All member reviews for The Sound of Music

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 44 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old April 21, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Excellent ??????????

I love this awesome calssic! The music is beautiful and moving, and the plot is cute, and actually true. Julie Andrews has an amazing voice and the children are adorable! I really reccomned it!
Kid, 12 years old April 11, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Wonderful movie with wonderful theme and wonderful music.

Wonderful movie! Maria is a musical, virtuous, loving, brave, honest, and perfect.. Captain Vonn Trapp is a good man at heart although at first he makes his children live as if they were in the army. It demonstrates courage and the might to do what you want if you think you are right. This is a lovely movie with wonderful, soothing music.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old April 2, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Beautiful, my favorite movie!!!

This is a beautiful movie! I've loved it ever since I can remember! I've always hoped that my school could do this movie as a play and that I could play Maria. Julie Andrews is one of my favorite actors and singers! I wish I could sing like her! It's her best movie! My favorite scenes are when they Von Trapps are hiding in the abbey and the opening scene. I like the tension when the Nazis look for the family. Plus I love how well the family handles their fear and shows so much bravery, even little Gretel. And the opening scene is breathtaking! Julie Andrews sings beautifully in that scene (well she always sings beautifully). I saw the movie over at Tuacaun and it was amazing! Plus I love that this movie is based off of a real family's expereance. I'd love to read the book someday! This movie is amazing!!! I love it!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byhiyaaaa August 20, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

good for kids ages 6+; some tweens may like it others may not

love this movie.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bySoftballlover August 6, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Perfect!!:)

I really liked the movie. And I love the movie! And if you really like the movie, you should see the plays. They are really excellent.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 1, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Yodel ay, Yodel ay, Yodel ay ee oo!

This movie is da bomb! I saw it when I was really little and have been watching it ever since! One scene I always liked was when the did "The Lonely Goatherd" puppet song thingy...I still like it 11 years later. The ending with them hiding in the abbey (however you spell it) might be kinda scary for young kidlings, but overall that a remarkable movie!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 15, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

perfect

IT'S GOOD FOR ANY AGES!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byshanno15 April 25, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

good

very long movie, musical will keep you entertained but you can get bored after awhile
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 27, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Perfect for anyone! I loved it!

This is one GREAT movie! I loved it so much! Julie Andrews is one of the best actress/singer I'v ever known. She really is good! This movie is kind of and adventure/romance. It's perfect.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 6 years old January 25, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

good music

SUPER! Good music, good actors, good scenery.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestPicture1996 November 29, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Outstanding classic

Although it's not the manliest thing to admit you saw "Sound of Music" and enjoyed it, hey...I enjoyed it. Not for young kids at all, ages 10+ is good. The whole Nazi plot is way too much for a child to handle, but the music just made you feel good.
Kid, 9 years old October 4, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A Fantastic Movie!

Hi, I'm ten years old and I think this film is a great! Based on a true story Julie Andrews and Christopher Plummer make the story come alive as a musical! At the end there is a part younger children may not like {when they hide from the Nazis guard but they do get away} in all a movie to see over and over again.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old September 27, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

The Hills Are Alive!!

I love this movie. There is absoloutley NOTHING bad about this movie. I mean, it's a musical romance with lots of family and friend love. If you haven't seen this, you should go on Amazon or Blockbuster right now, and order it. My favorite song is My Favorite Things. I love this! This is my absolute favorite movie since I was young.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byfabala September 6, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Amazing movie, totally a classic!

Amazing movie that has been a part of my life since I was about four years old! Great messages and music!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 14, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Best musical ever!

I love musicals and Julie Andrews! She done a good job in Princess Diaries and Mary Poppins and more!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Touching Movie

This was a moving film and made me want to be part of it!
Teen, 16 years old Written bypepsicola147 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Truthfully, I lost six brain cells watching this.

It was an assingment that I had to watch for class, but I have watched it before and I can say, this is BORING! I don't learn anything from it, except that there was a crazy singing family. I know there is supposed to be an educational value in this movie related to the Nazis time period, but it is so boring to even learn about that interesting stuff in this musical... I didn't like it at all. I think I was falling asleep! Not think... know.
Teen, 15 years old Written byanimalloverkt April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

This is an AWESOME movie!!!!

This is the most AWESOME movie EVER!!!! The music is wonderful, and it has a historic background and some funny moments. Julie Andrews is brilliant, as usual, and Rogers and Hammerstein had the best score EVER!!!! I can say that because I am a musician... I can appreciate it in its full potential. This is one of my absolute FAVORITE movies, along with Singin' in the Rain, Chariots of Fire, The Music Man, Monty Python and the Quest for the Holy Grail, and others. This is my absolute FAVORITE movie, however. (I just contradicted myself, didn't I? Oh well...) The music is fabulous... I am listening to the soundtrack right now. A must see for any one of any age, though for younger children, the cirstumstances/history might need to be explained in further detail.
Teen, 14 years old Written bypeanutbutterjel... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i loved it just loved it!

it is a wonderful movie all kids should at least see it once!
Teen, 15 years old Written bymoviegeek April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

How could anyone hate it?! Beautiful!

First of all, the lady that the Captain is supposed to marry has the greatest wardrobe....I wish I had those dresses! This is an absolute classic and I shake my head in pity of anyone who does not like it and categorizes it as "boring". It has wonderful performances by all of the actors and the music is beautiful. I love "Climb Ev'ry Mountain", that scene makes me cry. Excellent movie for any age.

Pages