All member reviews for The Lincoln Lawyer

Common Sense Media says

Legal thriller entertains but is too dark, heavy for kids.
 

Users say

(out of 8 reviews)
age 15+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written bybananalover March 23, 2011
age 15+
 

the lincoln lawyer

nothing special but nothing bad about it, i think it had some really harsh words and some violence and a little sex but it had alot of drinking in it you don't won't your children seeing drinking don't let them see this movie.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Adult Written bychristian2011 December 6, 2012
age 16+
 

Fantastic, clever, twisted legal chiller too intense for younger teens.

The Lincoln Lawyer is a great legal chiller; plot-twisting, full of shocking suprises, by which viewers will be itching to know more and more after each unexpected discovery. There are some very good actors in this compelling crime thriller, including Matthew Mcconaughey and William H. Macy. It's about a lawyer who defends a young man whom he states he was attacked by a prostitute after she gives him her address at a night club, yet another source states that he brutally attacked, raped and stabbed her over 50 times. Violence that occurs in this movie is mostly flashbacks of women getting mutilated, beaten, raped and murdered, which can be very disturbing and distressing to watch. Language is a concern (multiple uses of f**k, sh*t, godd**n, a**hole, b*tch) and some drug use (references of cocaine use, alcohol drinking, and people getting high and drunk).
Teen, 15 years old Written bybkubie916 January 5, 2012
age 14+
 

I loved this movie.

I have seen this movie twice, once in regular high def and blue ray. i liked the blue ray version more. Anyways, this movie was really enjoyable and incredibly suspenseful. i don't usual watch these kinds of movies because i thought it was going to be boring and un-exciting. But once i saw it twice, my mind was blown away. Matthew McConaughey was fantastic. the lines were brilliant, his role was perfect. there was language now and then, there was violence here and there. including a rape scene, which didn't turn out to be really rape, just violence. i'd recommend this movie for people who love mysteries.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byleahxo August 15, 2011
age 13+
 

Good Movie, But Not Very Appropriate.

Great movie, but not good for those who cannot handle it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byjoshua martinez July 12, 2011
age 16+
 

16 and up.

The Lincoln Lawyer stars with Matthew McConaughey is a great drama movie and your older teens will want to see this movie but parents this movie has a lot heavy themes that not even your younger kids should see and this movie has some violence, some sexual content some strong language used and a lot of drinking and drugs used.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byKinbJune July 7, 2011
age 14+
 

The Perfect Lawyer

Now, I watched this on a flight, so I may have not heard all the content I need to hear. But this was a deep movie. It took awhile to understand and to understand which side the main character was on, but in the end, he does the right thing. What happened was that this man was accused of killing a prostetute after paying her for sex. It turns out though that there has been someone around town framing innocent men for crimes they didn't commit. People are starting to get suspicious of this man, so he gets a lawyer to maintain credibility. This lawyer (the main character) will get payed an astronomical amount of money that may get him out of the life he's in at the moment. But in the end though, the lawyer finds out that his client has been setting many people up, and sends him to jail, letting the guy who was framed, go. It's very touching at the end and it allows you to grasp the plot. If you're looking for a movie that isn't all explosions and gunfire, then this is the movie for you.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bykhan2705 June 3, 2011
age 16+
 

a gooooooooooooood movie.

Matthew McConaughey stars in this legal thriller as a low-rent defense attorney named Mickey Haller. Most of the time, Mickey barely keeps his head above water, representing low-life clients and working out of the back of his car. He thinks he's landed the case of a lifetime when he's hired to defend a rich playboy (Ryan Phillippe) who stands accused of rape and attempted murder, and eagerly accepts his new client and the massive payoff that's sure to come with him. But Mickey soon discovers that he's become ensnared in a twisted plot where no fee in the world is high enough to pay for the deadly workload, and his only hope of survival may just lay in his own skills as a long-practiced double-crosser. saw this movie last night and boy! what a good movie it was. i loved it. One of the best movies of this year. a courtroom drama thriller that will really shock you with how good it is. i mean i was since i wasn't expecting much from it seriously, Rotten Tomatoes rating aside but i wasn't sure about it. even as i was watching this movie the first 20 or 30 minutes are just plain nothing, it actually took time to get into the movie and once it did i really started enjoying it and was really glued. i hardly remember any modern movie like this. it was made in a way people enjoy watching it and that is exactly what i did. Directed by Brad Furman who i don't know nothing about did an awsome job with this movie. Screenplay takes sometime to develop in the beginning but overall well written. plot is edgy, slick, thrilling and filled with twists and turns in a good way, i mean not over done. editing is perfect. everything else technically is good. background music is good. finally got see the good lovable non-annoying talented side of Matthew McConaughey, he did a superb job in this movie shockingly. his best movie in years. two thumbs up to him, i really appreciate it. Marisa Tomei was good too with little screen presence she still leaves a bit of a mark. Ryan Phillippe as a villain is a nice idea but honestly he just looks good in it i don't think he was good but very okay. William H. Macy was okay too. and others too like Michael Pena, Josh Lucas and John Leguizamo. but the bright star here is Matthew who really does a superb job in every scene specially the courtroom scenes where he is so believable and just make you feel he is completely into the character. i can't think of any negative things about this movie , it was very good. minor flaws are there but beside them the movie stands out. the developments that happens in the movie keeps audience involved so much in the movie. it is thrilling and suspenseful and interesting. movie is enjoyable and entertaining that is a must watch this year. it may not be a classic but it is very stylish and classy feel to it. WATCH IT if you haven't already.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byprotectivemom111 April 22, 2011
age 16+
 

Depends on your values

The Common Sense Media review is exactly accurate, but I do not recall the rape shown in flashback, only mentioned about 3 times with no detail whatsoever, and I'm extremely sensitive to this kind of situation, so I would remember it. My husband and I enjoyed this movie but because of the overall content, it is only suitable for older children - borderline age 16 or better for 17+. Overall it's really not that bad, so if you are not overprotective, you may think it's okay for 14+.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing