Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for The Mule

Common Sense says

Eastwood's mature drug-mule drama boasts expert filmmaking.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 10 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 3 reviews
Adult Written byOlg77 December 27, 2018

Not for kids!

My husband and I love Clint Eastwood films, but we were really surprised by the amount of adult content in this one. Very disappointing to see this much nudity and “in your face.” The length of showing this was too much and had absolutely nothing to do with the plot. Parents beware—if you don’t want your kid into porn, keep them from this film!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 10, 13, and 16 year old Written byJulie W. December 17, 2018

Great movie - one risqué scene

I enjoyed the old songs and humor thrown in with this serious subject matter. Many children will find this movie slow. My teenaged son has an interest in law enforcement and I plan to see the movie again with him, but there’s honestly one scene that’s completely inappropriate and adds little to the movie... but the story is worth it. I want him to understand that good people sometimes make bad choices.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byDazy_b January 3, 2019

Poor language/inappropriate scene/boring

The movie was extremely boring For the most part. It had one highly inappropriate scene that did not fit in with the plot at all. It was very much porn and regardless of how short the scene was it was clearly only out there to add something titilating to men and to distract from how utterly boring the movie was overall. I would not recommend it in any instance...with or without the porn/threesome scene.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byLinamadison December 18, 2018
Adult Written byLensers December 25, 2018

Really good

Really good all families should enjoy it looks spectical at first but then very good and interesting. great story the reviews are not accurate there is barely any sex but a lot of swearing great movie!!!!!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byNeon 999 April 5, 2019

Yep

Clint eastwood is a good filmaker but is soooooo far up his own ass
Adult Written byNhbookee January 9, 2019

Where have You been all my life?

A really selfish Dad finally Show's up for his family. Using his Obviously low moral Values to justify seizing the moment when he realizes " Opportunities pass " . Carpediem. . In spite of my really cynical view of this movie it was Excellently done and performed. With a really good moral Message to be deduced from the obvious Better late than not at all ,situation. I recommend it highly . It's not an action movie but it is An emotionally active movie. As for the sex well that is who he was or user of other people.And that seems fairly obvious.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byMarymary1234 December 20, 2018

Clint and me

I actually was in the movie in the beginning so I took my family to see it and it was an amazing movie . When we were filming it I thought why were they jumping around but they know what they are doing wow it was just an amazing movie. I love Clint’s expressions in the movie. He is an amazing man with a great talent . I was proud to be a part of making this happen. He and his staff worked so hard for everyone to make our experience an amazing one. They are the greatest!!! Teaches a lot about consequences and forgiveness.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Parent Written byFinBEAR March 2, 2019

Parent of a 17, 15, and 14 year old.

This movie was amazing and me, my two sons and my 17 year old daughter loved it. Yes I said ages 17+ but as long as your kid is mature enough to handle mature topics it is no problem. Little bit of raunchy scenes with nudity is the only thing I had a problem with. Other than that the movie is so good that it covers up all the language and drugs.
Adult Written bysinn1 April 7, 2019

What a fantastic film from an actor who still has what it takes to make a quality film.

This movie is a cautionary tale and has a strong ending...from a time when people stood by the truth no matter the consequences. A film that teaches a powerful lesson about family values that truly speaks to the professional working the rat race. This motion picture is not one young children should watch. I think it is extremely dangerous to show young impressionable minds "good drug dealers" and "honor in selling or moving drugs." Further, the film has some minor scenes depicting racism and one scene showing a pedestrian being pulled over that was "scared for his life." Personally, I think both scenes were attempting to stand by a political position that truly were of no use to anyone. Can we stop with the forced political agenda's in every film already? Perhaps the most egregious spots in this motion picture were the depictions of women dancing in bikini's. There are some suggestive shots of possible prostitution and a little hedonism thrown in for good measure. Nothing to write home about as the scenes in question are not gratuitous and show about as much skin as you would see at a beach circa 2019. This film had very few instances of violence. In one scene a man threatens another with a firearm. Clint is put in a few precarious positions involving a firearm. One person is shot in the back and the scene is really over before it starts. It's truly a shame as I would have loved to see Clint shoot a few punks for good measure. Last and certainly least is this nonsense about consumerism. News flash, consumerism is what keeps us going. What's wrong with selling a product or depicting people *gasp* making money by selling goods and services through a free market? The inclusion of consumerism into the rating criteria on this site is the absolute height of tedium and so are the people who add it to their reviews.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking