All member reviews for The Nightmare Before Christmas

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Tim Burton magic with just a touch of scariness.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 151 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A must see for all ages!

I absolutely love this movie! Tim Burton did a wonderful job on all concepts. I read the adult review that said that Tim Burton did a great job on the claymation, but I watched the bonus feature that shows how it was made, and they are actually puppets! If you have the DVD you should watch the process-it's very interesting! Wonderful movie for everyone!
Teen, 15 years old Written byjake3456 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Very good movie.

Nothing wrong with it. Has a good musical score, also entertaining.
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

One of Tim Burton's Great Achievements!

Wow, this movie is amazing! It's one of my favorite animated movies, without a doubt. It's obvious that lots of work was put into this movie and the end result is incredible- not only is this movie visually stunning with beautiful claymation, the story is clever and brilliantly imaginative. As far as content goes, this movie is probably okay for most kids, but it might be a bit too dark or wierd for them to enjoy. Good for kids 6+
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

.........

It was an O.K. movie. You have to admit it wasn't OMG, but just O.K., it was good I guess. Now lets talk about 3-D effects, LLLLLLLAAAAAAAAAMMMMMMMEEEEEE!!! Nothing popped out at you what-so-ever. Sure its blury when you take off the glass, but when there on it's just like a watching a regular movie.
Teen, 13 years old Written bySweeney_Todd April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

My favorite movie!

This IS NOT a goth movie!! It is a wonderful, beautiful movie with a memorable, perfect score by Danny Elfman (I love all of his work; much better than any pop music) See this movie!
Teen, 16 years old Written byspudsandbeans42 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Overall - Mild content

Violence: Mild - Characters kidnap Santa Claus and force him down a narrow pipe (he survives and is unhurt). Scary-looking toys menace children (the children escape unhurt). A character is shot at whilst flying on a sleigh (he survives). There is an axe permanently wedged in the head of one character for the duration of the film (he does not express any pain). A character stomps on and kills an insect. Sex/Nudity: None (Two characters hug and kiss romantically at the end of the film). Horror: Mild - Various supernatural elements including ghosts, vampires and a tree with a number of skeletons hanging (in the 'hanged' sense) on its' branches (they appear as 'alive' or undead). A shrunken head is pulled out of a present by a child. Various characters remove their heads bloodlessly (they are unhurt after doing so). Characters scheme about kidnapping Santa Claus and children are menaced by scary-looking toys. There is also a scene where a character (a burlap bag) is revealed to contain millions of insects (which fall out causing him to disappear). The majority of this is presented in a comedic fashion and is only likely to upset younger or more sensitive children. Language: None Drugs/Alcohol: None. Overall: Mild themes. Most of the potentially scary material has a comedic sensibility which will make it fairly accessible to young children. However, scenes including a child revealing shrunken head from a present and the unpredictable nature of the 'Ooogie Boogie' character may cause some discomfort. The violence in the film is minimal although a scene where an insect is stomped on and killed may lead to a discussion about the death of insects and animals.
Teen, 13 years old Written bysockette April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bysoulassassin April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Most BORING film i have ever seen

this has got to be the worste film i have ever seen and thats coming from soming who watches any genre of film and age limit!!!
Adult Written bygracem April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

favorite movie ever

Possibly Tim Burton's best movie, period. Wonderful characters, talentedly-written tunes, and an amazing screenplay. This movie is good at any time of year, not just Christmas and Halloween. However, know your kids and their limits: there is a reason this movie has the word "nightmare" in the title. The main setting, Halloween Town, is home to the mythical creatures that children fear the most, and in true Tim Burton style, are created to look eerie.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

one of the best animated movies ever!

i love this movie, it is a masterpeice, it took them hours just to do one scene in the movie. it had brilliant artwork! Also the story line is fun, and exciting. the only downer on this movie is that alot of jack's songs seam not to have much on a tune, bc he talks alot of the words out, otherwise, wonderful movie! Sally is one of the greatest characters in my opinion oh, ps: i turned 12 in sep. why does it still say i am 11?
Teen, 13 years old Written byyankee01 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

a good halloween/christmas movie

a classic with tim burton magic

Pages