All member reviews for The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 137 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old May 1, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

One of my favorite movies!

Great Movie!It's just really great, though it's not my favorite.I love this movie, it could have some crude humor, but it's all played for laughs.King Neptune says D--n one time and there's one use of fr--king in the Goofy Goober Rock Song, but they're not very noticeable.I used to watch this movie when I was little, but I had no idea that Spongebob and Patrick were drunk, all because of ice cream.I didn't catch that part, and I didn't know about Drinking and stuff.To make this review short, a Great movie, Watch It!And this is sure to amuse Spongebob fans.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old July 23, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

best child show spinoff movie

if you seen the show (which i',m sure you have) you'll be very famillar with it but it's really good and no inaproppriate
Teen, 14 years old Written byHennaGirl19 March 3, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Okay for kids 6 and up? I don't think so!

I come from a house where certain things just aren't okay. This movie is banned from my house because it is extremely inappropriate. Patrick behaves very inappropriately towards Mindy and the bar scene was inappropriate. This is not okay for kids of 6. Wit till they're 10.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old February 21, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

:)

Super cute!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bypicardisbetter April 10, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Okay really?

Spongebob Squarepants is possibly one of the best kid cartoons out there. But the first movie wasn't the greatest and did not deserve to share the same name. Some bad aspects of the movie are, the car theft, the bar scene and the fact that Sponebob and Patrick can survive on land for more than a few minutes. And have any of you noticed that the episodes proceeding this film weren't as funny as the episodes prior to said film?
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old February 16, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

The Spongebob Movie

Like usual, the orginial is always better than the sequel, and this one is much better than sponge out of water, it's more entertaining, it's sweeter, and it's more heartfelt, even if it lacks some laughs. Reccomended for kids 8 and up for: Mild Action and Mild Sexual Content.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byrebo344 January 31, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Just silly fun.

I watched random episodes of Spongebob Squarepants. This film was just silly fun and David Hasselfoff's cameo was good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byHorace Williams January 5, 2015
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Ah, memories.

As a kid, I loved watching this movie. As a teen, I still do. It's funny, action packed, and everything. Patrick was hilarious (especially with Mindy). I can't wait for the sequel!
Kid, 10 years old December 28, 2014
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Funny and good film

This is a funny film
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew November 25, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Avoid unfunny potty humored to series based movie

My rating:PG for crude humor throughout
Teen, 17 years old Written bytvconnoisseur October 16, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Cult Classic

This movie, by itself, is a cultural institution! I’ll never forget the day that my dad, & I saw it at Century El Con 20 Theatres.
Teen, 13 years old Written byABCand123 September 29, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

cool

cool
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 3, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Bad words

There is this scene where if you listen closly you can hear Mr.Krabs say jacka**,no kidding!Otherwise the movie is appropriate.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheton1789 June 29, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

An Excellent Movie To Accompany the TV Show

The Spongebob Squarepants Movie is an excellent animated film that may be a little edgy for younger kids. It amps up the crudeness of the series a little bit. The movie is much more violent than the series including death threats, characters narrowly escaping death, a few minor character deaths off screen, bar fights, characters being beaten up, and an entire town being enslaved. Insults include idiot, ding-a-ling, moron, stupid, dumb, damn, darn/dang, heck, Sponge-boob, and many other smaller insults. There is plenty of adult humor hidden among the kid friendly humor and gross out jokes are frequent. One scene depicts Spongebob acting hungover even though he was just up all night eating ice cream but this will fly over younger kid's heads. Another scene takes place in a bar where characters are drinking actual alcohol. Though the alcohol is mostly in the background, we do watch as the patrons beat each other up, gamble, and threaten each other with knives. A little bit of sexual humor pops up as one of the main characters remarks another is hot and has a crush on this character throughout the movie. Overall, this is all right for kids 6+.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 27, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Honestly People

So, this review is going to have two parts- a review and a rant. First, the review. I've grown up with Spongebob. It was a huge chunk of my childhood. Heck, my first sentence ever was when my mom turned Spongebob off to go to bed and I said "More Spongebob please." (Well, it sounded a lot more like "Mo Bumbob pls.") I never really understood why I loved it, I just did (the older episodes, which I find much more charming and loveable.) I had VHS, the DVD to this movie (which froze when the huge serpentine sea monster came on stage) and even a huge doll. I was obsessed. I think I recall my dad telling me he actually took me to see this movie when it came out, but I don't remember seeing as I was only 2. But honestly, I love every part of this movie. It sends a great message (trust yourself) and it's honestly adorable under all the hilarity, like Spongebob and Patrick getting 'drunk' on ice cream and then getting 'hungover' and Squidward saying how he can't be fooled as he listens to public radio. And, honestly, even as a 12 year old, I still cry when Spongebob and Patrick dry up. This may just be the nostalgia talking, but I can still say I love and recommend this movie. --- Now if you just wanted to see if this was ok for your kid, I say a wholehearted YES! Now you can leave. But if you want to hear a rant continue. --- Honestly, I think this is Babies R' US up in here! But rather than point out what's wrong with what parent's think, I'm just going to quote some parental reviews. (Honestly, I've seen only a bit worse, as somebody wrote that Land before Time was inappropriate for ages 17 and up.) 1. 'The first problem was when Spongebob's pants fell off, reveling his naked bottom. I covered my 8yr old's eyes when that happened.' Honestly, it's a CARTOON. A CARTOON. If this is offensive better not let your kids watch Elmo because HE'S NAKED OMG!!!!!!!!!!! 2. 'They rest of the movie was very violent' What was violent? Except maybe the Thug Tug and Big Boot/Bigger Boot. This person is basically saying that blowing bubbles is very violent. 3. 'He has a major attitude problem, is mouthy, and is everything we don't want our children to be.' So you don't want your kids to be a bubbly, happy-go-lucky person that believes against all odds that they can do something? 4. 'Has hidden adult humor all throughout the show that kids just don't get yet. Let your kid watch this, they'll grow up violent and stupid.' Adult humor is put in there so adults can have a little chuckle while being forced to watch cartoons. And if the kids don't get it, how will they grow up to be 'violent and stupid'? P.S. I've never fought anyone in my life and I go to a gifted school. 4. 'Really bad movie. It made my kids' autism worse. Not to mention there's a pornographic scene which reveals Patrick's shiny fishy butt. Spongebob and Patrick also get drugged up, and a character says the d word.' 1. That's impossible. 2. It's a cartoon. 3. I have no idea what you're talking about. 4. You sound like a little kid. One last note. I have a friend, and a girl on her street has overprotective parents. She can only watch G movies and recently learned how to ride a bike. She is about 10. We make fun of her like you couldn't believe. Don't let your kid be a laughingstock.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bymad gamer April 12, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

seriously

I was just browsing and people said this movie was bad its just plain stupid but kind of funny I mean the wizard of oz is more unsuitable than this
Kid, 9 years old February 14, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great Movie!

Everything about this movie is great! But it is a little innapropriate for kids under 5. Patrick calls a girl 'hot', he dresses in stripper boots, and a bunch of tough guys threaten Spongebob and Patrick to try and see who blew a bubble in a bar. And Spongebob and Patrick are seen dried up and dead but it's all fine in the end. And plankton slaves everyone in bikkini bottom.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bylimabeanzrule December 23, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Awe inspiring

It is hard to find a comedy these day's, that is appropriate for kids. And it is even harder to find, an animated kids movie that is funny for kids and adults. The spongebob squarepants movie is sure to entertain you with it's ironic humor, and goofiness. I'd highly recommend it
Kid, 10 years old November 11, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Good movie!!!!!!!!!!!

good movie! (i am wacthing it now)
Teen, 17 years old Written byarandomperson August 15, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Know your kid and you'll be fine.

As with most Spongebob, fine for (mature) kids. The mature is important. Aside from that, great.
What other families should know
Great messages

Pages