All member reviews for The Lost Boys

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 22 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written bychandlerjones30 December 17, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

the most great of the time

i love this movie it's a awesome movie the one for the Oscars
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old November 28, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

.............Maybe

I think this movie is a little too bloody :/
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bythehydradude November 15, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Keep some garlic with you!!

Swearing, one kissing scene, vampire feeding frenzies (very graphic). Not suitable for under 13. Hellhounds chase main character. They go to a comic shop and are charged. Characters drink and smoke.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byAnimeGirl-Nikki June 19, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A very soft R

This classic 80s vampire flick isn't a hard R. In fact, it shouldn't really be rated R at all, because the content is no worse than today's average PG-13 thriller. When brothers Michael and Sam Emerson (played by the late Corey Haim) move to live with their kooky Grandpa in the town of Santa Carla, they find out that things aren't as they seem. Meaning? The town is crawling with vampires, most notably, a gang of teenage vamp boys - the 'lost boys'. When Michael gets mixed up in this deadly gang, it's up to Sam and his new friends, the self-proclamed vampire hunting Frog Brothers, to save Michael and the rest of Santa Carla from the bloodsuckers. Because this is a vampire movie, there's definitely a fair bit of language (some 's-words' and 'h-words') and carnage, but it's all fairly stylized/cartoonish and offset by the witty overall tone of the movie. This movie is action-packed and full of fun battle sequences and one-liners. Standout characters are the young teen vampire hunting Frog Brothers (one of whom is played by then-child star Corey Feldman), David (the leader of 'the lost boys', played by a young Kiefer Sutherland), and spitfire Grandpa Emerson. There are messages about being brave, standing up for yourself, and not succumbing to peer pressure that shine through here. It's a wonderful thriller that encompasses the best of the 80s: teen movies, thrillers, and vampires. If you're a fan of any of those genres, then this film is a must-see.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMcCartneyHaim March 22, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Best thriller movie! A bit scary

I am 15 and I still can't watch any scary movies. I get very uneasy if I see any blood and this movie kind of pushed my limits...it is very gory at parts but you can kind of tell when the vampires are going to attack someone and I just turned my head on parts I felt I could not handle. I made myself watch this movie because Corey Haim and Corey Feldman were in it. This was very well acted and I feel like teenagers would very much enjoy this movie. It has a lot of humor and isn't just a straight up horror movie! Their is a brief sex scene but no nudity and it's very quick and some language, but other than that if you don't get scared easily this is a totally awesome movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWG1 October 3, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Best Vampire Movie Ever!

I grew up with this movie, and therefore it is one of the best vampire movies I have ever scene. There is some language, but it is mild R language or hard PG-13. There is lots of gore in this movie, but a lot of it is done in a stylized and comical way, but expect lot's of blood towards the end. There is a brief sex scene, but nothing is really shown and there is no nudity all you see is a boy and a girl kissing and starting to undress and the scene ends. Some drinking and smoking mild stuff. Honestly I say possibly 9 because other than the blood this movie is not very bad. The vampires however might scare young ones, but if your kids don't mind blood they should be fine.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written by8rebel24 August 3, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Really great film! Highly recommended!

Just recently watched this movie and was very impressed. I had heard many good things about the film, and they were all true. Every vampire film has something special, but I really liked this one in particular. The bond between the brothers, Michael and Sam, was unlike anything I had seen before. It's rare to find a pair of siblings in film and television that get along so well. Their friends, brothers Edgar and Alan, are also shown to have a close relationship. Star, a female half-vampire, is protective of a young boy as though she were his older sister. So basically, the relationships in the film are very nice. There are some scary, gory moments and implied sex, but nothing an older teen can't handle. The acting is very good; I really enjoyed the performances. Especially from Corey Feldman (Edgar Frog) and Kiefer Sutherland (a powerful vampire named David). A very good film with great music, too!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byEmma80slover June 26, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Amazing Movie!!!

This is by far one of the best movies I've ever seen! It's amazing! If you're looking for a good vampire movie, skip Twilight and watch this instead! I don't see why Common Sense Media says you need to be 16 to see this, my 10 year old sister watches it with me all the time! The language is nothing compared to what is used in PG and PG-13 movies today, just the s-word a few times. There is implied sex, but that's no problem because that is in every movie nowadays. The violence is the worst, but even it is not that bad! People make it sound worse, but its not bad at all really. Most kids today have seen much worse. I highly recommend this movie to any family!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old June 13, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great vampire movie!

This is a good vampire movie! I watched it when I was 9 and I wasn't scared. I really enjoyed it. It has a great cast and great soundtrack. There is some gore but, come on people, it was the 80s. There is strong brief language and a mild sex scene with no nudity. I wouldn't recommend it to kids under 12.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byLostboys991 April 11, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

maybe for kids

I think kids should watch this just to see how vampire movies are like but this film is not that scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old October 23, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

This should not be rated r

I am 12 years old and I saw this movie many times. There is no f bombs but they do say sh-t couple times. There is no gore in this but there is bloody action and deaths such as when the frog brothers push the vampire in a bath tub of garlic. There is only one sex scene but its pg-13 type. They should of rated this pg-13
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byXxXEmoTacoXxX June 19, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

great vamp movie XD

We all seen vampire movies nof said but i do have to say lost boys was actually really good. Of course there was that one seen when those people got eaten alive by the vamps but that was really the only gory part 8+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bylikestowatchmovies June 13, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

really good movie

once a kid is 13 and mature they should be able to handle this, is not any more violent than the news and no more sexual than anything you would see on tv
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byangelabovedemonbelow March 4, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not for young children

This is a really good vampire movie with good role models (Sam) and positive messages (the importance of family, ect). It's way better than todays vampire garbage. There is one sex part, but nothing is shown and it goes by quickly. The part where Michael eats the maggots does still gross me out though...
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byBaby J December 25, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good Vampire movie for teenagers

It was good. I want them to make a lot of movies. I want different people in the movie.
Kid, 10 years old October 28, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A brilliant, but gory, film.

A good and exciting film. It has a lot of violence and gore though. A vampire's heart is penentrated with a wooden stake. At one point, a vampire falls into a bath of holy water, and sizzles up and the skeleton shows, and it turns into a bath of blood. The sinks explode with blood and body bits and blood are covering the walls. There is some language including ; s**t, p**s or son of a b***h. There is a mention of MTV and some types of cars. It is a very (surprisingly) funny film and it's the kind of movie you can watch over and over and never get bored. The story is just perfect, and I highly reccomend it. It is 100% worth every penny I paid for it, and I'm pretty sure you'll think the same if you buy it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old August 28, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Best Movie Ever!

Omg i love this movie with all my heart! Best movie. I really really really reccomend it!
Teen, 13 years old Written byNapkap August 8, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A Cool Vampire Movie

This movie is pretty great. It's very funny, very cool, and has enough blood to keep horror fans watching. Two favorite kills of mine are a body being thrown on a fire and sizzling, and a head being popped of like the vampires opening a beer.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bylaurel1234 July 11, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

fantastic!

i 1st saw this in my 6th grade band class and loved it! it was only rated r because pg-13 wasnt really in use yet! the gore is so fake, that its really meaning less, and the "implied sex secene" is appropite for 10 and up.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages