All member reviews for The Passion of the Christ

Kids say

(out of 108 reviews)
age 13+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byperfectionist December 18, 2009
age 13+
 

Extremely violent, scary, and bloody. not for kids under twelve

The best movie about Jesus Christ. It makes you break into tears to see how much Jesus loves us and what he did to save us.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 4, 2012
age 18+
 

Pure Antisemitism

Don't watch this film. It's a rarity for me to give 1 star, but this movie is just insensitive, and just wrong. I'm an atheist, however the way this movie portrays Judaism is awful. The viewers who watch this movie for fun make me sick.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byilovecookiez April 20, 2011
age 14+
 

Very educational, but scary.

This teaches about the past of Jesus Christ. I didn't realize how horrible and painful Jesus's death was until I saw this. This movie will make yew feel proud to be a Christian and so you should:) And roles models.... Jesus is a perfect role model! He teaches to love one another.... even your enemies. This movie looks so real! Like they just went back in time and recorded the whole story!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bySeminolefreak April 17, 2011
age 15+
 

Very powerful message. VERY graphic violence though

My MPAA Rating, R: Intense sequences of graphic bloody brutal violence, and disturbing images
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old August 27, 2009
age 10+
 

Simply amazing

Amazing movie. Jesus is a great role model for all of us. I thought that it was very violent, but gave a very powerful message. From seeing this movie, I got an idea of what it was like on that Good Friday 2,000 years ago.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bykeitt_king February 12, 2015
age 15+
 

TPOTC

The Passion is no doubt an incredible movie that everyone should see, but i saw the film when i was 11 and i am 13 now and i wish that my parents had waited to show this to me. From the beginning to the end the movie is incredibly intense. It is also very authentic, because the whole dialogue is in hebrew with subtitles. Profanity is definitely not a problem with only one "d-mn you" subtitled. however, the violence is not only overwhelmingly common, but painfully real. Jesus' blood runs like a faucet on screen, and the crucifying scene is terrifyingly realistic. It is an incredible film that you will never forget, but be warned parents and kids, only mature 13 year olds and up should be shown this movie, and maybe not even them. So, if you are looking for an authentic Jesus film, this is great choice, but just remember that it is rated R for a reason.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byjackiie03 January 16, 2011
age 9+
 

Best movie for all ages to watch

Some parents may say that this movie is inappropriate for children because a lot of it is "horrifying" to watch, but I would definitely let my son watch this movie at any age. This movie is the story of our Savior Jesus Christ, this movie is nothing compared to what actually happened to him. The true story of Jesus is far more horrifying to watch than this. The movie teaches everyone of all ages about what happened to our Lord and it helps them develop a stronger love and devotion towards him. I recommend this movie to absolutely everybody.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 18, 2010
age 2+
 

JESUS IS THE WAY THE TRUTH AND THE LIFE NO ONE COMES THROUGH THE FATHER EXCEPT THROUGH HIM

JESUS DIED for us ok this movie shows what He went though for us ok He died for our sins and if He hadent you and i would have to go through worse then what He went through so belive in Jesus the author and perfecter of our faith. HE CAME FROM HEAVEN TO EARTH TO SHOW THE WAY FROM THE EARTH TO THE CROSS OUR DEBT TO PAY FROM THE CROSS TO THE GRAVE FROM THE GRAVE TO THE SKY LORD I LIFT YOUR NAME ON HIGH
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byGO CUBS GO May 28, 2010
age 12+
 

JESUS ROCKS

pretty violent movie. Jesus gets uber tortured phsically and mentally. a kid can take it though, its not that bad, just sad that that happened to someone who did nothing wrong at all
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old March 30, 2015
age 17+
 

Too violent.

Jesus is beaten and whipped for almost 30 minutes. This part is very bloody. He is also nailed to the cross disturbingly. Somebody's eyes got plucked out after yelling at Jesus. One of Jesus's followers is cursed by a devil taunting him.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byJoe Blow November 21, 2011
age 11+
 

Awesome movie!

This was a great, but very gory and bloody, movie. No profanity at all. Exept when Peter says:"d-mn" in hebrew language once.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byJesusLuvsYew May 4, 2011
age 17+
 

Love love love love love love love love this!

I LOVE THIS!!! Makes me proud to be a Christian! This should get 1,000,000/5 stars ;) This violence did disturb me though. But I don't care. All I care about is the fact that this is Christian. I agree completely with ilovecookiez.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byTbadman March 10, 2011
age 15+
 

Well staged but harsh depiction of the death of Jesus

A visually impressive and emotionally rooted telling of the crucifixtion of Jesus. doesnt really pull any punches the violence is graphic and brutal,but not really extreme or over the top. The torture is harsh yet very realistic and give us some idea into why many people view this incident as a major event. The performances are really good,especially Caviezal as Jesus. Granted I would have liked to have seen more of him interacting with people or due some of the others things Jesus was fameous for,instead of focusing only on his agony,its touching but I wanted to see more of the quiet,small moments. but overall this is a great film but is not really appropriate for people younger than 16
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byTrinity3 March 22, 2009
age 17+
 

People need to understand b4 seeing...

people who wanna watch this movie need to understand why it was filmed. it wasnt filmed for cool graphics or to show horrifying gruesome violence like in your average horror film. This movie was designed to show people just how much Jesus loves us--He would die a horrible death of pain and torture. But the violence in this movie is extreme. He did this so we wouldnt have to. So obviously this movie is for the mature teen that understands what its all about. And the violence really should bother people to think that this did really happen to Jesus just so that we could go to Heaven due to the perfect sacrifice provided to us thru Jesus.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 17, 2015
age 18+
 

Bloody and gory

My aunt asked me if i wanted to go see this movie. i asked her how gruesome stuff got she said"bloody violent very bad"!!! first of all what was disturbing is that the man got his eye ripped out by a bird! and then jesus is whipped and u hear his skin tearing!!! how gruesome is that parents!!! way too much i rate it XR-strongly cautioned for parents: Pervasive bloody gory strong intense crucifixion violence, mild language disturbing themes throughout brief nudity cruel strong torture and scary action
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old May 19, 2015
age 8+
 

You would cry a lot after this movie, but extremly brutal and a bit scary.

The brutal scenes in this movie are a LOT. You could already see how Jesus was crucified. Overall, good movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old January 24, 2015
age 14+
 

Teens, Cover Your Eyes!

This is for Christians only! It's according to the bible and is super freaky to look at. I wished I watched it cuddling with my dad or Olaf snowman. I covered my eyes for nails being pierced through is hands and feet. It is the best movie I've ever watched, the scariest, and the most emotional for Christians. I love you Jesus!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old September 28, 2014
age 15+
 

Good But Scary And Emotional

This movie is very violent. Jesus is whipped and beaten really bad. There is one or cuss words in it, but that is not why it is rated R. This movie is also Very Scary. Satan Scared me Every time he was in the scene.
Teen, 17 years old Written byRustyShackleford July 29, 2014
age 18+
 

Shameful, and anti-Semitic

As an athiest, I think that Martin Scorsese's The Last Temptation of Christ is an excellent film. It portrays Jesus, played masterfully by Willem Dafoe, as a real person, with flaws and doubts, much like a real human would likely have; and when it finally reaches the torture and crucifixion, it has an emotional impact, whether you believe in it or not. Mel Gibson's The Passion of the Christ is the absolute antithesis of The Last Temptation. It's portrayal of the torture is downright pornographic, and I can only imagine that Gibson is delighted at the sight of an almost naked man writhing around in blood, especially when that image can be used to reinforce his scathing antisemitism. There is a scene of a jewish man grubbing on the floor over money. I am not fond of using the term "torture porn" but this movie fits that description perfectly. The violence is voyeuristic, the shots are prolonged and seem to encourage the audience to take pride in the violence. I am not opposed to violence in film when it is used to serve a purpose, and is not gratuitous, but this film is everything I hate about violence in movies. If this film made you feel proud, you should feel shame.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old June 10, 2014
age 15+
 

15+

This was a great movie but not a good idea to watch it under 15 years old. There was a VERY lot of blood and gore.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence

Pages