All member reviews for The Ruins

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Tourists vs. flesh-eating vines; guess who wins?

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 15 reviews)
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old August 28, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

OK movie.

I would of rated off for 16 and under if there were no sexual content. Very grusome and bloody. Alot of language and sexual content. Mild drinking.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byTXSnoot April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Don't Waste Your Time, and certainly not for kids!

Don't Waste Your Time, and certainly not for kids!
Adult Written bywonder dove November 23, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Disturbingly terrifying!

The Ruins is one of those very different, extremely gory and terrifying horror films that is perfect for true horror buffs. This was awesome! I know some who love it, I know some who hate it. It centers around American couples Amy (Jena Malone) and Jeff (Jonathan Tucker) and Amy's best friend Stacy (Laura Ramsey) and her boyfriend Eric (Shawn Ashmore) who are enjoying their time at the beach in Mexico when they meet a kind German guy Mathias (Joe Anderson) who offers to take them to see a remote Aztec Temple in the middle of the jungle. As interesting as it sounds, they of course accept it. However, things turn into terror as soon as they arrive when they come across a heard of armed villagers who cannot understand English and seem to only want to kill those who trespass. The friends are then stranded on the temple full of vines and a deep underground cave where sounds of a cell phone is mysteriously heard, however they know it's next to impossible that a cell phone would work underground but their suspicion gets the best of them. After Mathias falls down it and breaks his leg, the girls must embark on a journey down under to find the cell phone as it's their only hope when they actually discover that the creepy vines that surround them are alive...and evil. Can they escape the ruins before they're all devoured? The language is strong from everything to f-words and sh*t to @ss and hell. Violence is BRUTAL and extremely strong, gory and bloody with a graphic gunshot to the face, graphic use of bow & arrows and knives. A man falls down a cave and breaks his back and leg, his pain is intense. A child is shot in front of everyone. A man who's leg is decaying has to get it chopped off with a knife (very explicit and gory), lots of screaming and yelling, lots of arguing. Vines laugh, repeat people's words and eat at human flesh. A woman has vines growing inside her body and has them cut out of her resulting in extreme blood and gore. Same woman starts to cut more vines out of herself realizing it's impossible and that she's going to die. Vines eat away a body that has just died. A man gets stabbed in the chest. Vines force their way down a mans throat and he chokes to death. A rotten, decayed woman's corps is found wrapped in vines (showing she was struggling to get out at one point). A woman is chased by villagers. Scenes are sad and very frightening. Sexual content includes a bet resulting in oral sex happens between a couple, you see her straddle him on a bed but the scene then cuts. Men and women seen in swimwear. Women wear slightly suggestive clothing. A drunk woman tries to seduce a man she just met but fails. A woman accuses her boyfriend of sleeping with her best friend because of moaning sounds she heard (which is not the case), a woman gives her boyfriend a hand-job under a sleeping bag so nothing is shown but is obvious. Some crude sexual jokes throughout. There is a rowdy scene of alcohol drinking and alcohol later used to ease a mans pain. Overall, incredible acting & great film for only strong stomachs. 18+ ONLY.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 January 30, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Urghhhhh"...............

Awww sh*t.I just wasted 2 hours of my life I won't be getting back anytime soon watching this with my dad at the movies yesterday.Extremely brutal and graphic.For those of you who want to know if this is a cannibal movie,no.This is no Cannibal Holocaust ,definitely NO Cannibal Ferox(both of which I regret watching.)A guy gets his leg tangled in vines and has to saw it off in huge amounts of resultant blood,we see flesh,muscle,bone and tendos. INCREDIBLY GRAPHIC.This was only to give you a brief description.It looks real worse out there on the screen,let me promise you.Stay 100 miles away from this if you can't handle gore.*regrets letting 10 year old brother watch.*Uhhh,by the way if anyone knows an unrated or uncut version of this coming out on DVD,please tell me.Gonna watch it with my dad just to see of there's any differences from the theatrical version.
Teen, 17 years old Written byJnic April 22, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Regret Watching It

I have regretted watching this film ever since I saw it two years ago. Definitely not a smart pick for viewers who are relatively new to the horror genre. Experiencing this as my first R-rated film, I know this movie seriously upset me and I would never chose to see it again. Extremely violent, graphic, gory and disturbing. There is also a significant amount of sex related material, including male and female nudity. Unless you are already very desensitized and get a thrill out of chilling terror and intense gore, I would not recommend this movie to anybody.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bySACYUC October 21, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Bad

Pretty bad, the sex ruined the movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byWVMSWOLF March 2, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
This was one to the sickest movies I seen but if your into that kind of stuff then go for it !
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old January 7, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Perfect for adults

very bloody movie: NOT FOR KIDS
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old December 9, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 10 year old Written byYOUTUBEYAY July 29, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

DONT WATCH IT

well, the vines eating people sounds cool (i love canniballism) and porn is cool, but GORE? EEEKKK!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bymattthemovieman June 23, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

stupid stupid stupid

its like the director just made indiana jones spring break gone horibly rong
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 7 years old April 19, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

ugli scary movie

too scary
Teen, 14 years old Written bynickthedude1313 February 12, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

My Mom took me to see it on my 14th b-day

After I watched it I knew it was something a little out of my age level, and I also think this isn't worth watching again. But it does make you jump at some points
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

The ruins is a very scary picture but definitely not for children.

Honestly if your kids haven't seen any R rated material this is not age appropriate. The violence is a major issue. Two people have to break a guy's leg off with a rock and burn the skin with cooking oil. A girl cuts herself. There is more graphic violence. The sexual content is very iffy. I didn't say it was off because it's not the worst I've seen but still there is some nudity that's partially explicit and some sexual references. The language is a big issue. There's like 20 something f words and its derivatives, anatomical terms, scatological terms, religious exclamations and profanities. Overall not for the kids.
Adult Written bymeowski April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

It was ok.

This was an okay movie, alot of gore and violence though. I would say it is definately not for children under 17.