All member reviews for The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Kids say

(out of 171 reviews)
age 11+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bybkid April 3, 2011
age 13+
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byMusicManShades April 12, 2011
age 10+
 

Awesome movie

Oh my God... This is one of the greatest fantasy epics of all time turned into a masterpiece of a movie. I recommend you see it, if you haven't. My MPAA rating: PG-13 for realistic fantasy war violence and frightening images.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 19, 2010
age 11+
 

THE BEST

AMAZING!!!!!!!! This is probably the best movie you will ever see! Violent, but an eleven or twelve year old could see it. Two SUPER sad deaths. :( YOU HAVE TO SEE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byferraris_rock April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Huge insult to the book

This movie was about as unlike the book as you can get. Changes events, cuts large and important parts out, over romanticizes storyline, and ruins the entire point of the book. I was disgusted.
Kid, 11 years old November 23, 2014
age 11+
 

Amazing movie, quite a lot of gore

This movie is my third favorite fantasy movie ever (my second favorite also being a LOTR movie), and it is really, really good. However, it is considerably more gory and violent than say, Harry Potter or Star Wars. In one scene, Aragorn dismembers an Uruk-Hai before beheading them, and there is quite a lot of swords/axes/arrows violence. Gandalf and Bilbo also smoke something called "pipeweed", and the Orcs, Goblins, Nazgul, and Cave-Troll are quite scary to younger children. Still, a great movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old January 7, 2013
age 12+
 

Not the Most Exciting for Children

When watching this movie, I wasn't as interested as when I watched the Hobbit. There is more Violence, and some freaky scenes as well. I'm glad they left out the auctioning and stories that were included in the book, or else I wouldn't of enjoyed it. A very creative storyline, and I wouldn't mind watching Part 2: The Two Towers!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg00 May 29, 2011
age 10+
 

Slow at times, but very well-made adaptation of the beginning to an excellent trilogy/world.

My rating: PG [borderline with PG-13] for some sequences of epic battle violence.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bytklol April 9, 2011
age 11+
 

Great for tweens, scarier for younger kids

It is an amazing storyline. It has some parallels to the biblical story of Jesus. Gandalf represents Jesus, seeing how he appears to die but comes back. The ring represents sin which many people desire but it always leads to them becoming corrupted. Gollum is a man who has been corrupted by sin. It's one of my favorite movies and I have read all the books
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 23, 2011
age 11+
 

Amazing trilogy, quite violent and scary though, 11+

I've watched the Lord of the Rings movies 4 times through. They're brilliant. The storyline is really well done. It is not a big problem in my opinion that there is smoking and alcohol. There is a lot of violence but no blood to speak of. I think the entire trilogy is amazing (see my reviews). My entire family loves the Lord of the Rings. A masterpiece from J.R.R. Tolkein (the books), and a masterpiece from Peter Jackson (the films). I love adventure quest stories and this one is clever, emotional (I cried at the end of the last film) and sometimes preposterous (the riding down a vertical slope scene). It has warriors, dwarves, elves, orcs, huge fire-breathing minotaur thing, wizards (good and evil), a spirit with red eyes inside a huge set of spiky armor wielding a mace, servants of the dark lord with awesome black capes and a ring with elven runes all the way round it that gets heavier the longer you carry it. I don't think I need to review the other two movies, I think this is enough for you to know that I love them and recommend them to anyone who doesn't mind violence and scary scenes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bybook_flutterby April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

A wonderful movie...

This is an amazing movie! I wouldn't recommend it for younger kids, but honestly, it depends on what they are used to. To children who do not watch violent/scary movies, this is NOT for them. Some kids have seen this kind of thing a lot and are ok with it, so you'll have to judge that. There is no sex except I think for one kiss if that qualifies. No swearing! There are a couple scenes where they make orcs in Isenguard though...which I really found gross. But everything else in the movie is amazing...special affects are stunning, and the story has good morals such as honestly, loyalty, friendship, and sacrifice, not to mention many more. A wonderful movie all around!
Teen, 14 years old Written byxgamerbrox July 19, 2015
age 8+
 

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

This is xgamerbrox here and I plan to do more reviews than parental reviews i will still list some of the content things in here. LOTR Is one of the best movies Ive seen. I think all the characters are great! nice music, nice story... If you like fantasy adventure movies then you will LOVE this movie! VIOLENCE 6/10 Some fantasy violence and blood , LANGUAGE 0/10 No language, FRIGHTENING SCENES 4/10 Some jumpscares, SEX 1/10 Some kissing, DRINKING AND DRUGS, 5/10 Some smoking and drinking. Ok for 9+
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byParkerSmykle July 5, 2015
age 12+
 

my favorite film of all time :)

My favorite film of all time :) 5/5 stars
Kid, 11 years old June 8, 2015
age 11+
 

Great Movie but Quite Violent

It was an amazing movie but has quite a lot of violence and death. I think this movie is great for people at least 11 years.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byProjektor May 14, 2015
age 12+
 

This is beautifu land scary film and second best in series. I'm not this series fan, but i like this very much!

This movie have lots of fantasy-adventure violence and scary scenes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old April 25, 2015
age 12+
 

Very good movie

Good movie, some scary parts. At the beginning it can be a little scary because of the orcs, and syron. Throughout the movie, you can see orcs and a little creature named gollum who can be a little scary.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old April 25, 2015
age 7+
 

The best

Really amazing. Awesome special effects, you should watch it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bypicardisbetter April 21, 2015
age 12+
 

Wow, that is all

Okay, that's not exactly all. There's a lot of amazing acting and visually stunning........... er... visuals. And a few scares to heighten the excitement.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byKara134Star March 28, 2015
age 11+
 

This Is Just Amazing!!

This movie is rather violent but it has such powerful and meaningful messages and characters! Overall i loved this! :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old February 20, 2015
age 13+
 

GREAT, but ALOT of violence

Their's a little bit of everything except s-- , but their is a overload of violence! I love this movie, but to be honest, it was a bit too much for me. Most of the violence I would say is what makes the PG-13 movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byW0PR February 16, 2015
age 10+
 

not book_accurate.

this movie is very good, i would recommend it to anybody. it is however not book accurate and should only be watched AFTER you read the books at least once or twice. if you don't read the books first than you will have completely ruined an amazing piece of classic literature and you will assume your not missing anything and probably not read the books ever. people complain about the drinking and pipe weed smoking(its just tobacco, not marijuana), drinking and smoking were part of the culture and can be dismissed.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages