEFORE THE BOOM FACTOR OF THE MOVIE THE GRIPPING SHEER REALISTIC ATMOSPHERE AND SHEER RAW POWER. IF YOU CAN FIND ONE OF THE 4 THEATERS THAT IT'S PLAYING IN GO SEE WHAT IS THE BEST MOVIE OF 2009 PERIOD
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byNitro_Python November 17, 2013

G

Very good movie, with a lot of language and violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byharris231 September 10, 2012

Lots of swearing.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byHonestreviewer October 22, 2010

Fantastic war movie

Great movie, it's about a bomb tech in iraq (to put it shortly). The body bomb is pretty sad. But that's what makes this movie so good! It's real (not literally) but it feels like it could be.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written by4Spice September 16, 2010

great

this movie is the best war movie i've seen so far it has a perfect story line it shows whats really going on in the war in iraq watch but know kids 16 and over for violence and blood and some language
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 2, 8, and 11 year old Written byDa Nerd March 27, 2010

Adults ONLY!

BLA! I saw it and is was waaay to bad for MY kid.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byREDSOX101 February 28, 2010

And The Winner For Best Picture Is... The Hurt Locker!

Greatest movie of 2009. If it doesn't win best picture then I'll be pretty mad. The academy gets so much wrong. Slumdog over Benjamin Button? No Country over There Will Be Blood? Blasphemy!!! This film is great. I reccommend it to any person over 13. Some of the most intense war scenes I've ever seen.
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byTiredofSexScenes January 25, 2010
I did not find it very interesting myself, my husband found it fine, nothing really special though. Was not one of the better movies that have been done over the years about war. I think its good for older kids to see how things are in war situations if they are accompanied by an adult to talk about things.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 7 year old Written byMaxmum August 28, 2009

Will blow adults away; hurtful for the less mature...

This is a quality film which is both exciting and thought-provoking. Teens may have heard it's "cool" and be interested, but it is not appropriate for youth - certainly not without adult accompaniment. It is very realisticly violent, and the themes need a mature understanding.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byindiemovies August 14, 2015

A Realistic Look into What War does to a Man

If there is one thing we think about when we see soldiers coming home from war, it's that they'll never go back there again. But when you walk the line between life and death, there's a sort of adrenaline, as is used in most of Kathryn Bigelow's movies, that makes average life to hard to adjust back into, and makes it seem to dull to even continue living like that. This movie is hard, gritty, and raw, but focuses on a man who has grown apart from the family he has back home, raising questions throughout the film as to why he goes out there and risks his life every chance he gets? The main character and his personality is the answer to that, and the result is a tense and gripping war movie that seems to realistic to be fiction, which is also why it's not for younger audiences. The violence is strong throughout, as is the language. There are a couple sexual references, but they are not graphic or frequent at all. But before watching this with your teen or your kid, just make sure they know, this doesn't fit the bill for a regular action movie, because it isn't one. It's a war movie, and it tells of the sadness that comes with men going to fight.
Teen, 16 years old Written byBestPicture1996 October 27, 2012

War is a drug

This EXTREMELY tense Iraq war drama features brave performances by Renner, Mackie, and Geraghty, the film's leads. Especially Renner, though. His James isn't a psychopath, more of a renegade, but he gives off this "What's he gonna do next?" vibe. The set pieces in Iraq are cruel and unforgettable, the imagery burned into your head long after filming. I can see why this took home Best Picture back in 2009, it's very thrilling, and well directed. It requires viewing from any film buff!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySomeoneYouDon'tKnow August 17, 2012

Not the best war film

When I found out this won Best Picture, I was instantly interested. I am a die-hard fan of war films like Saving Private Ryan and Pearl Harbor, so I was always willing to watch new war films. I started The Hurt Locker with enormous expectations, but, to my surprise, it didn't elate me nearly as much as I thought it would. I'm not saying it's terrible or anything, I just think it could have been a lot better. Like, its plot wasn't very strait-foreward, and it was hard to follow with all its twists and turns. Also, Kathryn Bigelow's direction was very shakey, and while she did get some very nice close-ups, I don't think she deserved an Oscar. I guess the thing that I disliked the most about this movie was how much it seemed to trivialize everything. There aren't any real emotional moments, and when someone dies, there aren't really any scenes where the characters seem upset about it. I guess this wouldn't bug me so much if it weren't for the fact that in Saving Private Ryan, there was always, and I mean ALWAYS, a moment of deep grief and sorrow when a main character dies. So I find The Hurt Locker's way of handling war and death kind of insulting, especially considering that it contradicts its own anti-war message. Plus, there are a few historical inaccuracies; for example, in real life, EOD techs don't conduct dangerous missions as autonomous three-man teams without communications gear. Without that connection, they would be totally screwed. But don't get me wrong, this is still a very realistic war movie. It has great acting and some exciting moments. I guess I can kind of see why some people would think of it as Best Picture material, but if this is worthy of that award, I am stunned at why Saving Private Ryan (a MUCH better film in my humble opinion) didn't win. Still, this movie will most likely entertain most war movie fans.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 9, 2012

Great Movie! But.....

This was a FAB movie with great actor Jeremy Renner. This movie takes place in a war setting, so you can expect violence. Also, it does have quite a lot of language, but that sorta makes sence for the characters and whats happening. Throught the movie, Sergent Will James(Jeremy Renner) defuses bombs and what not. There is one scene that I think makes this movie an R beside the language, the body bomb scene. It is pretty graphic and bloody. What also might make the scene worse is the body bomb is a child. For me, it was upsetting because Sergent James thinks he knows this boy. (Later you find out that it is not...but still) Also, the kid that Sergent James knows, sells him porn movies. But most younger viewers won't know this, its not extreamly clear...you dont actually see the movies or the cover of them. Over all, great movie, but probably should wait until you are atleast 13-15. :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages