All member reviews for The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Common Sense Media says

Fabulous, but also violent and scary.

Users say

(out of 218 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old September 1, 2014

My favorite movie!

This is the best movie I have ever seen! Just watch it! You'll love it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byjxvk22 August 10, 2014

Very violent.

This (and the other movies in the series) is a very violent movie with beheading, fighting, and killing. The orc characters are very scary, and anyone that watches this should be prepared for some gore and a lot of violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byMakinley August 6, 2014

Great old fashioned movie

Such a spectacular film! I have watched these series over and over again and they never get old. It is very slow in the beginning and may be scary to sensitive kids. Oarks are big ugly and violent creatures in this movie. Most kids these days are scared of a messed-up creepy crawly creature called Gollum. Gollum is ugly and talks in a very creepy voice that some kids might find disturbing. But this movie sends a great message and the writer of this film happened to be a Christian. Enjoy the movie and thanks for reading!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byQuartermaster July 7, 2014

Epic

Amazing. Just be careful and make sure your kids are ready to handle the amount a violence. There are some very violent scenes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byc@l June 6, 2014

Lord of the Rings

amazing movie!!!! This is one of the best movies you will ever see it has great battle scenes (though not as big and epic as the next 2 Two Towers and Return Of The King) amazing scenery and solid special effects and acting all round just a great movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 0 years old May 15, 2014

SO DARN AWESOME

THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES ONLINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This movie is great,but could be a little to violent for some young viewers.The only other thing is ocassianal smoking, GREAT MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bysalagol May 1, 2014

a amazing movie

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byOfficial Critic March 2, 2014

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring Review

This excellent film is emotionally fulfilling, brilliantly plotted and exciting. This movie is a masterpiece and a textbook example on how to create an epic adventure.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byPaul Decker February 18, 2014

This is actually The best!

this is a very good movie with tons of action and a good story to it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byJacob Barrera February 7, 2014

Amazing Film With No Language At All and Some Violence

Really good film with positive role models, messages, no language and sex. Violence is pretty high but its fantasy violence. Two orge like creatures are beheaded while many others are stabbed, shot by arrows, or sliced. Some jump scares that really isn's as much scary as surprising. The movie can be a little frighting at times, especially when Bilbo goes mad over the ring. Recommend to mature 8-9 year olds and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 22, 2014

MOREdor

A little to slow for younger kids, but still good.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old January 12, 2014

Second best in the series.

The fellowship of the ring is the tamest of the series but there is still some carnage. A man is shot with 3 arrows and resists to stop fighting until the third arrow hits him. The orks and oriki can scare little kids, there is a big scary, cave troll. And to wizards battle each other bloody. An ancient demon called a belrog is sure to scare little kids. There is no language or sex though. At one point a very supporting character appears to die but he doesn't really. I don't really have much more to say. This is a good movie but an even better one awaits it.
Kid, 11 years old December 28, 2013

PG-13 OR R?

scary and violent
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old December 26, 2013

best.fantasy. ever.

ok, i've only seen the first film, but it was breathtakingly good. it was almost holy. Now, i've read the fellowship and two towers books, and i've started on the return of the king. i'm surprised how close it stays to the source material, but i'm mad they didn't have tom bombadil. Oh well, they probably ran out of time and budget making the trilogy so freaking good. easily a 10/10.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bylimabeanzrule December 26, 2013

Amazing...

Most of the time, the book is better then the movie; but this is as good as the book. P.S. Don't watch all the L.O.R. movies when you're seven.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old December 26, 2013

The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring-Review

The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring is a exciting movie for middle-earth fans. Me not being a fan of LOTR and Hobbit movies much although my cousins are big fans, I would have gave this a 3.5/5. Not that it was bad. The action sequences were great, awe-full for new fans. The sequences could bore people after a certain amount of time, being a 3-hr movie, my main flaw on the movie. Some of the action in them movie is scary. This is good for 11+, but some people could be frightened of Golem, me thinking he is cute at times:). Golem is a big highlight of the film as well s the start to an medieval-action packed trilogy.B+ (B considerable)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bygoshenmikel55 October 17, 2013

Good Movie

One of the best movies I have seen! Though, it is violent, and the hobbits and Gandalf smoke pipes a lot. But other then that it is a very good movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byconnor mann September 23, 2013

Unbelievable

This is the best movie trilogy ever made. It is powerful, dramatic, and exciting. The music is more amazing than words can describe. This movie redefined the meaning of "EPIC". The trilogy will change you on a deep emotional level.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLiveLoveLOL August 16, 2013

Fantastic

It's a wonderful well-made movie! It has an epic plot and the set and special effects were amazing! All three extended editions total to somewhere between 10-12 hours, but it's still great! Some points can get a bit boring, but the action speeds up your adrenaline! There is scary stuff such as Orcs, Nazguls, and others, along with some creepy characters like Gollum, Shelob, and Balrog. So some material may be frightening for younger kids, but besides that it's a great fantasy film that's perfect for family.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byI am a completionst August 9, 2013

one of the best fantasy movies of all time.

I rate movies like this: 5/5 means I loved it, 4/5 means I liked it enough to buy it on dvd, 3/5 means that it is enjoyable but I would not buy it, 2/5 means not worth seeing, and 1/5 means it is horrible. The Lord of the Rings trilogy is my favorite series of movies of all time. Had to get that out of the way. My rating: PG-13 for some strong creature violence, some frighting images, and mild drinking and smoking. Who hasn't seen this movie, WHO HASN'T?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages