All member reviews for The Nightmare Before Christmas

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 109 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bySweeney_Todd April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

My favorite movie!

This IS NOT a goth movie!! It is a wonderful, beautiful movie with a memorable, perfect score by Danny Elfman (I love all of his work; much better than any pop music) See this movie!
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheBombFunn July 15, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Spooky fun

Ok I don't find this scary but a little kid might. But if it is scary it certainly won't stop me from watching it, the character's are brilliant, the plot is good and the animation is gorgeous. Minus the "scary" stuff, I think it can be a great film for the whole family.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byDoctor Who Lover September 8, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

GREAT MOVIE, A MUST-SEE

I LOVE THIS MOVIE! It's got great songs, characters, and a great story. Jack is a good positive role model, and so is Sally. By the end of the movie they've fallen in love with each other. There is scariness and violence in this movie though. Ooogie boogie is pretty scary for younger kids (and by younger I mean 5/6 and down), and so are some of the other monsters, One part Jack makes a somewhat scary face, but not all that scary. One guy has a hatchet in his head. Overall, a must-see even if your child is too young now, they must see it when they're old enough. This movie is one of my top childhood favorites.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old December 5, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great, but a little creepy...

Great! Teens will also like it, mainly because of the creepy characters. This movie is great! But may be scary for younger kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byfrancissca October 5, 2009
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

This movie is great i love all of the details and bright and weird colors to look at. Just to let those nightmare before christmas lovers know this movie will be in theaters for 3-D
Teen, 15 years old Written byDivine_Munchie_99 July 7, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

A little scary

Pretty scary movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byHawk11404 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
no highlights but it was a very good movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old October 1, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Great Tim Burton film. Some good soundtrack sings in it with some amazing animation. Kids may be freaked by some parts but it's good to show them no all cartoons are light and funny.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byeteichert April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Incredible!

As I said about I AM LEGEND and FORREST GUMP, there are very few perfect movies out there. In this: Great story, great characters, beautiful music! All-in-all, a masterpiece!
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Best movie

The movie is great I saw it in 3-D and it was good well written
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

.........

It was an O.K. movie. You have to admit it wasn't OMG, but just O.K., it was good I guess. Now lets talk about 3-D effects, LLLLLLLAAAAAAAAAMMMMMMMEEEEEE!!! Nothing popped out at you what-so-ever. Sure its blury when you take off the glass, but when there on it's just like a watching a regular movie.
Teen, 16 years old Written byspudsandbeans42 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Overall - Mild content

Violence: Mild - Characters kidnap Santa Claus and force him down a narrow pipe (he survives and is unhurt). Scary-looking toys menace children (the children escape unhurt). A character is shot at whilst flying on a sleigh (he survives). There is an axe permanently wedged in the head of one character for the duration of the film (he does not express any pain). A character stomps on and kills an insect. Sex/Nudity: None (Two characters hug and kiss romantically at the end of the film). Horror: Mild - Various supernatural elements including ghosts, vampires and a tree with a number of skeletons hanging (in the 'hanged' sense) on its' branches (they appear as 'alive' or undead). A shrunken head is pulled out of a present by a child. Various characters remove their heads bloodlessly (they are unhurt after doing so). Characters scheme about kidnapping Santa Claus and children are menaced by scary-looking toys. There is also a scene where a character (a burlap bag) is revealed to contain millions of insects (which fall out causing him to disappear). The majority of this is presented in a comedic fashion and is only likely to upset younger or more sensitive children. Language: None Drugs/Alcohol: None. Overall: Mild themes. Most of the potentially scary material has a comedic sensibility which will make it fairly accessible to young children. However, scenes including a child revealing shrunken head from a present and the unpredictable nature of the 'Ooogie Boogie' character may cause some discomfort. The violence in the film is minimal although a scene where an insect is stomped on and killed may lead to a discussion about the death of insects and animals.
Teen, 13 years old Written bysoulassassin April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Most BORING film i have ever seen

this has got to be the worste film i have ever seen and thats coming from soming who watches any genre of film and age limit!!!
Kid, 9 years old November 20, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

what this movie going to be about

it was a really good movie if you are reading this just to let you know that i watched twilight breaking dawn part 1 and 2 they are good but to much kissing and other stuff
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old May 5, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Not that scary

I do not know why people say it is scary, for it is not. At one point sally jumps out of the castle to splatter on the ground but her arms and other limbs are stuffed with leaves.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byDominicboo1 March 26, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Tim Burton and Henry Sellick's masterpiece!

This is a very funny and hardly every frightening film. Ok, I was scared of the toys when I was 4 or 5, but I didn't even like the Queen Of Hearts in Alice in Wonderland. With catchy songs and great characters. Though, if you don't want to hear about Santa Claus becoming lunch, see another excellent classic like The Year Without A Santa Claus or Rudolph.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 13, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

wow!! That's creepy!!!!

if you saw the trailer for this movie the last thing u would think about is chriamstmas! It's terribly creepy but at the same time it is a good movie (well atleast somewhat bad)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byKaty0 June 26, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great movie, a bit too much for preschoolers

The story in genius, the characters amazing. Must be watched by anyone over the age of five.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byParker H. February 18, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Not near scary

This movie can be frightening for VERY young children but not for others ages 7 and up

Pages