All member reviews for The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Inspiring seize-the-day tale with some peril and flirting.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 63 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old July 21, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Walter Mitty review

IT might be complicated for kids about what Walter is trying to do but it is a good family, feel good movie and some langauge.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old July 10, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

THE SECRET LIFE OF WATER MITTY REVIEW!

it's a very good family fun movie. may course some swearing like s--t, ass, and d--k. no graphic violence or no sex. there is one scary, a little bit violent shark scene that may scare or disturb younger viewers. NINE YEARS AND UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! but the secret life of walter mitty is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO amazing.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlake_Slaughter May 27, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Ridiculous and boring

This is such an odd movie... there's not much more to say. It's just ridiculous!
Kid, 8 years old May 22, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

he is soo advantris

he almost got eaten by a shark and almost drowned
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byJeremyNaimanSpike May 11, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty is a very inspiring movie for everyone with great positive messages. There are only a few scenes of violence (all comical) and some suggestive references. Also there is some bad language, but otherwise, it is clean.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bysalagol May 1, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good, good message.

What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 10, 12, and 15 year old Written byFrobie April 29, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Family Friendly

This film is kid-friendly for the most part. Kids under the age of 10 will not understand or appreciate the meaning of the movie. It has a great message of never give up on your dreams, always persevere, even in the face of adversity. Very little references to sex, no graphic violence, language is mild.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old April 27, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Nice

This was a great movie. It was funny and heartwarming. Ben Stiller outdone himself.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old April 26, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great!!!!!!

Love it! Who cares about the first movie? This is one, and it's a great one! I love Life magazine, and this does too! Also, though there is WAY more language than an average PG movie. I love this movie nonetheless!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old April 8, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Best Movie Ever

think this movie is wonderful... you can barely hear one of the swear words and the other one I didn't even know was there until this website said. it gives a great inspirational message to be adventurous. Some of it might be confusing for younger kids though. It is a hilarious movie and is fun for the whole family. Hope this helps!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old March 4, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Very good movie,with dangerous peril, innuendo, and strongest word being "d--ck".

Kid, 10 years old January 12, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

just fine. Has confusing storyline

I thought this movie was weird and could be a little confusing to some younger viewers(6,7,8 years old.) their is some sexual references but nothing seen. some strong language for PG. Overall I didn't think this movie was great but just fine and good family movie for most but not for some younger viewers.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Adult Written byJEDI micah January 11, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A "feel-good" movie with great special effects!

I normally don't see these kinds of movies in theaters. But this one, is definitely not what I expected (in a positive way)! It's actually a good movie, with some surprising special effects and great cinematography! Ben Stiller does a good job playing the awkward Walter Mitty who's amusing to see having conversations with others, just like his other movies ("cough cough, Night At The Museum"). Anyway, see this movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 13 and 16 year old Written byadshansel January 10, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great family film

Loved this movie. A little slow at first and you have to pay attention, but it was great in so many ways!
Kid, 10 years old January 7, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good and unique

I think Mitty is a great film! While a little confusing at times, Ben stiller manages to keep comedy in this funny, and hilariously odd movie
Teen, 14 years old Written byeschmu January 7, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A good movie for the family

I went to see this movie with my parents and my 2 younger brothers 11 and 9. I thought this movie had a great message to it and it was a really good movie. There is some swearing like hell and s**t and a bit . He goes on adventures all over the wold which makes it fun and interesting.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bykrissylou January 4, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Loved it!!!!!

Loved this movie!!!!! It was inspiring and funny! Probably ok for kids 11+ One bad word and a bit of drinking but not too much. A must see for teens and adults!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old January 4, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good Movie

It was good! There is a scene when two men fight quite violently but nothing you can't handle! There is some mild sexual remarks and dating sites but hardly any! There is only two swear words - s**t and d**k but still swearing in it! The reason I said nine and up was because anyone younger might find it a bit boring!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySadieDaisy138 January 3, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great movie!

This movie is beautiful, with wonderful scenery. It teaches you that if you don't believe in yourself, you'll never do anything. There is light violence like Mitty swimming with sharks, but there's never any blood. There are many brand names, and there is one scene in a bar. Overall, it is a brilliantly made movie and I will totally be watching it again.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byDan G. January 3, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

OK for mature teens, won't interest anyone younger

This movie does contain profanity and crude language, there is a fantasy scene that is very violent, and some brief sexual references. The movie jumps around a lot, and seems to try to be every movie to everyone. Even though it stars Ben Stiller, it is very much unlike most, if not all, of his other movies, and likely will not interest any children except for mature teens that are interested in a mature themed movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages