All member reviews for The Muppets

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Muppet comedy offers memorable laughs, musical numbers.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 114 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 3 and 5 year old Written byMamaWu August 13, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Overall, a great family movie which we plan to see again!

After reading all of the reviews, I was hesitant to let my 3 year old watch it with his 5 yo sibling. I decided to give it a try, prepared to fast forward through parts if necessary. I could have done without the first Jack Black scene, which ended in people (not puppets) punching each other. Other than that, my kids were not scared of the villains and we all enjoyed the music throughout the movie. There is a word here and there that we aren't allowed to use ("idiot", maybe) but I have found even 'G' rated movies have those, unfortunately (i.e. Toy Story). Overall, a cute, feel-good movie
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bymkap April 8, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Don't Fear the Muppets

I love this movie, and so do my kids (ages almost 2 and 3 and a half). I want to address the minority of commenters who managed to find objectionable content in this beautiful movie. There are three or four punches thrown over the course of the movie, none of them graphic or disturbing. The villains are not scary - they're muppets, after all. A few people mentioned a scene where Walter (a muppet) tries to go over a fence that turns out to be electrified- this scene lasts about 4 seconds and is not disturbing, resulting only in some shaking, bad hair, a dirty face, and a somewhat dazed muppet who sits up immediately and is obviously not hurt. Unless you have scared your kid in advance by explaining the real effects of a real electrified fence (something I do not advise unless you live on a farm or a high security top secret laboratory), this is not a scary scene. Most mystifying to me is the commenter who objects to a song "Forget Me", asking "Do you want your kids humming that song?" My first thought was "Huh?" because I didn't recognize the song, even after seeing the movie multiple times. The song in question is sung by a group of muppet chickens, and here are the lyrics: "Buck buck buck buck buck buck, bucka buck buck buck (i.e., they sing it in chicken-ese). I don't know what the real lyrics are, but they are not in the movie, at all. In the plus column, the movie has catchy, witty songs, hilarious 80's nostalgia for the grownups, and good messages about friendship, loyalty, believing in yourself, and yes, electrified fences.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byConscience Mama November 26, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

A Little More Info

I agree with the CS review, but would also add a couple things I would have liked to clue my children into beforehand. There is a "what the heck", Fozzie the Bear has some "farting" shoes which he references periodically through the film, and there is one scene when the Muppets are trying to sell their show to a TV exec and she shows them an example of the shows that are popular now - the example is called "Punch Teacher" and in the brief scene there is a teacher getting punched in a guillotine-style contraption. It was slightly alarming. Otherwise, I was able to tell my boys about the use of the words "butt" and "idiot" ahead of time along with the fight scene at the anger management retreat, which prepared us for a sweet family outing.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 3 and 7 year old Written byJenC November 23, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Awesome for kids and parents!

We won tickets to the premiere, and I took both our kids (7 and 3) without checking the rating. I'm glad I didn't check, because it would have made me worried about taking my little guy, and I honestly don't think there was anything in the movie that warranted a PG rating. I assume it's due to the mild violence, but really, it didn't worry me at all while watching. The kids enjoyed it a lot, but I think my husband and I loved it even more! A really happy, feel good movie for the whole family!
Kid, 11 years old January 14, 2014
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

RATED PG FOR HUOMOR

I KNOW THIS MOVIE IS FUN BUT I NEED TO TELL YOU..................... THIS MOVIE IS FINE FOR 4+
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old December 10, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Beware the Chicken Dance Number

The Chickens do a number to Cee Lo Green's song "*$% You." Not a song I want my kids clucking.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written bySEA_BoyGirlTwins_Dad December 3, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Common sense media - you are losing me. These Muppets aren't for 5 year olds.

Why is it that movies lay claim to a "positive message" by having a happy ending, but dragging a child through a constant fear of failure during the entire movie. This movie fails over and over again to entertain the way we remember the Muppets entertaining us as children on TV. Rather, lovable characters are inserted into a heavy plot to bait us into believing that good times are just around the corner. This movie is an absurd re-introduction of the Muppets to small children. I recommend it for 8 years old and up that are more primed for suspenseful stories, and adults that want to see their childhood favorites recast in a punched up contemporary, big screen story filled with star studded cameo appearances that simply are missed on kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old November 23, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

I went to the premire!

GREAT muppet movie! i am a huge muppet fan and ive seen every episode of the show, but this was great! approprate for all ages!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Parent Written bymbmartin874 February 15, 2015
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Decent, but not as good as the original show

First, let me say that if I could give this film 3 1/2 stars, instead of 4, I would. Pros: *There is nothing objectionable in this film. No characters calling each other "stupid" or violence or overly scary villains. This is rare for kids films these days and I wish more film studios would tailor movies appropriately to a young audience this way. *There's copious amounts of singing and dancing - another plus for kids. *It's largely a happy and cheerful movie, which is refreshing. Cons: *The songs are actually pretty unmemorable. Again, there is nothing objectionable about the music; it just can't hold a candle to any of the songs from the original show. the choice to feature songs from the early 80s - the Muppet's heyday - wears thin quickly too. *The script could be tighter and better paced. Compared with a sharp, first-rate film like The Lego Movie, this story and the direction come across as a little amateurish and kind of lackluster. *The main female character is so underdeveloped, a mannequin could have played her. I'm glad Amy Adams received a paycheck for this film, but her talent is wasted here. *The film is very much a loving homage to the original Muppet studio, but in going back to these roots it just makes me want to watch the original episodes instead. The original Muppet Show was so much more superior to this film. Our family has watched this movie once, will probably never view it again, and will now turn our attentions to the original show.
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew February 12, 2015
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Heartwarming muppets movie is very funny and cute

My rating:PG for rude humor
Teen, 17 years old Written byChristopherGraham October 13, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

"The Muppets" by Christopher Graham

A Muppet movie that reaches to high standards with it's heartwarming message, plot, script, and fascinations. This movie is a colorful movie for all Muppet fans. This is good for little ones to watch, if they are not scared of the Muppets that is.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old August 26, 2014
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

good movie

i saw this movie when it came out and i liked it i would recommend it
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 13, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Easily the best Muppets movie yet. It's hilarious, entertaining and has some catchy songs. The song 'Man Or Muppet' was the best song in the film.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old July 11, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

KIDS WILL LOVE IT

A great messages great role models
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 13, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

A movie for kids all ages!

The best Muppet Movie yet. Families will love it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old March 27, 2014
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Fun musical that ANYONE can see - very funny slapstick

It may be iffy for the youngest ones, but it's slapstick after all. MPAA's description of "some rude humour/humor" is that toilets are used as seats and there's a memorable gag about "fart shoes" that make flatulence and farting sounds. "Poogy" is a surname, too. The story is about that a Muppet-obsessed, totally crazed puppet fan Walter goes on a cross-country trip to Kermit's place. Then Kermit reunites all the Muppets to raise the studio and stop an evil villain called Tex Richman and his VERY mildly scary Muppet Gang. There's one explosion of a store where a Muppet jumps over the wreckage, but NO ONE is hurt. However, there is smoke afterwards and they briefly cough. In the credits, you see a man kicked and he has a bruise on his head. Celebrity cameos include Jack Black and Selena Gomez (Black's "cameo" goes on), even Modern Family's Rico Rodriguez (Manny, for those who wondered.) AMY ADAMS always likes to show off her wonderful singing skills, and seems to do what she did in ENCHANTED. JASON SEGEL is also included, and gives the Muppets nice fresh life. There is a scene where a man is kidnapped, but EVERY violent bit is played for laughs after all. Very mild "language" includes name-calling, but, that doesn't really matter. Light kisses, but overall kid-friendly. Overall a good movie about a friendly gang of Muppets trying to save their studio. This musical will enthral ANYONE who watches it. Thankyou for reading.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old March 7, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WHY IS THS MOVIE PG! I HAVE ONLY WATCHED THIS MOVIE ONCE AND I AM PLANNING TO BREAK THE DVD I LOVED THE MUPPETS WHEN I WAS 5 I AM SO DISAPPOINTED FROM HOW BAD THIS IS. ANOTHER THING IT HAS TOO MUCH SEX AND POOP JOKES. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS MOVIE!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnimeBlanket March 1, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

THIS IS A PORN FLICK

This movie was nothing sort of a porn flick. Disgusting relentless vulgar language. Non stop graphic sexual behavior. Very misleading trailer. Film should be rated X!!!! Not suitable for kids or adults. Way too much of everything. Totally offended, Got up and left. Requested a refund.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old December 26, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Muppets Back For A New Generation, But Is It Any Good?

Well after a dozen years of pathetic TV specials and direct-to-videos releases (prior to "It's a Very Merry Muppet Christmas Movie" (2002) which was fairly good), commercials, and viral Youtube videos, the muppets are finally back for a new theatrically released film, but is it any good? Well the story (as seen above) is about a NEW muppet, yes the last new muppet were those lab rats from 1999's Muppets From Space. His name is Walter (Peter Linz) and honestly he along with screenplay writer Jason Segel and Amy Adams steal valuable screen time from the real muppets like Kermit, Piggy, Rowlf, Fozzie, Gonzo ect. leaving many muppets with little to no screen time most namingly Dr. Bunsen Honeydew, Beaker, Beauregard, Rowlf, and Rizzo the Rat. Walter is a very bland character. To explain Walter, he's just like if all us muppet fans who aren't famous actors got on stage with the muppets. We would love it, but we'd just fail. Jason Segel who's typically hilarious in "How I Met Your Mother" gives a lifeless performance prior to his "Man or Muppet" scene. Amy Adams is just bleh, I mean is she even a muppet fan? She adds nothing to the film and we'd be much better off without her. Though Jason and Walter contribute to the plot they could have been better, but Amy Adams shouldn't have been there altogether. The first real muppets appear exactly 13 mins. and 42 secs and boy was I happy. Statler and Waldorf came to make us laugh like hell along with Chris Cooper in a decent performance as the antagonist with Bobo the Bear as a henchmen which made me jump for joy that he's back with (drumroll) UNCLE DEADLY!! That really made my day because I haven't seen that guy since 1984! Overall the film moves on until somehow the muppets get what they want so moving right along (muppet joke). There are some major problems. First off the performances of the three main characters. Also, the freaking pretty much WHOLE FILM is a big rip off of NBC'S 2002 rv movie It's a very merry muppet christmas movie though nobody seems to care!! WHAT IS WITH THAT!!!!!!!!!!!!! Also there are so many muppets not in the film like Johnny Fiama, Sal Minella, and almost ALL the Muppets Tonight muppets! Though there are also many good things like the majority of the songs, Jerry Nelson as the announcer, all the lost muppets, and all those nostalgic references. Overal this film is what we all thought The Muppet Movie would be back in 1979 which is The Muppet Show: The Movie. In all this film is a good film, not an A+ film more like an A- film. It isn't as good as the first two classic Henson made muppet films and probably some of the others, it may disgust older muppet fans, but if you're a die heart muppet fan like me then you have to watch the latest muppet production, so for all you unsure fans first just rent it or watch it on TV. But the important thing is that we got the muppets make and the world is a little better.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byemcfa3000 May 27, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

ABC

Watch this film. It's not the best film ever but it's the muppets. Just watch it.

Pages