All member reviews for The Nightmare Before Christmas

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 108 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 14, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
i like the movie. i watched recently and its really good.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byheymonday101 January 12, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A Halloween Masterpiece. Beautiful!

Omg!! My favorite Halloween movie! I love it. Beautiful, witty, quirky, funny, musical, interesting, and just the slightest bit spooky. A masterpiece. You have to get "The Nightmare Revisited" and "The Jack 2 Pack" cds. Love them!!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byKforKitty101 January 3, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

My favorite Disney film!

Tim Burton is a complete genius, nuff said. Disney's best film, with an awesome, handsome main character, great supporting cast, outstanding songs, and a very creative, very exciting, very spooky story. I love this movie a lot. A+.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byhamstergurl09 December 26, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Masterpiece

Disney released this under their "Touchstone Pictures" label because it was considered too scary for kids. But come on, kids love this stuff! I know I did. This is one of the best movies I've ever seen! This is also the most visually appealing movie I think I've ever seen. You could watch it with no sound and still find it interesting. This movie also has a positive message. A must-see.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byocie14 October 29, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

SCARY

Dude, this scared ME and I'm 13! Why does CSM think 7 yr olds can watch it?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old June 16, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

A little creepy and gory from time to time.

A very well done animated flick. I thought Tim Burton did great animation for the time. Its a mixture between bad and good role models.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old April 2, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

might be Tim's best animated flick!

It's a mixture of negative role models and good role models. jack Skellington first turns evil and then soon gets nicer as he sings his song about his sorrow for making Christmas a ruthful holiday. It's a dark film but it's great. Best animated Tim Burton flick.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old February 28, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

great for a 6 yr. old

sort of scary for 5 yrs.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
no highlights but it was a very good movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bymajua February 17, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

good for young ones at hallloween but not to young :)

My dad got me this movie to scare me when i was 3 years old and i wasnt scared at all. I was in amazement for years. This stopmotion animated film was outstanding and groundbreaking at the time. For it was the first full length stopmotion feature. Danny Elfman did the score of this film. Tim Burton is a genuis!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old January 9, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

perfect for everybody

best movie ever not scary at ALL im a total adict
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old December 27, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

On For Ages 8 and Up

One of my favorite movies! A movie fro the whole family on Halloween or Christmas! Jack is a good role model and so is Sally. On for ages 8 and up
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 13, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

wow!! That's creepy!!!!

if you saw the trailer for this movie the last thing u would think about is chriamstmas! It's terribly creepy but at the same time it is a good movie (well atleast somewhat bad)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old December 9, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

fine

just ok fine. But there is plenty of scary images.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old December 5, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great, but a little creepy...

Great! Teens will also like it, mainly because of the creepy characters. This movie is great! But may be scary for younger kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old December 4, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
its a very good movie but little kids might be scared because the bones are alive
Kid, 11 years old November 17, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT

My brothers (4 & 5 years old) LOVE this movie. It's not scar at all.This is probobly their favorite movie. Me and my mom love it too, because it shuts them up, and they sometimes fall asleep!!! In fact, their watching it right now!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 14, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

now its time for halloween

this movie is awsome every day i watch it tim is my favorite director so it has to be good
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old October 21, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byfrancissca October 5, 2009
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

This movie is great i love all of the details and bright and weird colors to look at. Just to let those nightmare before christmas lovers know this movie will be in theaters for 3-D

Pages