All member reviews for The Shaggy Dog (2006)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Silly remake will entertain grade schoolers.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 19 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byMort555 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Good children's movie, Bad for everyone else

I recently watched the Shaggy Dog and I am kind of disappointed. I have always been a fan of Tim Allen. In my opinion this movie is perfect for younger children and their parents to watch together. The movie isn't as intereting for older children. If you are over the age of 13 you probably won't like this movie. Overall a great movie for children and an average movie for everyone else.
Teen, 13 years old Written byEric Paul September 25, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Exempt for the kissing scene

best for kids
Kid, 12 years old August 8, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

00

Ewww, the picture on the cover is freaky!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byTotally500 August 7, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

BOWBOW

really funny
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byMr Common Sense April 11, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

WARNING! Potential for suicide! Damage to brain cells!

The only violence in this film is the violence you do to your little brother for recommending it to you. This movie is so GODAWFUL! I'd rather be stabbed to death, set on fire, drowned in lava, shot to pieces, eaten by crocodiles, crushed under 10 tons of crisp packets and then tossed into an erupting volcano without a parachute. My brother recommended this to me. He won't live to regret it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 9 and 11 year old Written byJojano March 3, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Even better when edited for The Hallmark Channel

We saw this edited on The Hallmark Channel from a PG to a G rating...so so cute for the whole family. Not sure what was cut out to make it a G but it was perfect for my family. Both my kids (11 yr old boy and 9 yr old girl) cackled at this movie. My husband and I even giggled at parts. I just love a movie that I can sit down and watch with my kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 13 year old Written byDr. Weird September 12, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Worst.

The worst
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 9 year old Written byamurry1395 March 8, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

I luaghed!

All my family cares if I get a new movie.
Teen, 14 years old Written bymkalv March 5, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Funny.

When my sister rented this film, I was annoyed because most dog movies are sappy or slow-paced. This one was funny. Tim Allen is a great actor, and the dog is cute. Reccomended.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Okay but kind of boring

That is all I have to say
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovieFreak101 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

New and Interesting

Tim Allen turns INTO A DOG! This story about a man who is never home sees his self in a dog's point of view. Animal testing was occurring and he will do his best to stop it.you should watch this man change his life arnd!
Adult Written bytredmer April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

a great disney movie

Finally, a really good silly funny kids movie, with out the sarcastic, mouthy, disrespctful kids. Being a dog owner I found this movie to be extremely funny. My 9 year olds loved it too. A great family movie. Good values and messeges. Bad guys go to jail, the good guys win and the dad learns a real lesson about the importance of family. I wish disney would make more movies like this. See it and enjoy!
Teen, 14 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

PG? Why wasn't this G! I know because they want older people to see it!

Teen, 13 years old Written bymr.scribble April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byHannah1213 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Family Movie

This movie was really good. A great family thriller. For the nudity part it doesn't show anything "special". It sort of reminded me of Beetoven. It was areally great movie and if you haven't seen it yet you should.
Adult Written byrussell-benoit April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

We were going to watch 20 minutes; there went bedtime!

We really were only going to watch a few minutes, and next thing we knew we were glued to what came next. Funny story, plenty for 8-10 year old boys to laugh at, and yet the central importance of family comes clear.
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I laughed!

Entertaining! We laughed the whole way through! Good Laugh Movie + A good dog movie! A must see movie!
Adult Written bytommysportsgirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY