All member reviews for The Lost Boys

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Scary '80s vamp film. Older teens only.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 33 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written bychandlerjones30 December 17, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

the most great of the time

i love this movie it's a awesome movie the one for the Oscars
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great role models
Adult Written byuslesrcool47 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

should not be "R"

I am 13 years old and had a very hard time convincing my parents to let me see this moveie because of it's "R" rating. After seeing this film I was unsure of why it was rated R. There was some language, but nothing worse than the "S" word, which is used in PG-13 movies all the time. There was brief sexual content, involving two characters making out on a bed, the girl didnt have a shirt on, but you could only see her back. This film is quite gory with teenagers violently killing vampires, but with all the gory video games today, this should not be an issue for most kids. I would say this is a great movie that everybody should see, but i might caution children under 12 who want to see this.
Parent of a 4, 6, and 15 year old Written byslt208 November 3, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Obvious Negatives, Hidden Positives

If you (or your teenage daughter!) are looking for a vampire movie, I think this is a better choice than the less violent but more insidious Twilight series movies, especially for girls. While Lost Boys includes strong graphic violence and implied sex, it disguises positive messages under the disreputable surface; whereas, the Twilight series movies seem benign on the surface but glorify melodrama, suicide, and self-ostracism. Some of the positive themes that can be teased out of the Lost Boys subtext involve the importance of family loyalty, the need to adapt to new circumstances (younger brother who successfully adapts is the hero who saves older brother that gets in trouble trying to fit in with dangerous crowd), and the idea that it's never too late to turn your back on a wrong path or group. After watching this movie with my 15-year-old daughter, we talked about real-life examples of peer pressure and how hard it is to stop participating in something that is wrong once you get started.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old November 28, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

.............Maybe

I think this movie is a little too bloody :/
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bythehydradude November 15, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Keep some garlic with you!!

Swearing, one kissing scene, vampire feeding frenzies (very graphic). Not suitable for under 13. Hellhounds chase main character. They go to a comic shop and are charged. Characters drink and smoke.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byAnimeGirl-Nikki June 19, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A very soft R

This classic 80s vampire flick isn't a hard R. In fact, it shouldn't really be rated R at all, because the content is no worse than today's average PG-13 thriller. When brothers Michael and Sam Emerson (played by the late Corey Haim) move to live with their kooky Grandpa in the town of Santa Carla, they find out that things aren't as they seem. Meaning? The town is crawling with vampires, most notably, a gang of teenage vamp boys - the 'lost boys'. When Michael gets mixed up in this deadly gang, it's up to Sam and his new friends, the self-proclamed vampire hunting Frog Brothers, to save Michael and the rest of Santa Carla from the bloodsuckers. Because this is a vampire movie, there's definitely a fair bit of language (some 's-words' and 'h-words') and carnage, but it's all fairly stylized/cartoonish and offset by the witty overall tone of the movie. This movie is action-packed and full of fun battle sequences and one-liners. Standout characters are the young teen vampire hunting Frog Brothers (one of whom is played by then-child star Corey Feldman), David (the leader of 'the lost boys', played by a young Kiefer Sutherland), and spitfire Grandpa Emerson. There are messages about being brave, standing up for yourself, and not succumbing to peer pressure that shine through here. It's a wonderful thriller that encompasses the best of the 80s: teen movies, thrillers, and vampires. If you're a fan of any of those genres, then this film is a must-see.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMcCartneyHaim March 22, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Best thriller movie! A bit scary

I am 15 and I still can't watch any scary movies. I get very uneasy if I see any blood and this movie kind of pushed my limits...it is very gory at parts but you can kind of tell when the vampires are going to attack someone and I just turned my head on parts I felt I could not handle. I made myself watch this movie because Corey Haim and Corey Feldman were in it. This was very well acted and I feel like teenagers would very much enjoy this movie. It has a lot of humor and isn't just a straight up horror movie! Their is a brief sex scene but no nudity and it's very quick and some language, but other than that if you don't get scared easily this is a totally awesome movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent of a 12 year old Written bynadjaj October 18, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good "intro to vampires" movie. Lots to discuss about what people do to try to fit in.

Talk about a great movie to discuss what it feels like to want to fit in with the "cool" crowd! Michael feels alone after moving to a new town. Chasing a girl, he takes a drug (blood) even though he doesn't know anything about it or what it will do to him (after getting high, implied but not directly shown). The violence is quite cartoonish and though certainly intense, less upsetting than Harry Potter movies where characters we've grown to love die horrible deaths. "Be true to yourself" is the message. "Rely on your family." "Trust your instincts." "Ask for help when you are in a situation you can't handle." As I was familiar with the movie there were a few scenes I knew would bother my kid, so I gave her a heads-up to mute or look during those parts.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWG1 October 3, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Best Vampire Movie Ever!

I grew up with this movie, and therefore it is one of the best vampire movies I have ever scene. There is some language, but it is mild R language or hard PG-13. There is lots of gore in this movie, but a lot of it is done in a stylized and comical way, but expect lot's of blood towards the end. There is a brief sex scene, but nothing is really shown and there is no nudity all you see is a boy and a girl kissing and starting to undress and the scene ends. Some drinking and smoking mild stuff. Honestly I say possibly 9 because other than the blood this movie is not very bad. The vampires however might scare young ones, but if your kids don't mind blood they should be fine.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written by8rebel24 August 3, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Really great film! Highly recommended!

Just recently watched this movie and was very impressed. I had heard many good things about the film, and they were all true. Every vampire film has something special, but I really liked this one in particular. The bond between the brothers, Michael and Sam, was unlike anything I had seen before. It's rare to find a pair of siblings in film and television that get along so well. Their friends, brothers Edgar and Alan, are also shown to have a close relationship. Star, a female half-vampire, is protective of a young boy as though she were his older sister. So basically, the relationships in the film are very nice. There are some scary, gory moments and implied sex, but nothing an older teen can't handle. The acting is very good; I really enjoyed the performances. Especially from Corey Feldman (Edgar Frog) and Kiefer Sutherland (a powerful vampire named David). A very good film with great music, too!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byEmma80slover June 26, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Amazing Movie!!!

This is by far one of the best movies I've ever seen! It's amazing! If you're looking for a good vampire movie, skip Twilight and watch this instead! I don't see why Common Sense Media says you need to be 16 to see this, my 10 year old sister watches it with me all the time! The language is nothing compared to what is used in PG and PG-13 movies today, just the s-word a few times. There is implied sex, but that's no problem because that is in every movie nowadays. The violence is the worst, but even it is not that bad! People make it sound worse, but its not bad at all really. Most kids today have seen much worse. I highly recommend this movie to any family!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old June 13, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great vampire movie!

This is a good vampire movie! I watched it when I was 9 and I wasn't scared. I really enjoyed it. It has a great cast and great soundtrack. There is some gore but, come on people, it was the 80s. There is strong brief language and a mild sex scene with no nudity. I wouldn't recommend it to kids under 12.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byLostboys991 April 11, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

maybe for kids

I think kids should watch this just to see how vampire movies are like but this film is not that scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 and 16 year old Written bypwi11iam2 February 3, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

They don't make Vampires this much fun anymore.

Today this movie would be rated PG-13. If your child owns an Xbox or a PS3 I am certain the games he ( girls maybe not) is playing are much more violent than this. Today's teen Movies ( Hunger Games, Twilight) are more violent and not as much fun as this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bywonder dove December 27, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Favorite vamp movie!

Amazing film! I'm not one for vampire movies, but I finally gave this a shot a year ago and bought it on a whim because the reviews were so great - I ended up absolutely loving it!! It's so much fun to watch anytime of the year. I love the cast, music, storyline and the humor balances out the story. It does not feel like an '80's movie to me for some reason, it has just as good special effects as our modern horror movies today. It's basically about a guy who starts turning into a vampire while hanging out with the wrong crowd after moving to Santa Carla. When his younger brother finds out, he discovers two comic "vampire hunters" who help to kill the head vampire before they take over his family! Lots of violence and gore like bitings, a vicious dog attacks a woman, chasings, vampires go nuts and kill people, a family dog bites a family member...etc. Sexual content is pretty mild which includes some flirting, one off-screen sex scene with some kissing, innocent kisses by adults. The film has lots of teen peer pressure throughout. Language isn't too bad, a few sh*ts. It would be ideal for 15 years and up, too violent for younger kids!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old October 23, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

This should not be rated r

I am 12 years old and I saw this movie many times. There is no f bombs but they do say sh-t couple times. There is no gore in this but there is bloody action and deaths such as when the frog brothers push the vampire in a bath tub of garlic. There is only one sex scene but its pg-13 type. They should of rated this pg-13
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byXxXEmoTacoXxX June 19, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

great vamp movie XD

We all seen vampire movies nof said but i do have to say lost boys was actually really good. Of course there was that one seen when those people got eaten alive by the vamps but that was really the only gory part 8+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bylikestowatchmovies June 13, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

really good movie

once a kid is 13 and mature they should be able to handle this, is not any more violent than the news and no more sexual than anything you would see on tv
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byTV-14-DLSV Teen Boy March 25, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

The Lost Boys is an Entertaining Movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just Fine Movie. The Lost Boys is a Just fine movie I have The Lost Boys. Even If MPAA explanation: does not include the word Sexuality The Lost Boys does contain an Implied Sex scene in the movie. This movie is Really Fun And Entertaining. I Recommend The Lost Boys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bybabygirl92293 February 29, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

the lost boys...

i thought this was a very good movie... Its not too violent but keeps things interesting.... and the frog brothers are pretty funny
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing

Pages