All parent member reviews for The Wolf of Wall Street

Parents say

(out of 48 reviews)
age 17+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 10 and 10 year old Written byDevanBrie June 8, 2014
 

They Just Went Too Far

This was entertaining at times but too crude, to lewd, I felt embarassed for them. This movie was a hot mess. It makes you want to shower and repent for watching it once it's over.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator Written byWaluigitime February 20, 2014
 

gross movie

This movie gives out wrong messages about what to do with your pee-pee! People shouldn't be doing that! They should be spinning!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educator Written byraenemaker March 9, 2014
 

As Articles Say, It Almost Got an NC17

The horrified reviews of this film confound me - Scorcese has shot movies with a persons head getting crushed in a vice, multiple gunshot wounds in graphic detail, and glorification of organized crime. His pedigree alone should give one pause before bringing in preteens and grandparents to see his latest work. DiCaprio's last film had him starring as a sadistic racist slave owner in Django Unchained, where violence was shot like soft core pornography. Apparently people ignored all of this and bellied up to the bar for this mature take on the continued excesses of the finance industry. As many here have said, there is extensive sex and nudity in this film. Children should not be exposed to this. Children should also not be exposed to Casino, Goodfellas, The Departed, Gangs of New York, Mean Streets, or Taxi Driver. Movies are rated for a reason...in the Age of Google, if you walk into an R Rated flick uneducated or prepared, thats not the films fault, or the ratings board, thats yours. For adults who like morally ambiguous studies of what the hyperreal American Dream looks like, and who are more concerned about violence than nudity, this film is great. Highly recommend. It is not for kids of ANY age. If you want a morality play, this aint it. For those traumatized by it, use Google next time. Be somebody.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 12 and 13 year old Written byMarioginfante August 30, 2014
 

Ugly movie only good actor

Just an actor do not make a film Nit recomendable Show more than required
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byLiam Neville April 11, 2014
 

Please shut up with the one-star reviews.

This is a great movie by a great director. Yeah, there's plenty of sex, don't take your kid. Don't rate a movie poorly just because you don't like the subject matter; I'm not gonna go and rate Barney poorly because it didn't cater to a 21 year old's tastes. This movie understands its audience, and doesn't hold anything back so your kids can see it too. All you people saying it needs to be "Rated X" ? This movie cost $100 million to make, do you really think a Rated X movie could get back its $100,000,000 budget? Nobody reviewing this movie knows what they're talking about, please if you don't like sex in movies go watch Captain America.
Parent Written byJenijumpo123654 April 5, 2014
 

I can't believe this garbage/scum/trash/filth/devilish/sin-filled-scum-ever got made!

I was watching TV and a trailer came on about this film and I thought: "Oh, I'd like to see this one"! When it was in theaters me and my friend went to see it. I was so embarrassed and shocked at what I saw I think I went half crazy! ABSOLUTELY the filthiest filthiest filthiest filthiest filthiest filthiest of movies ever!!!! You can't call this one a movie! I marched my shoes out of that theater within about thirty minutes and demanded my money back I am so thankful I didn't let my kids see it! If you other parents even get the idea this movie would have even a little good about it you're 1000000% WRONG!!! This ABSOLUTE FILTH! in my mind is rated XXX And is the #1 worst worst worst worst worst worst FILM EVER! do not see this one or waste your time! 3 hours could be spent doing a film that contains even a little less VULGAR/FILTHY/SCUMMY/TRASHY/ language/nudity/sex/gore/violence/and all-around Garbage!!!!! A message to parents/children/adults/and anyone else who get the idea in his/her head they want to see FILTH! Don't let your kids see it, and don't watch it yourself! don't waste 3 hours or $20 and even 30 seconds seeing the trailer!!! I you want to see this total scum you'd better see a psychiatrist or the surgeon general !!!! Not for anybody under 80! New rating NGU80 (no grown-up under 80) THANK YOU!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byBethKrane March 29, 2014
 

All bad triggers promoted

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byConcernedCatholicMom March 14, 2014
 

Interesting Adaptation of the Tale of Red Riding Hood

This adaptation of a classic story replaces Riding Hood with a character named Jirdan Bellhood and his friend Donnie Darko. It follows their tales of woe as they try to save their stock firm (an allegory for the grand mother) from the evil satan loving FBI (the wolf). The movie has sex and nudity, but it isn't gratuitous as it represents the way American culture attempts to manipulate kids into doing drugs and being evil pagans. I loved this movie, hopefully the director Max Skorceiase makes a new movie adaptation of Cinderella.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byaidanb June 29, 2015
 

Parents- your decision

This is really a good movie. I would first like to say parents, wath it first because the final decision is yours, but if your kid(s) really want to watch it, they will find a way to do it through netflix or youtube or some other site. But the material in this is not stuff that a high school sophomore or even freshman is going to be new to, sex, drugs, come on. there is a reason its called "high" school. Believe me there are worse things to expose your child to, like porn. At least this way it isnt full porn and it has a lesson at the end.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymonk3y June 20, 2015
 

Looking at this from a different direction

Hi, first off let just say that I am a 17 year old boy who likes to look at this in a new way. First let us look at the main character being portrayed in this film Jordan Belfort. His goal was the American Dream and so he used his wits to conquer the stock market with scams and schemes. In the movie we see Jordan and his buddies swearing a lot, depending on how desensitized to swearing you are will depend on wether or not it is meant for you. Personally I hear and/or say swear words so hearing these words was no biggie for me. When I read others reviews they just complain about soooo much swearing and the 500 f**ks in the movie, but since they knew that fact and we're looking for it, they found it. My recommendation would be to see past the swearing in the movie because it's not even a social taboo anymore for people to swear in public or with friends from my observations. *Sex* For sex this is not as common in the movie as people are making it out to be. There are a few scenes that have some questionable material for those who can't handle or are drawn back from this topic such as when Jordan snorts cocaine out of a hookers ass, when he gets home and finds a gay orgy in his penthouse, or when he is having his batchlor party, I am almost sure that if your not into that kind of stuff then those scenes are a few minutes long and you can skip them because this is a 3 hour movie. *drugs* Drugs are a big thing in this movie, but if your against drugs then I don't think this is a reason to not see this movie. This being said, I don't think your going to go out and do cocaine or queludes right after you get out of seeing the movie unless your addicted to that substance. Another thing about these drugs is that they make the movie interesting because it puts you the viewer into that position of questioning why he is doing this and giving that shock factor to the scene its portrayed in. I do not condone taking any illegal substances. All of this is preference and take these things into consideration before watching or before deciding not to watch it because if you just watch it for the story then I believe it can be an exciting movie for anyone watching as long as they are not close minded about the content of the movie. My final decision for the family's to know is that there is a bit to much cussing for most people, but besides that it has a really well written story line to the movie.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bythe wise one March 20, 2015
 

Another great film by Scorsese

Scorsese has made yet another wildly entertaining film that is relentless with its strong content. The Wolf of Wall Street shows us the true story of stock broker Jordan Belfort and his rise to extreme wealth by manipulating and taking advantage of others. The acting is superb, DiCaprio absolutely deserved the Oscar for this, it's a shame he was robbed yet again by the Academy. The directing is great and it's narrated by the main character Jordan Belfort, just like Goodfellas and Casino. This movie is a relentless ride filled to the brim with strong sexual content, extreme amounts of profanity, and a heavy amount of drug use. The characters are shown living extreme lives of excess, which includes lots and lots of sex, nudity, orgies, and graphic sexual talk. Drug use shown throughout, with a heavy emphasis on cocaine and quaaludes. There is an extended scene of man who is so inebriated from quaaludes that he struggles to even stand and walk to his car. Shocking things in The Wolf of Wall Street include: many sexual scenes including graphic nudity and a gay orgy, non stop strong language with over 500 F words, and constant use of cocaine and quaaludes. One thing that film isn't heavy on is violence. Unlike Scorsese's other films, violence is not shown very often. The violence in this film includes a scene of a man punching another man with blood spurting from his nose, a scene of two men hanging another man over a balcony, and an intense scene of ship capsizing due to bad weather. There are no positive role models in this film, and after Jordan Belfort is released from prison, he doesn't seem to have changed at all. Recommended for adults only.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bytrioe February 14, 2015
 

the funniest

a funny thrilling movie. laughed my butt off. but shows u how to get fricking rich af
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bytom09010 February 2, 2015
 

lol

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byChrisP 1 January 3, 2015
 

A very hard "R" could've been NC-17

Parents need to know That the sex in this movie suggests that it was edited down because otherwise it could have received an NC 17 rating. I bet somewhere there maybe an unrated version which would have even more explicit sex. Parents need to also know that the drug scenes are also explicit. And lest we forget the language, there is enough F-bombs your kids could use the word if they watch this. This film will get an M rating if shown on TV even if they edit some of the scenes. This is a good movie but it is near the top on the list of films that use the F-bomb the most. DO NOT LET ANY KIDS WATCH THIS!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bybrookelw December 21, 2014
 

love the movie, not for kids

This is a great movie in my opinion, but please do not let your kids watch this. Sex. Drugs. Money. Cheating. Etc. Not appropriate!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byKikko Rosas December 21, 2014
 

No Way!

Heck No!! I didn't see the movi. But all you parents and kids out there need to know that f--k is said 569 times. (the world record for the most uses of f--k) So I would totally not see this movie!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bysarahscarlett December 19, 2014
 

Basically porn

I am 18 and I basically thought this movie was border line porn. I cannot believe they even allowed this movie in theaters and on netflix. I was absolutely horroified when I saw this movie. Some of the humor was funny but most of the humor and scenes greatly objectified women and I was ashamed that I even bought a ticket to see it. I left in the middle the movie during the screening in the theater and would't recommend it to anyone. Also uses way to many of the F word, rather unnecessarily too. This movie teaches teens and kids its okay to objectify women and acceptance of drugs.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byJohnyH120 October 7, 2014
 

Great movie, but very addictive and tempting

This movie is suitable for adults age 21 and older. It has excessive violence, sex, swearing, and drinking/drugs/smoking. There are consistent sex and drinking scenes throughout the entire movie, and the characters say the F word every 20 seconds. This movie is definitely not for anyone under 21.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymustafaa August 17, 2014
 
Too many sex drugs and drinking
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byslasher23 August 16, 2014
 
explicit sex a nudity.lots strong language a same drug use/abuse make movie for kids NOT!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages