All member reviews for The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 164 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bystar April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

One of the greatest achivements in movie making ever

One of the best and one of my favorite movies of all time. So good that it was a waste for the oscars to give best picture to a beatiful mind it was so good everything about it was good. So should you see it Yes! If you see it and are not into this tipe of movie you probaly think it is stupid but either way its one of the best movies ever made.
Teen, 15 years old Written byski123 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
This movie had a lot of fighting, but there wasn't much blood. I think anyone 12 years old and up can handle the content of the Fellowship of the Ring.
Teen, 17 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Masterpiece

Simply one of the great films among our age. Kids 13 and up should watch this masterpiece.
Teen, 14 years old Written byJohan April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Excellent movie. I could go on...

This is an excellent film. Nobody can top Peter jackson's first work. Lord of the rings: The fellowship of the Ring is beautifully made, written... everything! But for the parents, you should know that this film contains very scary images, scenes, and also has a lot of suspense. Its probably the scariest movie of the trilogy. The ringwraiths in particular are scary, and the watcher in the water as well. There is big violence. Almost no blood, but there are swords slashing and arrows shooting. Some arrows shoot orcs in the head. To kill a troll the fellowship shoots it in the mouth. There is no language. There are brief romantic scenes between Arwen and Aragorn, and there are kisses. No commercialism except a game has been made out of the movie. There is some behavior that at first seems against men, but in the second one this is forgotten. Men, and this is only men, are portrayed as vicious, greedy, and sometimes evil. The elves are very annoying because they act like they know everything and treat everyone in sort of an inferior way. It can get very scary, but kids around eight, nine or ten, whould be OK with this movie. (It might be best not to see it at night.)Its a spectacular movie, but reserach it and know your kid before letting them see it.
Teen, 13 years old Written byrrateddrama August 5, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001)

Violence: extremly intense/not to graphic Sex: none. Dringking: lots. Smoking: tons. Best epic fantasy (1 of 3)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byMacstar June 9, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A great movie

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old March 26, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Excellent movie- Much better, then Harry Potter!!!

As a fan of the harry potter books and especially the movies, I have to say that The Lord of the Rings trilogy took the cake. However parents should be aware that there are some grusome scenes involved. However, if you have let you children watch the movie The Hunger Games, than these movies shouldn't be a problem. There are excellent morals in these movies, and I encourage all parents and kids, to give them a try. Some violence may not be suitible for children however, so parents may want to view it first, or watch it with thier kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old January 3, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

exellent!!!

A great way to start the series. Very violent but that get's made up for by the positive messages and role models.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byShadow9713 October 15, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Welcome to the Fellowship.

This adventure will have you clinging to your seats awaiting the next high-thrilling moment. Jokes are spread across the way and the fight scenes are magnificent. If you're looking for a movie after a long day at work, fun entertainment purpose, or a movie to hang out and chill with your friends, this is it! =)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymathgirlie August 24, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

One of the best movies I've seen in my life

This movie is amazing. Period the end.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old February 20, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
O M G!!!!!!!! I am a huge fan of the books and the movie follows the story line almost exsacitaly. But a bit to violent for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old February 5, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

lord of the rings!!!

this is a good movie with a positive message.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byParamoreFan09 January 24, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great movie!

I love this movie... but unfortunately it is too violent for me to watch straight through. It's also super complicated... no matter how often i watch it I cant remember any of the characters besides Frodo, Gandolf, Bilbo, and Sam... haha thats sad... Wonderfully made, though! beautiful scenery!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byLord Voldemort July 22, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

The beginning of the epitome of modern filmmaking.

Alright, so basically, the Lord of the Rings films are almost universally called some of the best films of all time. I wholeheartedly agree with this statement. If you're looking for a direct book to film translation, however, do not look here. A common misconception about these movies is that since they are excellent, they must follow the books! Right? WRONG. If hardcore fans can see around that, they will find one of the most superior fantasy films ever conjured. Great acting, music, scenery, whatever! Everyone will find something in this movie. I think this film should be okay for kids around 10+. They would be most suited to begin to comprehend the plot and handle the sometimes intense violence (that includes an on-screen beheading, among other things). Overall: Fantastic!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byJohanjwalker April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Awesome, but you might want to watch it first.

You should know now that all three lord of the rings movies are excellent. Some of the greates films ever made. But, all three of them of course are pretty violent and in some cases scary. This first one is the scariest. There is no sexual content at all, just one kiss, no language, or anything else. Just violence. The ringwraiths in this movie are particularly scary. they resemble dementors from Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Askaban if you've seen that, just a lot scarier. They stab the main character, chase him and a couple other people a lot. They trample an old town watchman and have a horrible air about them. A lot of the scary stuff happens at night. I also found the watcher in the water scary. He is a large sea monster crocodile thing that tries to eat Frodo. there are lots of scary creatures in this film, and some epic battle sequences that are really violent, but there is no blood. (Just arrows to the head and swinging sword and bashing and stuff.) Monsters include: Watcher in the water(a sea monster),Balrog (a giant fire demon), ringwraiths (scary ghost creatures), a troll (big ugly club-swinging thing), orcs (Other ugly soldier creatures, like goblins). That's a lot. And another scary thing in this story is two major characters die, however one returns alive in teh next film The Two Towers. Your kids will particularly not lie the "death" of Gandalf, who falls of a cliff when he defeats the balrog. But to reassure younger kids, you should tell them that in the next film he comes back, which he does although the next film is quiet scary as well. If your kids have seen King Kong the new one they won't have a problem with this at all. Its fabulous, but check it out first. Teenagers are fine.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

TWO THUMBS UP!

THIS MOVIE IS AWSOME!! The whole trilogy has good messages in it and is appropriate for ages 11+. The only thing that this movie holds is: Talking about darkness And Heavy Violence But this is a great family movie and in the 3rd LOTR movie it has a great message fo kids.
Kid, 10 years old February 20, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

GREAT, but ALOT of violence

Their's a little bit of everything except s-- , but their is a overload of violence! I love this movie, but to be honest, it was a bit too much for me. Most of the violence I would say is what makes the PG-13 movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byW0PR February 16, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

not book_accurate.

this movie is very good, i would recommend it to anybody. it is however not book accurate and should only be watched AFTER you read the books at least once or twice. if you don't read the books first than you will have completely ruined an amazing piece of classic literature and you will assume your not missing anything and probably not read the books ever. people complain about the drinking and pipe weed smoking(its just tobacco, not marijuana), drinking and smoking were part of the culture and can be dismissed.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byJoaoMarques.pt January 21, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

the lord of the rings have alot of violence, but the plot of the movie its amaizing

What other families should know
Great messages

Pages