All member reviews for The Princess Diaries

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 43 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old September 28, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

4+

I love this movie and so does my mom. It's HILARIOUS!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 4, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Girl Power

I love it!! This is a movie that really always leaves you with a good message. Although, I do think this would be better off rated PG, this movie really is pushing the G rating, I think there is a LOT of french kissing and teenage anst/flirting for a G movie. I don't think it's something I'd want a 3 year old to see.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old August 8, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good for ages 6 and up.

This movie is awesome except there is a little bit too much mushy kissing and there is a part where people are trying to get a picture of Mia naked.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 7 years old November 18, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Not for young kids

Teenage behaviors include negative role models treating peers poorly including (verbal) bullying throughout the film.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byBlueDragonMaster98 June 6, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

It's fun

It's fun, but that's about it. The sex-related thoughts mentioned in the comments are suffice.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old January 25, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Movie for kids books for teens

Great movie! Okay for kids except the kissing.Books are a big no though.The books are for 11-12+
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written by96grlpowrCE July 15, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Nice movie, but the books are the best.

I haven't seen the movie in quite awhile, but I'm familiar with the books. This is a good movie to see if you don't plan on reading the books, but if you've read the books, you'll probably get upset with the little details. They changed characters like Lars and Boris, who were funny enough already, they removed characters like Tina. The characters Lilly and Michael seem to be more toned down in the movie than in the books. But 'toned down' would be an understatement for Grandmere. Grandmere is totally mean, and was even described as 'scary' in the books. But she's less so in the movie. They also cut a funny side plot from the book about Mia's mom and Mia's algebra teacher being in a relationship. They even killed off Mia's dad. The movie isn't bad at all, don't get me wrong, but you should definitely read the books first if you can.
Kid, 12 years old July 7, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A film for Little Princesses

Princess Dairies is a Movie based being true to yourself and how important it is to honor your self. It is a lovely movie though there seems to be a bit more of kissing then there should be in aG-rated movie plus they tried to take a picture of Mia as she was naked but not too much problems. It is a wonderful movie made for all little princesses.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old January 5, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Surprising rating!

I was surprised to see that this movie was rated G when I finished watching this movie. Actually there was a good amount of kissing which is usually in PG movies. But otherwise this movie was pretty good. I love the whole "Queen of England" theme! Very cool! I would say thought this movie would be best for about 9 year olds and some 8 year olds.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byKaty0 June 12, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Worth a look

Not a bad movie, but gets a bit too caught up in drama. Nevertheless, there are strong characters and good messages.
Kid, 12 years old March 20, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Funny kid friendly romantic comedy has some kisses

Mia French kisses the boy!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bymoviefanatic88 February 13, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great sleepover movie! - Classic

I have been watching this movie since 2008 when it came out! I have loved it ever since. I've watched it at a ton of sleepovers, and the series is really cute and will be a really fun chick-flick for girls. Totally appropriate, no sexual content except for a kiss at the end, but it isn't inappropriate or gross like some can be. Overall, great pick, one the kids are sure to love!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byMoviegirl100 December 30, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Surprisingly good

As a 13yo, I thought I was a bit too old for this sort of thing. I couldn't have been more wrong. I watched this at a sleepover with some friends and couldn't wait to see the sequel
Teen, 15 years old Written bysh14 November 28, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

It a really good movie!!!

Well princess diary is a really good movie to watch for the kids up 7 or 8. and I'm sure that kids at that age are going to love it. it does have some kisses but if your a parent that doesn't really care about kiss or stuff then its okay. no offense!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old August 27, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

stiil good

im 9 i still love this movie ;)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byanmole August 2, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

good

What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byNarwhalLover13 June 16, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Two Thumbs Up

I thought it was really good because the princess started out like a nobody then got a makeover that turned her into a beautiful princess. Really awesome movie for girls!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old August 17, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

The Princess Diaries

This film sends out a great message that being perfect is an impossible goal to reach.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 26, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Cute, but really?

This movie is one of my favorites, but is slightly suggestive, and should not be watched by children under age 10.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byAbe1998 February 10, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

GREAT MOVIE!!! A movie that is totally ok for families.

Such a good family movie! One of the only clean comedies of this age. Some kissing, but that's it. It is SO FUNNY!!!! You have to see it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages