All member reviews for The War of the Worlds (1953)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Some grisly and scary parts. Not for young 'uns.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 13 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bysuper movie reviewer January 3, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

the newer one is much better

I watched this movie a few days ago and i was really dissapointed. The special effects where really really lame and you could actually see the alien spaceships being held up by strings! So lame! And what the heck common sense ON for age 14! and off for ages 1-12! There's barley anything in that movie! It was really really lame!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Probably was great back in the 50's, but by today's standards this movie is too dull and campy to be suspenseful. Recommended for fans of science fiction classics only. As for content, there is some violence but nothing at all extreme. Good for kids 8+
Teen, 15 years old Written byTnMovieFan2 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written bytornadowatcher1234 June 9, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

no no maybe 40 years ago but not today thay remade it in 1988 it got batter

it no
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old July 21, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Amazing invasion with special effects almost as good as what you see today

The movie is fast paced, action packed, and awesome. The aliens destroy basically every thing and the death toll is in the millions. Hurray for the flu which saved the world.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old May 4, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A Sci Fi Classic

I'm making the words in caps so people will see them.DON'T LISTEN TO THE KIDS! DON'T LISTEN TO THEM! DO NOT! THEY COMPLAIN THE SPECIAL EFFECTS ARE BAD, BUT IT WAS MADE IN 1953! WHAT DID YOU EXPECT!? THEY DIDN'T HAVE GOOD SPECIAL EFFECTS IN 1953! THE REASON YOU COULD SEE THE STRINGS IS BECAUSE THE COLOR WAS REMASTERED! YOU COULDN'T SEE THE STRINGS IN THE ORIGINAL VERSION! Anyway, I'm amazed CSM gave this an on for 14. The only grisly part was when it showed this guy burning, and it wasn't graphic at all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old April 19, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good for 8 year olds

I think this movie has a lot of peril, but there are no graphic images. also they have good role models because they dont give up no matter what
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byBieberFreakinFever December 21, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

14+?!?! Seriously Common Sense? How Stupid Are You?

Ok first off i want to say Common Sense Media you are so STUPID! i mean seriously??? 14+?!? I saw this movie and it was extremly boring and cheasy. With cheasy speacial effects (that didn't look real at all) and stupid woman standing there screaming all the movie long saying "NO! PLEASE HELP ME! NO JARED YOU MUSN'T GO! WE ARE ALL GOING TO DIE!" And blah, blah, blah! I would rate this on for 6! I mean yeah there is some explosions and a LITTLE tension. So what? Do you honestly think that's going to scare people under 14? Ha well than you guys must be scardy cats than. Oh, also 4 stars? Seriously? I would give it one because i could barley hear the explosions over that loud lady screaming all the time. Jeeeeeezzzz
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 10, 12, and 14 year old Written byGimmick March 7, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Blubber is a cool movie

This is a pretty good movie, apart from the fact it,s an old movie so the effects aren't brilliant. Minor explosions and aliens and stuff, so fine for kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 13 year old Written byLTM312 April 10, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

War of the Worlds-1953

The movie has been described as the "Star Wars of its time." Even if you can see the strings holding up the spaceships. The story is true to H.G. Wells' theme of one culture holding technological superiority over another culture as well as containing the 1950s themes of, paranoia of Communism, and sort of a blind faith in science and military domination. The down side is that in this version o f " War of the Worlds", no other cultures,either of race or religion, seem to exist in the United States. Although an African-American friend said he saw the movie as a kid and thought it was great. Young women's roles consist of serving coffee to men and screaming in horror. You can be a smart woman if you're older, relatively unattractive, and foreign. Still, great fun, a sci-fi classic.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bywho3697cares November 8, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
It's way more fun and much more intelligent than Spielberg's version.
Teen, 13 years old Written byquibble October 14, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
an excellent story with great special effects for its time some may fine it boring or outdated but its got a great campy supenseful fell to it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

what the heck common sense?

14+?! i saw this movie when i was 5 years old. and did it scare me 1 bit? no. it is NOT that violent!!!