All member reviews for The Talented Mr. Ripley

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Full of murder and deceit; too violent for kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 11 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byRachel D April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Why make this junk

Horrible yuck. Full of murder, lies, homosexuality. No plot to speak of and just yicky.
Teen, 13 years old Written byallegra4 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I cried

All the actors did a wonderful job! I could see it over and over again! brilliant film!
Teen, 13 years old Written by666maze666 November 28, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Good movie, but read the book first

I absolutely love the book, so of course I had to see the movie. It was surprisingly good. The actors were all good and the plot was adapted quite well, it was just missing a little of the life the book had. It's very violent, and kids might find the murders disturbing. Then there's a lot of sexual content. It's unclear if Tom(Mr. Ripley) has a sexual interest in Dickie or if its only that he wants to become Dikie, there's a couple affairs going on, and there's the tom and peter parts. Though I think what makes it iffy for kids is the whole storyline: that Tom becomes obsessed with the wealthy lifestyle and then is indifferent to lying, murdering, and becoming someone else to obtain it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educator and Parent of a 9 year old Written bywillowfaierie August 14, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

No way

I read in the 10 Commandments that you shouldn't lie or murder. Life's pretty hard for Tom, eh? But, he's a great piano player.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byMr581 July 27, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byarghargh July 21, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Amazing!

I absolutely adore this film! I read the book years ago and when I discovered there was a movie I had to see it... I reccomend it highly to anybody who can handle violence and sinister beings.
Parent of a 17 year old Written byamene88 December 27, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byyhtwister July 7, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great Thriller but Dark Feeling Throughout Movie

The Talented Mr. Ripley is a great movie, but has a very dark, dark, dark feeling throughout it. The movie contains great acting and wonderful script, but multiple things parents should take in consideration before letting their kids watch the movie. Talk about homosexuality, brief full-male nudity (hard to see anything "serious" though), strong violence (including semi-gore murders), and mild language, The Talented Mr. Ripley is a great thriller that should only be watched by mature teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byBestiaAuris October 24, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Fantastically exicuted, Though quite creepy.

From an art point of view, The Talented Mr. Ripley is a fantastic movie. A riveting, though creepy story well executed with a fantastically skilled cast. However, there are some notably creepy scenes (Tom tries to sleep upon Dickies chest, as well as trying to have a bath with him) which may cause younger viewers to become... well, not scared but creeped out. There is a total of three murders, with two of them being bludgeons and one the throttling of a man. It should be noted that the movie is effectively decided in half: the first is quite slow, however the second is much faster paced. Overall, an interesting study into the makings of a person, success, desire, identity and deceit.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byjowzers April 27, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Must See

Seeing this movie really depends on the child. I loved it but there were moments where I had to look away because of violence and nudity. Violence comes up in this movie a lot and for some kids it can be very scary so be aware. The nudity is very brief but there are other times in the film that can be uncomfortable because of the topic of sex.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byDuncanDerund August 30, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Movie

Rating:R for gory violence and fights and a lot of sexuality+language.
What other families should know
Too much violence