All member reviews for The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 164 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byJacob Barrera February 7, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Amazing Film With No Language At All and Some Violence

Really good film with positive role models, messages, no language and sex. Violence is pretty high but its fantasy violence. Two orge like creatures are beheaded while many others are stabbed, shot by arrows, or sliced. Some jump scares that really isn's as much scary as surprising. The movie can be a little frighting at times, especially when Bilbo goes mad over the ring. Recommend to mature 8-9 year olds and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 22, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

MOREdor

A little to slow for younger kids, but still good.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old January 12, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Second best in the series.

The fellowship of the ring is the tamest of the series but there is still some carnage. A man is shot with 3 arrows and resists to stop fighting until the third arrow hits him. The orks and oriki can scare little kids, there is a big scary, cave troll. And to wizards battle each other bloody. An ancient demon called a belrog is sure to scare little kids. There is no language or sex though. At one point a very supporting character appears to die but he doesn't really. I don't really have much more to say. This is a good movie but an even better one awaits it.
Kid, 11 years old December 28, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

PG-13 OR R?

scary and violent
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old December 26, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

best.fantasy. ever.

ok, i've only seen the first film, but it was breathtakingly good. it was almost holy. Now, i've read the fellowship and two towers books, and i've started on the return of the king. i'm surprised how close it stays to the source material, but i'm mad they didn't have tom bombadil. Oh well, they probably ran out of time and budget making the trilogy so freaking good. easily a 10/10.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bylimabeanzrule December 26, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Amazing...

Most of the time, the book is better then the movie; but this is as good as the book. P.S. Don't watch all the L.O.R. movies when you're seven.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old December 26, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring-Review

The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring is a exciting movie for middle-earth fans. Me not being a fan of LOTR and Hobbit movies much although my cousins are big fans, I would have gave this a 3.5/5. Not that it was bad. The action sequences were great, awe-full for new fans. The sequences could bore people after a certain amount of time, being a 3-hr movie, my main flaw on the movie. Some of the action in them movie is scary. This is good for 11+, but some people could be frightened of Golem, me thinking he is cute at times:). Golem is a big highlight of the film as well s the start to an medieval-action packed trilogy.B+ (B considerable)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bygoshenmikel55 October 17, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good Movie

One of the best movies I have seen! Though, it is violent, and the hobbits and Gandalf smoke pipes a lot. But other then that it is a very good movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byconnor mann September 23, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Unbelievable

This is the best movie trilogy ever made. It is powerful, dramatic, and exciting. The music is more amazing than words can describe. This movie redefined the meaning of "EPIC". The trilogy will change you on a deep emotional level.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLiveLoveLOL August 16, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Fantastic

It's a wonderful well-made movie! It has an epic plot and the set and special effects were amazing! All three extended editions total to somewhere between 10-12 hours, but it's still great! Some points can get a bit boring, but the action speeds up your adrenaline! There is scary stuff such as Orcs, Nazguls, and others, along with some creepy characters like Gollum, Shelob, and Balrog. So some material may be frightening for younger kids, but besides that it's a great fantasy film that's perfect for family.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byI am a completionst August 9, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

one of the best fantasy movies of all time.

I rate movies like this: 5/5 means I loved it, 4/5 means I liked it enough to buy it on dvd, 3/5 means that it is enjoyable but I would not buy it, 2/5 means not worth seeing, and 1/5 means it is horrible. The Lord of the Rings trilogy is my favorite series of movies of all time. Had to get that out of the way. My rating: PG-13 for some strong creature violence, some frighting images, and mild drinking and smoking. Who hasn't seen this movie, WHO HASN'T?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byover-analyze July 28, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Disappointing

The Fellowship of the ring is a good book, but the movie is disappointing. It has some intensity and violence, as well as creepy scenes. At one point, Bilbo's face starts to resemble that of Gollum, and might be creepy to some kids. Also, Boromir gets shot four times in the chest, and staggers around with arrows in his chest. Gandalf battles a belrog, a fire creature, and the fellowship faces orcs, and other creatures that some children might consider to be unnerving. Otherwise, it is not true to the book at all, and could be disappointing to people who have read it.
Teen, 15 years old Written byLordoftheRings1997 July 24, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Lord of the Rings is by far the best film ever made!

Lord of the Rings is THE BEST MOVIE EVER! While it is not for younger kids, it is a great films for mature preteens and teens! The violence is probably the most disturbing thing, and even that is not too bad in the grand scheme of things. Almost every character provides some kind of role model. Frodo is a wonderful picture of determination and sacrifice, and Sam provides a beautiful example of what a true friend is. I highly recommend this film! It is also a great picture of two different things. One: A picture of what Jesus did for us. Jesus bore the ultimate burden, our sin, for us, and was willing to give his life. Frodo bore ultimate burden, the ring (which represents sin), for Middle Earth, and knew that it would most likely kill him. Frodo's journey can also represent a sinners journey to Jesus, bearing the weight of sin, and when he reaches the end of that journey, he has a choice: to cast away the burdens of his sin, or to keep hold of it. Great discussion point for families!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 8, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

bgujkjgjffdd

it is aweosme
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg01 June 23, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Fabulous, well-made, but also very violent, scary.

My suggested MPAA rating: PG-13 for realistic epic battle-scenes and some scary images. Positive Messages- 4/5 Frodo is a very curious, self-rewarding hobbit as he knows when to strengthen his character when there is danger. Sam is a thoughtful and gentle, friendly hobbit who always watches out for Frodo Baggins. The Hobbits may not be the most rewarding species of Middle-Earth (also said by the narration) but they intend to live in peace and quiet, and seem very colorful on their art-craft/nature feeling, though not as reverent as the Elves. Aragon is brave and a good worship to the fellowship. Legolas is stout, skilled, and keen to his senses. Gandalf is very wise, sense able, and thoughtful, and tells Frodo "All it matters is what the time has given you." Positive role models -4/5 Gandalf leads and helps as best as he can in order to destroy the one ring, Frodo is mostly fearless, and always looks out for the right answer. Boromir is a fool and a trader. Aragorn is brave, and very worshipping to the fellowship. Sam is reluctant but whole-hearted and thoughtful. Violence-4/5 Lots. To enormous battles to orcs getting impaled and deceptated and beheaded. A tooth-like squid tries to eat the herons. Peril is mentioned by the Nazguls following the hobbits. Two characters die. One by a cliff and one impaled by three arrows. A troll tries to attack the hobbits. A scene shows a creature called gollum being tortured by orcs (camera doesn't see the full body, and is very brief). Swords and arrows and knifes are used as weapons. Sex-0.5/5 in a brief scene is Rivendell, land of the elves, a nude statue is barely visible. Language-0.5/5 mild insults, such as "fools" "idiot" and "stupidity". Alchohol/drugs/tobacco - 2/5 Hobbits drink ale and smoke a pipe called "pipe-weed" usually the hobbits in their journey smoke pipe once in a while. Same with dwarves. Characters make smoke-rings. Why I like the movie: A good reason why. The director intends not only for "oh, guys, you know what? Let's make this movie attuned to character!" Yep, he does, and he tried really hard from that, but a hint of reverence and perceive nice hides the dangers forced into the character. Now that is top-notch fun with your friend. The cinematography was excellent. It even won an Oscar for best Cinematography. The beautiful scenery would make your head want to turn straight on the screen, instead of tilted sideways a little. The music by Howard Shore is pretty and memorable. It seems like it would be stuck in your head forever because it is pitched rightly. Makeup and hair-styling was very effective, and the visuals were fun to watch (all of those 4 academy's won oscars). And for little Frodo Baggins, his character is believable anytime he intends to show expressions of wonder, anger, and fear. Ian McKellens Gandalf was great. His expression and body movement has tuned your eye on. Good job for an Oscar nomination! (and speaking of which) the movie is well timed, the entertainment society was done with intelligence, skill, and passion. The Nazguls of evil seem like they were born before Satan was (before the world came). It has such inventive detail it seems like you've seem to notice what would happen inside of you.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old May 22, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

13+

Awesome! Violence: Intense. Fighting, stabbing and even a brief, but not explicit decapitation. Not for young children! Ages 13+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old May 4, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Awoke!

Awesome some violonce peril and a message of teamwork and are good role modeled but this movie is quite gory
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old May 2, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

DEFINITELY NOT FOR KIDS 10 and under!

Great movie but very intense. Lots of main characters die.
Teen, 13 years old Written byJhazuic May 1, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Why I Like This Movie

This is a great movie for a family of older kids and parents to watch together. I would not recommend this movie for kids under 12 because the Orcs are a very scary creature. There is also a love scene between Aragorn and a she-elf but other than that, I thought the movie was not full of romance. This is probably one of my favorite movies after the sequel to this movie. I admire how Gandalf lets Frodo Baggins make all the decisions. This is also a good movie about friendship and loyalty. The ring of power can cause people near it to want it more than anything. Boromir falls into this spell and ends up dead after trying.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written by69 awesome April 21, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

enjoyable

great movie i really enjoyed it. Two thumbs up big time
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages