All member reviews for The Reaping

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Violent thriller has dark religious themes.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 12 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written byPlague January 8, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Reaping

Good movie. I wouldnt give it 5 stars, but it kept the tension high and the horror coming.
Adult Written byDexterSmith April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Violent, scary movie is only suitable for mature teens and adults

My 11-year-old child was so scared of this movie, that he ran out of the theatre in tears. It is very violent and scary. No one under the age of 16 should see this movie.
Teen, 13 years old Written bymistermeaner77 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bymicel02 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
tv needs cleaning up trash is filling the airwaves
Adult Written bymovie master February 22, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
i think everything in the movie was great
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byVivian_L August 4, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not extremely scary for older teens~

This is another horror movie I saw after 12 midnight, and that might have affected how scary it was. (meaning I might have been too tired to think it was scary) I actually remember laughing when it started raining frogs. :3 I've definitely seen better and scarier horror movies, but I don't doubt many people found it scary. (I saw this when I was 13 I think)
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Reaping is a decent horror movie, but it should be PG-13...

Why the MPAA made this R is beyond me... it's the basic teen horror, yet better. Hilary Swank is (as usual) fantastic, and this movie really makes you think (as crazy as that sounds.) Go see this movie if you're a middle schooler and up and enjoy like I did!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Not too shabby!

"The Reaping" was very biblical, violent, scary, and kinda iffy when it came to sexual stuff. It wasn't too bad, as long as you can stand to see a little girl (Annasophia Robb) be totured and alienated throughout the film, see horrific images of the main character's (Hilary Swank) trip as a missionary to Sudan, see quick rape-ish scenes, and see other violent, scary images through the entire movie. I liked it, even though I hid my eyes alot. And the ending was GREAT.
Adult Written bythecaliforniabug April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Not that bad, I say

A lot of critics probably think this movie sucks, but I thought it was one of Swank's more memorable performances. The story was actually quite good, if you look at it closely enough. Our heroine has to look deep inside to find the strength to do this kind of battle. I will admit, it runs just a little bit long but other than that, it was pretty easy to look at for the most part.
Adult Written bybaybiee06 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Ver y Intresting::)

This was a really great movie. It`s the kind of movie you haft to be patient and wait for things to fall into place. It`s totally worth it though.
Adult Written bytommysportsgirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

not a bad horror film

It had a few jumpy moments and a few screams. It wasn't a bad movie overall. I heard the f-word once, and I thought the "rape" scene was just a sex scene- I couldn't tell she was being raped!! It looked like she was enjoying it. Weird....
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

good

i liked this kovie. the end was a little confusin but whatever.