All member reviews for The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974)

Common Sense Media says

Best for older teens and adults only.

Users say

(out of 35 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Adult Written byhomey335 May 28, 2012

Good for late teens.

Violence: 7/10- There is a LOT of violence, but it isn't extremely graphic and gory or bloody. Sexual Content: 1/10: A teenager mentions porn. Language: 2/10: B*tch is used a couple times, along with h*ll and d*mn. Drugs and Drinking: 0/10- Not an issue. Frightining or scary scenes: 10/10- Not super bloody, but it is very scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byharris231 September 10, 2012

Second big horror movie (First was The Exorcist)

What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byQuinton_Moad February 5, 2011

"The Texas Chain Saw Massacre" is a solid horror movie but it can be frightening for younger viewers

"The Texas Chain Saw Massacre" isn't as bad as the title suggests nor does it deserve an R-rating. It's very frightening at times but with parental supervision, most children seven and older can watch it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bykorn111 August 11, 2009

very good movie

love this movie its a horror movie classic i bought this movie when i was probaly 12 and loved it all of my friends would watch it over at my house and have nightmares for a week.not that much blood and gore.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byMichael Loughrie December 20, 2015

Only 3/5? This is the best horror movie ever created!

This movie is old so don't worry about how scary it is, this movie has a lovely message about being safe. It doesn't have a lot of blood but some disturbing scenes and images. I recommend it for slasher fans!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byitsallaboutthestory August 12, 2014

Why is this considered scary or gory again?

First of all this movie is not scary at all. I was reading the review's for this in the comments section and couldn't believe it was called scary. First of all there's almost no gore, most of its left to the imagination accept when its real. When Sally's finger gets cut, they actual cut it, and all the blood on her in the forest, real, her own actually. Its crazy what they went through to make this movie. The only good scene is the beginning where they pick up the hitch hiker, it gives you a feeling of unease and I was actually excited to watch the rest at that point, sadly all you get is utter disappointment. So to sum it up, not scary, not gory (I hate gore so that's a plus actually). Don't bother with it, you won't regret it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byyuri13 July 6, 2014

Can be very disturbing

Can be disturbing The film has some scenes of blood as a guy cutting and other non-graphic scene There is a scene where a man is run over by truck, this may be the most graphic scene in the entire movie. One use of shit. Not much violence and profanity, no sexual reference and no drug use, but the violence of the film is implicit in the murder scenes that may be too intense and scary. The film was banned in several countries including Australia, Brazil, Chile, Finland, Iceland, Ireland, Malasya, Norway, Singapore, Sweden, United Kingdom and West Germany.Mais later this film was released with censorship 18 years by the graphic nature film. At the time it was released a censored R for disturbing violent images, terror and language, but if it were released today, censorship would be: PG-13: for disturbing violent content and images, some mild language and horror
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old May 3, 2014

Mature ten year olds or 15 and up

Amazing there is a brief description of how's cows are slaughtered and lots of people die one girl gets hung on a meat hook and there are cannibals it scared the crap out of me language very mild maybe B**** and d****
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old November 16, 2013

Not for kids despite...

My little brother's favorite movie. He's 9. I have never seen it before and hope to never have to.
Parent of a 3, 3, and 5 year old Written byjonallypugliese1023 November 4, 2013

Texas Chainsaw Massacre

I'm a big fan of the Texas Chainsaw movies. Not too sure about the remakes never been a big fan of remakes. Some one seriously needs to go through and delete the reviews that are repeated over and over, its really annoying. The review 'its ok' is on here 6 times supposedly written by different people ranging in ages from -1 to adult. How does a -1 year old write a review.
Teen, 14 years old Written byconnorfarthing99 August 2, 2013

Very clean by today's standards

Not too scary, violent, sexual or too much profanity in this well made, low-budget horror classic.Not much violence happens onscreen but there is a little bit of real blood (just from the bushes cutting some of the actors and a prop not working properly) but it is still an impressive movie that doesn't go to every extreme. Worth watching but not for anyone under 10 at all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byTheTrillionaire June 17, 2013

Iffy for 13+

What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byHannibalPhil April 25, 2013

My top favorite horror film!

on of my personal favorites of horror. its definitely not corny with typical teenagers that would swear their brains out, have sex, drink and consume drugs. the teens are mature in the film, the actors of the killers that Tobe Hooper chose were incredible in there roles, and Gunnar Hansen as Leatherface was scary as Hell, in my opinion I would recommend this film young teens age 13 and up, not for younger kids, they would get nightmares seeing a Butcher wearing a human face mask wielding a bloody chainsaw.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byCharlCoetzee13 April 8, 2013

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974)

Very good horror movie its original and very very very creepy
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educator and Parent of an infant and 1 year old Written byMommaOfTwoo November 20, 2012

Massacre

I am not a true fan of the horror genre but this movie compared to the remake is much better! Less gore but still just as terrifying.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byCaden147 November 2, 2012

10/10 movie and not bloody at all

Ok I know I"m just a 13 year old but please hear me out. This movie is not very violent or bloody at all. There is no blood spary or spalter DURING A KILLING. I caped that because there is only one time when you see blood and thats when its on leatherface's apron. You never see see any contact of a weapon to a boby during a murder accept at the end when leathergace cuts himself on his thiegh (which is not bloody or graphic at all). There is not sex at all and theres not even talk about it at any time. I think d*mn is said once and hell is said once. This is a classic movie and it is a great movie. Dont the R-rating fool you, it should be pg-13. I saw this movie when I was 12 and I loved it. So to sum it up there is barely any blood, no sex, and no language so please ont hesate to let your child see this movie, it is a classic
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old October 16, 2012

Titanic Reviews:

The movie is not as gory as the title says it is. The movie as such little gore , actually the Indiana Jones movies would have more of bloody violence then this film. And mostly all of the death scenes remain not shown in the movie , although there will be sounds of the death happening. Now some of you people might be thinking: I seen the remake and it was horrible and I would never ever let my kids watch it.''. Yes , but that was the remake. Michael Bay made a remake of the film because he wanted the money for Transformer s. But , he didn't make it compare to the original 1974 story at all , he made it into a teen party , modern 2000/90's horror film. Where you have under aged kids or early 20 year olds having sexuality or sexual references. But , this film doesn't contain much of that. The language is not high either , maybe the word h--l , d--n or sh--t may pop out here and there , but not often. Now the family is a cannibalistic family , but kids should know that there are actually people like that in the world. Cannibals do exist and they actually do eat peoples ''skin'' and ''flesh''. But overall , the movie would be appropriate for a 15 years and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byLewis Woodhall September 15, 2012

AGE RESTRICTIONS!

This movie should not be an 18+ ... It should be a 15+ to be honest and a lot of people agree! Language - Mild to moderate! Sex - Nothing much. Violence - Strong. Quite bloody...not gory! More disturbing! Other - Nothing much. I am not joking if your 15+ year old child enjoys horrors then this is fine!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byCritinator June 24, 2012

A gritty, disturbing, low-budget masterpiece.

Here is a film that doesn't use much gore (despite the title) to be scary and leaves it all to the viewers imagination, making all the more unsettling. Due to being very low budget, the film has a very gritty, realistic look and tone. This I find to be one of the best aspects of the film, instead of overusing jump scares it manages to terrify and disturb with realism. The movie is fairly violent but as I mentioned before there isn't much blood and gore and the amount of possibly offensive language is very minimal and will probably be perfectly fine for anyone 13 or older.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bylikestowatchmovies June 13, 2012

settle down people

this movie is good fun for a kid 13-14 who can handle some gore. It has no sexual content and very minimal swearing as well as a lot of the violence occuring off-screen
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages