All member reviews for The Pursuit of Happyness

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 18 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old August 13, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Based on a True Story

It is good and Will Smith is a great actor! So is his son.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byboredgrl November 13, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Very moving, and extremely sad until the end

This movie really made me cry! It was very touching and movie, with some mild profanity. It also teaches people a lesson on how fortunate they really are, and you should appreciate what you have.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymegan094eva June 27, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Kept me reaching for the tissues...

I love this film, it is really good but really sad. There is one use of f***, and a couple of uses of other language that your average parent would not want their child using but it is still really good.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byJewel♥ July 8, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
This movie makes me cry. I love it! It shows that anything is possible if you put you're mind into it and work hard.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bycommonsenseisme June 16, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

must see

this was a great movie i even criedlean besides th language
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old February 14, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

It Was Okay.

This was definitely a tear jerker for emotional people. It was pretty pointless with the f word on the wall. The sad thing is is that the movie is based on a true story. It was okay. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great.
Teen, 14 years old Written bymiddleschoolman June 29, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
It shows that if you try you will overcome your jouney but the thin is that it is a sad movie with lots of pressure it shows life in a bad way also
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byzerealevilcelery June 25, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

I love Will Smith.

It's a good movie. Sad, uplifting, but not true to life. It may be based on a true story, but it isn't close to what really happened.
Teen, 13 years old Written bySkullie June 29, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

e.g. Perfect for older kids, but not for tweens

I enjoyed this movie. It followed the true hard story of a real man. I also liked how Will Smith was cased as the role. They need to make more movies like this in my opion, it grabbes me in and takes me for a ride in my own home.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old January 1, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
very inspiring and sometimmes sad
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 30, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Good movie!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old June 20, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Best Movie Ever, even for 12 year olds.

Ok. There is a little bad language, but this is an amazing movie that portrays life at it's low. The characters in this movie struggle to survive, but they perservere. This is probably the best movie I've ever seen; and I'm only 12!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old October 24, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
I bet they gave this movie twelve and up 'cause of the great messages. I personally think its not too bad since the grafitti only says 'fuc-' and you can only see some of the K. When the little kid says the F-word, you can't really understand it. Some kids may find living homeless disturbing, but my six year old sister watched this and she was fine with it (she just had a hard time understanding the story... but what the heck, she's six!). Very good movie, I reccomend it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bydrummerkid94 June 22, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old August 26, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Sad. Just sad...

I watched this at 8 years old, I understood the story and I cried.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bybkid August 15, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old June 26, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

e.g. Perfect for older kids, but not for tweens

great movie.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byMr581 April 20, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
This should be pg
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bygriff208 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Show

One of the best shows of the year
Teen, 16 years old Written byjustmadethisupok April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Fantastic movie

I think everyone would learn a great lesson from this movie. I think this movie can be seen by people 9+ because it won't give them bad influences on anything except to achieve a goal. The only problem is getting the kid to understand the movie.

Pages