All member reviews for The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Outstanding adventure, but very violent battle scenes.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 105 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byCoop° June 12, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

awsome movies!

I REALLY LOVE ALL THE FILMS! so the're might be some violence, but you can see it's fake, like those orcs, they really don't look real, but if youre kid has a weak stomach, than i coul understand,, GREAT MOVIES!:D
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old January 25, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great movie! Not for under 11!

9? 8? Seriously.I read the books first then watched them.A rule I have is: If they can't read the books they shouldn't watch the movie.This is because children are watching movies way too old for them now.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byEzio432 September 26, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

ALRIGHT FOR ALL KIDS EXCEPT 8 AND UNDER

READ MY REVIEW OF FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING. NOT MUCH WORSE EXCEPT SARUMAN AND THE ORCS MAY SCARE KIDS YOUNGER THAN 8. There is no more topless statuary in Rivendell, which didnt really matter in the first film but Common Sense Media here seems like it wants the first amendment abolished. You know what that means(i think it may be another amendment but i think its first)? IT MEANS KIDS DO NOT HAVE THE FREEDOM TO SEE ANY MOVIES OR VIDEOGAMES WITH BAD CONTENET! If that amendment is abolished, that will happen, which makes CSM, kind of communist. It also restricts kids from seeing art with nudity. WHO CARES? its not like real nudity and they are drew by expert artists.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bymca27@optonline.net January 24, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

great movie, but not for little kids

first i watched the special features of this movie and then I saw the movie. But the only reason I saw the movie was because my babysitter let me watch it. It was kind of creepy. In the beginning the close up of golum's face is very startling. THere are a lot of battle sequences. Some parts of hte movie had arrows going into Orc's heads and mouths. When Sauron comes out and his fingers get cut off, everybody falls down and on of the most gruesome parts is when Golom eats the live rabbit. I would not recommend it for young kids, even though i saw it when I was seven
Teen, 13 years old Written byLove_my_Dogs_SMR April 10, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

:)

OK i first watch this movie when i was 5! now my little sister is afraid of it, so i guess i was wired! but any way it is a good movie. there is lots of battles and stuff but not to much blood or guts and gore.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old August 7, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
The next chapter in the lord of the rings. Frodo and sam are on there way to destroy the ring and meet up with the creepy Gullom. Younger kids will be scared of Gullom.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byPlague December 15, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Lord of the RIng: The Two Towers

Even better than the first one with a lot more war and violence. Great epic battle scene in Helms Deep. Grade A film that deserves 5 stars and nothing less.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byjoc13 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byProjektor May 14, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

This is good film and gollum is intresting character.

This movie have lots of fantasy-adventure violence and scary scenes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byTheDarkKnightFalls May 9, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

The Lord Of The Rings - The Two Towers

This is an excellent sequel to the original film - The Fellowship Of The Ring. I personally think all of the films in the trilogy are brilliant, but this film didn't really interest me as much as I thought it would. Oh, and did I mention, the duration of the film is 2hrs 59mins! :( Not For Little Kids ): My Classification: M - Strong Violence
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old April 25, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Keeping up the good work

Keeps up the good work from the Fellowship of the Ring. Action-packed.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bypicardisbetter April 22, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Even better than the first

There is way more character development, a lot of violence and Andy Serkis a.k.a. the single greatest motion capture performer EVER
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byW0PR February 16, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

THE HOBBITS ARE NOT KIDS!!!

common sense media says that even kids go to war, this is WRONG. they are HOBBITS, not KIDS, they are not even Hobbit kids. Frodo is older than most of the adults (49), Sam is around 40, and Merry and Pippin are in their 30s. hobbits are officially "kids" until they are 30 but develop and mature to the level of about a 25 year old by 30. definitely old enough to go to war
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 10, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

My Rating 91%

Violence- 13+ (Frequent Action Violence)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byrebo344 December 28, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A brilliant follow-up.

Just fantastic with intense battles.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byJohn trevor December 26, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The lord of the rings:the two towers

Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew December 22, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The best in the middle earth saga but also the most intense

My rating:PG-13 for intense sequences of epic fantasy violence and action and innuendo
Teen, 14 years old Written byeazy__breezy December 21, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Probably my favorite

Also some violence, but is good for 11 and up.
Adult Written byhussainp December 19, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

two towers

Great middle story of a trilogy. Amazing but very violent battle scenes, not recommended for young children. Great action, lines, music and the bonds of friends stronger than before.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old November 28, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

What???????//

Age 14, 12, 11? I saw this at nine!!!! and my brother saw it at 6!!!!!!! and its not scary(i dont get scared of movys) great movie i loved it and do not ask me about violence cause i love violence
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages