All member reviews for The Number 23

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Absurd, dark, and a miscast Jim Carrey. Yuck.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 20 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old January 6, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

dark thriller not for kids

very dark thriller and quite good
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bySanjay407 November 10, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Read

Rated R: Strong Graphic Violence, Sex, Language, and Drinking
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bybradley4846 June 23, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Unrated Review

Very Tense once you get into it, and carrey was great. Sex: A lot of sex scenes in unrated, one breast Violence - not much violence just blood language - a few fwords and minor words
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 7 years old June 10, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO COMEDY

DONT BELIEVE THAT ITS SCARY ITS FUNNYER THEN THE MOVIE LIAR LIAR
Teen, 17 years old Written byXingerLily April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bydeedeegon April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byChris LP April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Good Old Classic Mystery Story

Adult Written byTbtCarina April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great movie!

Thought provoking, exciting, and dark! Take your kids! Why not?
Adult Written byjohnmcclane3 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written by311Psychoward April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Twisted sweet

Well Well where to start....This movie is a diferent twist to any normale movie, boring is about the last word i could use to discribe this movie. Jim Carry did a perfect job( as Always ) in setting the mood for a sane man gone nuts deep into his own mind, in a family course he could never escape no matter how high he jumps from. 311PsYChoBilLy
Adult Written byghjghjkghk April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

LOVED IT

okay, well i had just recently saw this movie and i enjoyed it very much. It has a twist you will NVER SEE COMING! After i left the movie i could not stop counting thinsg that would add up to 23 (you would understand after you have seen the movie). SO GO OUT NOW AND SEE IT!. i telling you.. ur gonna regret it :]
Adult Written byreaper13546 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

it had a great twist at the end and is a very good psycological thriller

Teen, 16 years old Written byshopaholic April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

really weird, not what i was expecting

This movie seemed to go in an entirely different direction than the trailer suggested. It was a little to confusing and overall not very good, especially not for children.
Adult Written bybworley115 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Rated R for a reason

I think its great that Jim Carey is stepping out of his comidien role and trying something else. The mivie is rated R for a reason though people. For thoe f you who thought it was going to be kid friendly just because of an actor you should look at Johnny Depp. He goes from horror, to children's films and back again. There is a reason movies are rated.
Teen, 17 years old Written byinspiration-bg April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Film

I haven't sat in a movie in a long time that actually had decent non predictable plot twists. This is up there w/ prestige. Carrey does a good job with the role this is his One Hour Photo (R. Williams) I found the film enjoyable, great lighting and cinematography. The film was a great brain teaser just enjoyable definitively worth a look into and I'm going to go see it again now.
Teen, 13 years old Written byauggie31 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bydklink94 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

both rated and unrated ones are good.

Sex: R Version isnt bad. like CSM said its like in video games. The UNRATED one had a fairly LARGE amount of Sex. and they last for quite a while sometimes Violence: i didnt notice much of a difference in the violence from the theatrical version to the unrated. Language:the UNRATED has about 5 or 6 more f-words than the Theatrical Cut. Drugs/alchohol: not much in eiter version Comercialism: none. whatsoever. social behavior: in the beginning of the movie all of the characters are normal (whatever that is) in the middle of the movie all of the characters are completely paranoid. 2/3=.666 the world spins on a 23.5 degree axis. 23 and 5=2+3. hitler killed himself april 1945 4+1+9+4+5=23. the hiroshima bomb was dropped at 8.15. 8+15=23. Jesus=64. 64/2=32 (23 backwards.) i LOVEDDDDDDDD both of the versions of this movie. after you see this movie you WILL start finding 23s everywhere. birthdays. execution dates. and lots more. good ending. proves that family can pull you through anything and that you can change yourself from what you were in the past. 14+
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

9 vews

its ko but i think its not good for kids i thnk adults
Adult Written bytommysportsgirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Is there even a point??

This movie wasn't scary. It was just goofy, and my boyfriend and I rolled our eyes through most of it. It made no sense, and the language and sex were pretty bad. I wouldn't see it again.
Teen, 14 years old Written bydirecterdude123 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

not that bad

This movie has a lot of violant killings and alot of people killing themselfs violantly. The language was not bad at all and I think this will be ok for kids 14+