All member reviews for The Karate Kid

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 35 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old May 23, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Daniel (main character) gets bullied by 5 guys ,(who know karate). So , to stop them bullying him and making his life a hell , he enters a "karate tournament" , and he wins , then its the end . But most of the movie , is what he's doing (training , going out , getting ready etc.) There isn't really bad language , but i cant say that , because there is just 2 s-words . And more insults that would get you introuble if you said them , (so that why) . And of course its violent , but in a "karate fashin" , but not including when he wets one of the bullys , then they chase him and kick him a couple of times till he goes unconsious .
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 14, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
This movie was a bit boring but mostly entertaining. Lots of uses of the s word and b word and some sensuality.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old May 13, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
this is a story about a karate kid the karate kid is being teased and bullied because he's going for the girls and the bullies want all the girls they can get so he learns kung fu from a fighting teacher
Teen, 16 years old Written byMr581 April 20, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

This is a classic

I Love this film...I Saw a screening for the remake which will become a classic too Language & fight scenes
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 8, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A great action martial arts film. Hiyaaaaaa!!!!!!!!

I like this movie. This movie is full of action!!!!!!!!! It does a drug use moment. It has violence. I like this movie. I highly recommeded it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old March 5, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for 10 plus but make sure your OK with the language.

I watched it and ,other than the foul language, it's a family friendly movie for all to see!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bysuper movie reviewer January 17, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

uhhhhhh

uhhhhhhhh not so good.
Teen, 13 years old Written byperfectionist January 11, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

wax on; wax off.

I love this movie. It's totally awesome.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old December 16, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

GRRRRRRRRRREAT

Six year old might be disturbed by the violence that occurs in this movie. But it is great.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byJosh Meijer July 7, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

An OK Karate Movie

an OK Karate movie, doesnt show karate as it really is, but still worth watching.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 19, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
nothing bad except violence
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byhabibid9421 May 21, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

see it

see it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byKIdX13 May 2, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Very well done movie can drag at times

THis is a very fun movie to watch, it is good for younger viwers too, but it dose have some issues: 1. Lots of karate violence with punching and kicking, the final showdown leads to daren's leg being broken. 2. Some brief language that probably wouldn't get in a PG today, but noting seriouse. So overall, this is a fun movie for teens and their younger brothers!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 8 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

this is the best!

i think this was a great movie. but in one scene daniel drinks scotch with his teacher. and lots of violence but at the end its great.

Pages