Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for The Wolf of Wall Street

Common Sense says

Intoxicating rise-and-fall story is full of sex and drugs.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 72 reviews

Kids say

age 16+
Based on 105 reviews
Adult Written by1Grammy1 December 31, 2013

I hated this movie

I am 67 and ashamed that I saw this movie. Would NEVER recommend it to anyone of any age. A piece of filth that should have been X-rated. Words fail me as to how disgusting this was. Shameful, no redeeming value, no excuse for this trash to not be rated X. See something else.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 13, 16, and 18+ year old Written byshelly2121 February 16, 2014

DISGUSTING TRASH SHOULD BE RATE XXX

We watch pretty much all movies WITHOUT PROBLEMS, this was the most DISGUSTING thing I've ever seen in my life. A guy snorts cocaine out of a hooker's anus, YES ANUS! That's just ONE SCENE! I wouldn't even want anyone I know to watch this, will NEVER support Leonardo again. What filth, trash, what is this world coming to? THE ENTIRE movie is pure porn, drugs, and more. For example, American Pie is a wholesome lovely family movie in comparison to this filth! How sad it is that it is winning awards. We walked out & I do not want ANYONE OLD OR YOUNG to watch this film. If I could stand outside & warn people I would. BEWARE this is not just another R movie, this is FILTH, I don't know how it got rated R when it should have been XXX! I AGREE WITH OTHERS WHO SAID SHAME ON ALL PARTICIPANTS IN THIS MOVIE IF YOU CAN EVEN CALL IT THAT! AVOID AVOID AVOID

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byItsAMeAgain January 19, 2014

Absolutely... NOT!

Porn porn porn porn Porn porn porn porn cheat cheat sex sex sex drugs drugs drugs Porn porn porn porn. NOT FOR KIDS!!!!
Adult Written bywatchfuleyemom January 1, 2014

Disgusted and Disappointed

ABSOLUTELY NOT FOR KIDS OR TEENS!! This movie should have an "X" rating and I cannot understand why it does not! My 17 year old son wanted to see this movie and was unable to join me...I was relieved he could not go and had he been with me I would have walked out of the theatre like several adult couples did. This movie had the potential of being a great film but the excessive, explicit, and unnecessary debauchery left nothing to the imagination making it a waste of time and money. Shame on Scorsese, di Capprio, Hollywood, and SHAME on the movie rating systed. Scary too think any 17 year old can go and see this without parental approval!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byGood Sense One January 1, 2014

Porn Flick

This movie was nothing sort of a porn flick. Disgusting relentless vulgar language. Non stop graphic sexual behavior. Very misleading trailer. Film should be rated X!!!! Not suitable for kids or adults. Way too much of everything. Totally offended, Got up and left. Requested a refund.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byWaluigitime February 20, 2014

gross movie

This movie gives out wrong messages about what to do with your pee-pee!
People shouldn't be doing that!
They should be spinning!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written by1ReviewGuy September 9, 2019

Martin Scorsese Masterpiece Once Again!!!

This movie is an absolute delight. This is no doubt in my opinion one of the greatest
Martin Scorsese movies ever made, and has an absolutely beautiful story about the negatives of excess, and being too invested into something can always lead to something negative.

Violence: 0/10. This movie has an extremely low amount of violence. The only violence in this movie is a man getting punched in the face until it’s bloody, a man hitting his wife, and a man bleeding from his forehead after crashing a car.

Language: 6/10. This movie has a lot of language.
To be honest, this movie probably has the most language I have ever heard in a movie. This movie has 506 F—Ks, and strong language is used in almost every single line in the movie. Language is not a big thing that parents should care about, since it’s just a word, and kids hear it and most likely say it every single day at school.

Sexual Content: 7/10. This is where the movie gets iffy. This movie has a LOT of GRAPHIC sexual scenes. There is a large amount of Breasts, Buttocks, and sex seen. You can also see for a slight glimpse of less than a second, a man’s penis while he is masturbating in public. This movie has the most sexual content I have ever seen in a movie. You also hear graphic sexual talk and see graphic sexual scenes in a very large chunk of this film. Sex is also a very, very large driving force of this movie, and one of the biggest points in this plot.


Although this movie is pretty heavy on sexual content, you should allow your child to watch, but maybe just skip the sex/nudity scenes throughout it.
Parent Written by1ReviewGuy September 9, 2019

Martin Scorsese Masterpiece Once Again!!!

This movie is an absolute delight. This is no doubt in my opinion one of the greatest
Martin Scorsese movies ever made, and has an absolutely beautiful story about the negatives of excess, and being too invested into something can always lead to something negative.

Violence: 0/10. This movie has an extremely low amount of violence. The only violence in this movie is a man getting punched in the face until it’s bloody, a man hitting his wife, and a man bleeding from his forehead after crashing a car.

Language: 6/10. This movie has a lot of language.
To be honest, this movie probably has the most language I have ever heard in a movie. This movie has 506 F—Ks, and strong language is used in almost every single line in the movie. Language is not a big thing that parents should care about, since it’s just a word, and kids hear it and most likely say it every single day at school.

Sexual Content: 7/10. This is where the movie gets iffy. This movie has a LOT of GRAPHIC sexual scenes. There is a large amount of Breasts, Buttocks, and sex seen. You can also see for a slight glimpse of less than a second, a man’s penis while he is masturbating in public. This movie has the most sexual content I have ever seen in a movie. You also hear graphic sexual talk and see graphic sexual scenes in a very large chunk of this film. Sex is also a very, very large driving force of this movie, and one of the biggest points in this plot.


Although this movie is pretty heavy on sexual content, you should allow your child to watch, but maybe just skip the sex/nudity scenes throughout it.
Adult Written byI_TellTheTruth January 12, 2014

A Masterpiece That is Not For Children

Wow, this was quite a good movie. Honestly. I could go on about how great it was, but that's not really what this website is for.
---------------------------------------
LANGUAGE: Apparently it set a record for the most number of "f**k"s spoken in film. I don't doubt it, but I wasn't really paying attention to the number. There was also great usage of the words "c**ks**ker," "c**t," and "Godd**n."
-----------------
DRUGS: This movie had some really graphic scenes of drug use. So graphic in fact that I felt a bit squirmy at times. The main character snorts cocaine out of a prostitute's an*s and becomes partially paralyzed in an extended scene that involves him crawling back to his home after overdosing on expired Quaaludes.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SEX: This film also stirred up a ton of controversy for its sex scenes, of which there are many. Characters are seen thrusting, moaning, and talking dirty in various states of undress. Some sex scenes are orgies; others are one-on-one.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NUDITY: I had also heard before going into this film that it was going to have a lot of "graphic" nudity. I'm not sure if "graphic" was the right word. When I think "graphic," I think on-screen depictions of male or female genitalia. There WAS some graphic nudity, in this sense, but what the film had a lot more of was nudity of the non-graphic nature. Let me explain: One very brief scene did show a man's e*ect p*nis as he was m*sturbating in public, and this was graphic, but very quick. There was technically a lot of full-frontal female nudity, but in every scene featuring a naked woman's crotch, it was mostly obscured by her pubic hair, shadow, or her legs. In other words, you didn't actually see any v*ginas, even when considering the very limited portion of the female genitalia that is visible on some women when they stand straight up. That being said, one scene did involve a woman spreading her legs open to her husband, but the shot right before she covers herself with her hand is so exceedingly brief that nothing at all can really be seen, and it would be hard to say whether or not there actually is even an image of genitalia that could be seen in some kind of frame-by-frame playback. In addition, there is a countless number of on-screen breasts and buttocks, both male and female.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
VIOLENCE: There is one scene in which a man punches another man and causes him to bleed and another character to vomit from seeing the blood. The main character gags himself over a toilet bowl (we don't see anything) to purge his body before taking some intense drugs.
----------------------------------------------------------
Again, this movie was excellently written and directed. It's laugh-out-loud funny at times, and hard to watch at others because of the graphic drug use and the overall pitifulness of the anti-role models' lives. Its combination of numerous sex scenes, coarse language, nudity, and graphic substance abuse make it a film that's best for adults only.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bycinephile-27690 April 18, 2019

Nasty movie!

If a movie with 500+ uses of f**k, countless orgy scenes, adultery, female objectification, a man snorting coke off a woman's behind, etc. sounds like good entertainment for your child, don't bother using Common Sense Media ever again, because if this is permissible, all movies are permissible! I made the mistake of seeing this with my Grandma, and I still want my 3 hours and $10 back!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Parent Written bypvmommy January 5, 2014

Beware -- this is not just another R-rated film (we made HUGE mistake)

I have never used Common Sense Media before -- never suffered much for it until last night. We took our 13.5-year-old son to this movie. He has seen a number of "R" rated movies before but this film was entirely different. Note that I took the time to watch the trailer ahead of time -- thought it would be more like "Animal House" with sophomoric, slightly vulgar humor which we tolerate. I am embarrassed and remorseful at the fact that my son saw this. It wasn't a little sexual innuendo -- it was just full on sex, orgies, etc. Lots of talk about shaved private parts...one scene the wife has her legs spread apart with the husband down on the floor looking up her skirt...rooms full of naked people...countless frontal shots of fully naked women (these are not quick shots)...a candle in someone's rear end...talk about how one needs to masturbate several times a day (this is "normal"). Need I go on? I am not even the slightest big prudish but this was way over the top. Some of the acting was good, though not good enough to carry a three hour performance (I didn't realize how long it would be and several times thought "Will this depravity ever end?"). I had hoped that it might show my son that a career on Wall Street might not be the best choice (my husband and I both have MBAs) and I suppose it fulfilled that end, though at a huge cost. Bottom line: totally inappropriate for young adults and I don't know much about movie ratings these days (we just don't go that often) but this should have received the equivalent of "X" (which may be NC-17).

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bychristian2011 December 25, 2013

Incredibly clever and brilliant biopic about Wall Street broker Jordan Belfort.

All I can say is "wow". The Wolf of Wall Street was an outrageously entertaining and hilarious biography romp about the charismatic yet manipulative stock broker Jordan Belfort - with a flamboyant and comical edge. Martin Scorsese definitely thought outside of the box with this one; the plot, cinematography and acting was brilliantly executed, and the character's witty sense of strategy and humor resonates with you after each scene. Despite the humor and artsy flamboyance, the movie still successfully manages to retain the sequence of the success and downfall of Belfort's financial stock broking business collaboration. However, the film becomes more darker and dramatic later on. This is a movie intended only for adults (18+), because the previous rating was NC-17 but several scenes have been cut down slightly to approve the hard R rating. DiCaprio's character is shown committing consistent acts of debauchery (remarriage, cheating with prostitutes, scene of incest) and proclaimed drug addict. There's a great multitude of explicit sex scenes and different types of sexual acts (including homosexual) shown throughout the film, combined with graphic nudity (breasts, buttocks, pubic region, vagina) shown clearly, including brief graphic shots of male genitalia. There's heavy drug usage and abuse shown throughout, such as characters abusing a countless array of drugs (cocaine, lewds, crack, heroin, marijuana) etc.; including the graphic high phase afterwards. The language is very strong and pervasive, nearly 500 uses of f**k, motherf**ker, sh*t, crude anatomical terms, and religious blasphemy. There's a few scenes of violence but not overly graphic or disturbing, mostly domestic.
Sex (5/5) Drug Use (5/5) Language (5/5) Violence (2/5) Intensity (3/5)

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byJ.S Bach August 5, 2018
Really?! You give this a 16+ rating? The only thing of concern in this movie is the profanity and the sex. Things that teenagers see pretty much all the time.
Adult Written byEddie R. June 8, 2018

Degenerate Filth

This movie is basically a barrage of drug use, sexual orgies, foul language and immoral behaviour. I have a fair tolerance for these things in movies but this was way over the top. Not one minute goes by without immoral excess splashed across the frame. A terrible movie that makes you feel dirty for watching it ...

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byManuel N. December 31, 2017

Great movie. Everyone saying its bad is mentally ill

Great movie

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byStride January 18, 2016
The movie is really good, but not for children under 17. Making a decision for letting your child watch this movie should not be taken lightly. It is a movie for a mature audience. I do not believe giving this movie a rating of 18+ because their is of course very mature 17 year olds. I'd give it a rating of a strong R meaning for mature 17 year olds and older. The movie is totally not for someone 16 and younger.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bySriduttN January 3, 2014

An Honest, Unbiased Assessment

I rarely, if ever, say that a movie should not be seen by children at all. I'm 18, and while I was never truly disturbed by the movie, I would not let anyone under the age of 16 watch this film. Honestly, though, I do not know how it escaped the NC-17 rating. The sex is basically softcore pornography.
At the same time, the acting is brilliant and the story is great, like all other Scorsese films. I think the reviews on this website are too quick to judge the film by its extreme content without looking at the story and the messages. It's an amazing film that is well worth the watch and perhaps one of the most important indictments of Wall Street in media to date - but it should not be seen by anyone under the age of 16, probably 17. That being said, my 15 year old friend watched it with me and he was fine. Of course, it depends on the maturity of the person. But this movie is not for the faint of heart.
An honest assessment of the film's extreme content:
-Sex: Pervasive and borderline pornographic. Very extreme, if you're into it.
-Language: Lots and lots of language, but you get desensitized to it over time.
-Violence: Nothing really that disturbing other than the main character abusing his wife by slapping her and punching her in the stomach and then getting cocaine and driving off with a baby.
-Drugs: A LOT. This is one of the most explicit drug films I've ever seen. But I don't find drug use disturbing at all. I think this movie's funniest scene is about drug use.

This movie feels a lot like Goodfellas.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byNintendofan124 September 4, 2019
Adult Written byCherryBerry49 August 26, 2019

Boomers

Thats what all the other people who think this masterpiece is trash are. Boomers, the lot of them. They obviously didn’t understand the entire premise of this film. This film shows what Jordan Belfort, the man this movie was based upon, was like all those years ago as he scammed half of New York. This movie is meant to show you 60 year old Christian stay-at-home moms what it’s like to live the high live and to be on top of the world. Of course this is not what all of the millionaires of the world do, but it’s what Jordan Belfort did. He lived out his life f**king strippers, hookers, prostitutes, and popping prescription pills for however many days until he was arrested. This movie is a loose documentary of his life. Also if you little crybabys can’t handle the amount of sexual content that’s in this movie, then you should have read the rating before going to see the movie. One last thing before I yeet out, you guys are as moronic as you are old, this is the way that people such as these talk to each other, once again, if you’re idiotic enough to read a movie’s rating, say “oh I might not like that there is nudity explicitly shown throughout the movie or that profanity is often used, but I’ll go see it anyways”, then go leave a bad review because you are too childish to see that this movie wasnt meant for you or because you’re too much of an idiot to understand that this movie is a documentary that shows how these kind of people live outside of the law with hardly any consequences, then you need to rewire that puny little brain of yours to think differently. Good day or good night, and I hope to never see you in my life. Boomer. (This was not directed at anybody who understood what this movie was about, and actually rated it the way this site it meant to be used instead of just saying that it’s porn in 30 different ways in one paragraph. I will now demonstrate how you should actually rate a movie such as this, that you do not like, without saying it’s porn 30 times over.) “I watched this movie today and I did not feel that it was for me. There was way too much drug use and sexual content in it for me, but I do see why some people may like this kovie, as it’s well written with a wonderful plot. I do not, however, think that anybody under the age of 18 should see this movie, as it is filled with bad influences and is definitely not sutable for them.”

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byBanana wannna August 22, 2019

Good movie is full of sex and drugs

This contains a lot of sex scenes and also the main character is a drug addict and it’s shown (a lot of times) how he consumes very many drugs,and contains very strong language.Adults only!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages