All parent member reviews for The Wolf of Wall Street

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 49 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written byI AM DA MACUPUG February 14, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Gr8 4 family

This is for kids,family,friends all ages 2 and up. Nothing bad at all
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bytrioe February 14, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

the funniest

a funny thrilling movie. laughed my butt off. but shows u how to get fricking rich af
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 17 year old Written byimmax January 27, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Amazing movie 10/10!

I have to say. Most parents think that this is a bad movie. But as a parent who has done various drugs, sex, and violence, this is a good message for you mind and your soul. And your kids. GOOD JOB! Please consider my review and offer.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 and 13 year old Written byMarioginfante August 30, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Ugly movie only good actor

Just an actor do not make a film Nit recomendable Show more than required
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written bymustafaa August 17, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
Too many sex drugs and drinking
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byslasher23 August 16, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
explicit sex a nudity.lots strong language a same drug use/abuse make movie for kids NOT!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bywolfowst July 4, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Its fun

If your child it fine watching this movie seriously it's not bad at all and all the overprotective parent keep hating on it when it's not bad
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent of a 10 and 10 year old Written byDevanBrie June 8, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

They Just Went Too Far

This was entertaining at times but too crude, to lewd, I felt embarassed for them. This movie was a hot mess. It makes you want to shower and repent for watching it once it's over.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bymegastaraxe May 5, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Martin Scorseses movies have never been for kids

( i rate my movies from a 1 to 10 scale 1 being extremely rare and 10 being non stop and vulgar, this one is rare 11 = should be nc-17 because of this) Sex 11/10 Breasts, Penises, Vagina's and bare bottoms are seen more than once a lot of the sex scenes can be compared to pornography and to top that constant sex references Violence 8/10 *this part of the review is taken from the internet movie database (imbd)* Blood is only seen on one scene, albeit a quite gruesome scene. A husband and his wife argue bitterly, she hits him in the face and he hits her back. Later, she tries to hit him again, and he then punches her in the stomach and leaves her lying on the floor. A man drives in reverse slamming into a brick pillar (the man receives a bloody cut on his forehead, but no one else is injured.) A man punches another man in the face three times and we see blood spurt from his nose onto people's faces. Strong but brief. Two men hold another man over a balcony and threaten to drop him. A man almost drowns himself while trying to find drugs A man argues with another man and one man punches the other. We hear that a man was depressed and killed himself and we see him lying in a bathtub filled with bloody water and there is blood on his arm and the floor around the tub. A man chokes on food and falls to the floor breaking a glass top table on the way down; another man pushes on the first man's chest. The second man saves the first man eventually via CPR. We hear that a seagull few into the engine of a plane and we see the plane explode mid-air. We see a yacht sailing in heavy seas; a helicopter on the top of the yacht slides off and into the waves, waves crash through the windows and two men and two women are rescued. A man drives under the influence and he swerves on the road (we see his car later and it is a crumpled mess). A very intoxicated man flies a helicopter and nearly crashes it in his back yard. A man sticks his fingers down his throat and vomits (we hear gagging) and then performs an enema on himself. A man eats a living goldfish which can be hard to watch. A man flicks a lit cigarette in another man's face. Some men are seen fighting in the background at an office. Profanity 11/10 570 uses of the f word and it is combined with a lot of different words (Jesus f-cking Christ, Motherf-cker, Fat f-ck, f-ckface, f-cking f-ck, etc) c--t = 3 times s--t = 80+ times A$$ = 40+ times bas-ard 40+ times the n word is refrenced but not said twice many sexual, offensive and colorful words are said in this movie all the profane actions and words put together makes exactly 815 obscene words and gestures. Drug and alcohol use 10/10 cocaine, weed, heroine, drugs being hidden and smuggled in peoples anuses. main characters have a heavy addiction to drugs and also there is one that is called a lemon it is a rare Quaalude that gives the user a terrible reaction. and to top that people drive under the influence of drugs and heavy alcohol. intense, disturbing scenes 9/10 for a lot of people this movie can be very disturbing including the abuse and drunk driving EXPLICIT RATING: 49/50 KEEP THIS MOVIE AWAY FROM CHILDREN PLEASE!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byspfsunny101 April 22, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Extremely iffy messages!

This movie holds the record for the most f-bombs recorded in a movie. Along with that, main character Jordan is no role model himself, and leads a life that will eventually lead to his own downfall. If you rent the unrated version, many more breasts are shown. Consumerism is as prevalent as can be, and may send the wrong message to younger kids who venture to watch this. I watched this movie at 17 and merely thought it entertaining because I had nothing else to do and amusing that a person could be so consumed with himself and the business world. I strongly discourage anyone 15 and younger viewing this movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written bygeorge512 April 13, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Not for Kids No One 17 & Under is Not Allowed to see this Film.

OK if you were wondering is Rated R for 3 Hours worth of Sex, Female Nudity, Violence, & Drug Abuse. Plus the Original NC-17 Film has 4 Hours which has way more Sex, & Female Nudity. Which makes this film an Adult Film. Not for Kids and Not for Teens ether.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written bymovienerd95 April 11, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

An absolute tornado of a film

The acting is tremendous with fantastic acting performances, but the content is over the top and extreme. There are over 400 uses of the F word, several graphic sex scenes including orgies with full nudity, and drug use of all kinds throughout the film.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 4, 9, 10, and 14 year old Written byWatchdog74656 April 7, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I would have given 0 stars if possible

This movie holds the current record for saying the f bomb. It is said on average of once every 21 seconds.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byJenijumpo123654 April 5, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I can't believe this garbage/scum/trash/filth/devilish/sin-filled-scum-ever got made!

I was watching TV and a trailer came on about this film and I thought: "Oh, I'd like to see this one"! When it was in theaters me and my friend went to see it. I was so embarrassed and shocked at what I saw I think I went half crazy! ABSOLUTELY the filthiest filthiest filthiest filthiest filthiest filthiest of movies ever!!!! You can't call this one a movie! I marched my shoes out of that theater within about thirty minutes and demanded my money back I am so thankful I didn't let my kids see it! If you other parents even get the idea this movie would have even a little good about it you're 1000000% WRONG!!! This ABSOLUTE FILTH! in my mind is rated XXX And is the #1 worst worst worst worst worst worst FILM EVER! do not see this one or waste your time! 3 hours could be spent doing a film that contains even a little less VULGAR/FILTHY/SCUMMY/TRASHY/ language/nudity/sex/gore/violence/and all-around Garbage!!!!! A message to parents/children/adults/and anyone else who get the idea in his/her head they want to see FILTH! Don't let your kids see it, and don't watch it yourself! don't waste 3 hours or $20 and even 30 seconds seeing the trailer!!! I you want to see this total scum you'd better see a psychiatrist or the surgeon general !!!! Not for anybody under 80! New rating NGU80 (no grown-up under 80) THANK YOU!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byBethKrane March 29, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

All bad triggers promoted

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator Written byfilmmaster93 March 23, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator Written byraenemaker March 9, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

As Articles Say, It Almost Got an NC17

The horrified reviews of this film confound me - Scorcese has shot movies with a persons head getting crushed in a vice, multiple gunshot wounds in graphic detail, and glorification of organized crime. His pedigree alone should give one pause before bringing in preteens and grandparents to see his latest work. DiCaprio's last film had him starring as a sadistic racist slave owner in Django Unchained, where violence was shot like soft core pornography. Apparently people ignored all of this and bellied up to the bar for this mature take on the continued excesses of the finance industry. As many here have said, there is extensive sex and nudity in this film. Children should not be exposed to this. Children should also not be exposed to Casino, Goodfellas, The Departed, Gangs of New York, Mean Streets, or Taxi Driver. Movies are rated for a reason...in the Age of Google, if you walk into an R Rated flick uneducated or prepared, thats not the films fault, or the ratings board, thats yours. For adults who like morally ambiguous studies of what the hyperreal American Dream looks like, and who are more concerned about violence than nudity, this film is great. Highly recommend. It is not for kids of ANY age. If you want a morality play, this aint it. For those traumatized by it, use Google next time. Be somebody.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written bySternAndFair February 23, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

This is not For Kids Movie

At one time, perhaps it was but these days Leonard Docappiro is once again not a family figure. With too much drug and mean things to do he is a very rich man of no virtuosity. Which is sad but it is a pleasing happy ending although several sexy scene and moments later, too many drugs, including the cocaine on a woman buttock, it was very innappropriate, including for the adults. I do not feel this is a movie except for a very machure audience.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator Written byWaluigitime February 20, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

gross movie

This movie gives out wrong messages about what to do with your pee-pee! People shouldn't be doing that! They should be spinning!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 13, 16, and 20 year old Written byshelly2121 February 16, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

DISGUSTING TRASH SHOULD BE RATE XXX

We watch pretty much all movies WITHOUT PROBLEMS, this was the most DISGUSTING thing I've ever seen in my life. A guy snorts cocaine out of a hooker's anus, YES ANUS! That's just ONE SCENE! I wouldn't even want anyone I know to watch this, will NEVER support Leonardo again. What filth, trash, what is this world coming to? THE ENTIRE movie is pure porn, drugs, and more. For example, American Pie is a wholesome lovely family movie in comparison to this filth! How sad it is that it is winning awards. We walked out & I do not want ANYONE OLD OR YOUNG to watch this film. If I could stand outside & warn people I would. BEWARE this is not just another R movie, this is FILTH, I don't know how it got rated R when it should have been XXX! I AGREE WITH OTHERS WHO SAID SHAME ON ALL PARTICIPANTS IN THIS MOVIE IF YOU CAN EVEN CALL IT THAT! AVOID AVOID AVOID
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages