All member reviews for The Princess Bride

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 92 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byMissE1000 March 30, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Inconceivable!

Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare for one of THE BEST MOVIES OF ALL TIME!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bykatybugp April 16, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesome movie for 10 and up!

I LOVE this movie, but the b-word and the blood from both Indigo and Wesley's wounds make it good for 10 and up. Every one should see it, but use your own judgement about when your child should see it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old April 7, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

love it!!!!!!

This is one of my favorite movies!!!!!!!!
Teen, 17 years old Written byjohnthemon February 25, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

One of my absolute favorites

When I think of my all time favorite movies, this is always near the top of the list. Probably the best script ever written. Most of it will go over young children's heads, but the smart ones will love it.
Kid, 11 years old March 16, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good for Kids.

I thought this movie was really good. There is a lot of violence, killing and gruesome things. Other than that it is fine. One b-word.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old August 1, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

wow romance

i love this movie it's romantic,funny,and adventurous.i recommend this movie to people who have seen lots of romantic movies.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 3, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

A Swashbuckling Adventure for Kids

I originally thought this movie was going to be horrible, but my Dad then told me it was one of the best movies of all time. I then forced myself to sit through it, and to be honest, it was OK! The fight scenes were choreographed just right, and the dialogue was exceptional! It is truthfully a film worth seeing once, but it is up to you if you want to see it again.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byibarncat November 18, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Unfunny, overly silly fairy tale parody for people with a bad sense of humour.

Seriously, this is a horrible film, and having to watch it in English class was a nostalgia-destroying experience. It is not funny, it is annoying, and the actors all do a horrible job. The story is also unbelieveably sappy. If it is trying to be a funny parody of romance stories (the Mideaveal tales kind, not the Russian novel kind), then it is doing a horrible job. I suppose some people might find it somewhat amusing, but I personally find this film really bad.
Kid, 12 years old May 4, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Amazing family movie, but i would watch it before your kids depending on how much violence they can take

Unless your kids get really scared during blood or scary animals, this movie is a perfect movie. My brother, sister, and i love to watch it on road trips. this movie is a hilarious classic that is easy to quote, fun to act out, and a great family movie (trust me... i've done all of those things-and yes, i do love "princess bride" THAT much)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Great Movie!

The Princess Bride is a classic fairy tale that every single family should definitely see. There is some violence and one character says 'son of a b-tch' to another, but besides that it is appropriate for all families. Good for kids 9+
Kid, 9 years old September 9, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

One of the Greatest Movies on Earth

True love. Miracles. Chases. Escapes. Revenge. Adventure. The Princess Bride is a lot of things. And one of those things is great. Little kids might not handle the stuff that's in the movie. My name is bookiereviewer42.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byAsh2o13 July 2, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

NAH

ITS NOT THE BEST MOVIE IVE SEEN
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byedshu33 August 18, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

The Princess Bride

Inigo says SOB twice, there's a little bit of violence. The kissing scenes are not raunchy. The drinking references are limited. Some of the good guys have questionable motives, but overall they are all definite heroes. The villains, such as Wally Shawn, are awful role models, but then again, they're not supposed to be good role models, they're villains. Only Christians would be offended at the part where the kid says "Jesus Christ", they don't have the right to inflict their definition of profane on everyone else. This film will open the doors of imagination for young children, and the simplicity of the story makes it easier to comprehend. Also, this film is an excellent production, a classic.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bymngirl June 22, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was FABULOUS!!! The best movie ever created!!!!! I adored it!!! Not only was it hilarious, it had a positive message too! Besides getting revenge. They rated correct- it deserves five stars. My favorite line is, "My name is Inigo Montoya, you killed my father, prepare to die!" And... "Think it'll work?" "It'd take a miracle." "Mawwwwwariage, mawwwwwwagriage is what brings us together today." I loved this movie! It was funny, I laughed (a lot) I cried, it moved me Bob. Ha ha! This movie was epic. Good luck trying to find a better movie than this! My favorite character is WESTLY!!! It's such a good movie!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bysuperq4898 June 21, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Depends on the Kid.

I loved this movie! There are some badish words.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old January 29, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

good for kids 9 and up

Yeah, I think language should be an issue because Inigo Montoya says "you son of a bi*ch". But overall, the movie was HILARIOUS and good.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byMacey08 November 18, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Funny and adorable

I love this movie!! Old, but a classic. There is one scary scene with a torture machine and another with a giant rat. But the other violence is alright. This movie has some great lines and is sooo funny! My mum and uncle love to quote bits of this to each other. Nice story of true love and planning...
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old May 16, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Way too scary

I will say -- I get scared easily by movies. But I think that this movie has too much violence. Bad people put a good man into a torture machine, the princess is planning to commit suicide, a man sticks a knife into another's stomach… This movie gave me nightmares for a while after I saw it. Not a bad movie, unless you're too young when you watch it, and then it's just awful.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byxgamerbrox April 24, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

The Princess Bride

This movie is one of my favorites! Its not to violent and its great! Barely to little sex, a man makes a comment about a princess's breasts (will go over kids heads) the swearing is very mild! Jesus's name is misused once briefly... Son of a b!tch used once. I would say WITH PARENTS a six year old could watch it. Keep in mind its rated PG
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old March 23, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex

Pages