All member reviews for The Wolf of Wall Street

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 56 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byB-KMastah December 26, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

What went wrong here?!

Great job, Scorsese. You have made the biggest disappointment of 2013. This film is a mess. It's boring, repetitive, and unnecessary. The first 70 minutes are good and then it takes a jolting turn of shamelessly self-indulgent crap, and not even ironically shameless crap at that. It switches between numbing, unfitting vulgarity that bordered on mean-spirited misogyny and glimmers of smart satire that disappear as fast as Matthew McConaughey's performance, and sometimes I couldn't tell what it was supposed to elicit. Laughter or disgust? All they made me feel was utter boredom. Literally no movie deserves a runtime of 179 minutes, especially when literally 40% of it is purely expendable. The first act is so good and smart, and then it does a complete 180, showing Leonardo DiCaprio with a lit candle up his ass screaming in pain during sex and Margot Robbie walking in on a gay orgy in their apartment. They hit you over the head with excess and vulgarity so much that it becomes so numbing; they could have at least handled it well or at least interesting like they did in Spring Breakers or The Bling Ring. The characters are empty but not in a good way like Sofia Coppola would do. There's no social commentary, scarce laughs, but great performances by everyone. I really do hope DiCaprio finally gets Oscar; he's just magnetic and so committed to the role that it's amazing. Too bad the script just goes in circles for an hour and the interesting ending feels far too short in comparison. 4.1/10, bad, one thumb down, below mediocre, etc.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byshrekmaster December 25, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Wolf is Wild

The Wolf of Wall Street is a wild ride through a businessman's life of sex, drugs, violence and cheating. The film contains constant uses of graphic sexuality/nudity and graphic drug use. From what the cinema shows now, Wolf isn't as bad as some movies out. If you know your kids can handle this then take them but not if they are under 12.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byJohn H 120 December 27, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Movie Review

This movie is very nasty and disgusting based on all the profanity and sexual references. Overall, it was very well produced based on the businessman who invests money in his workplace. Although this movie is hardly R rated and almost NC-17 rated, it contains sexual nudity of both genders, so I would recommend people to be at least 18 years old to see this movie without an accompanying parent, and at least 17 years old with a parent or legal guardian.
Teen, 15 years old Written byStevie111 December 29, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Fantastic

Terrific acting and story, definitely has my vote for best picture. Though, it does have frequent and graphic drug use, language, sex and nudity, including a brief glimpse of Jonah Hill's penis. Very entertaining though and a great overall movie
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byBestPicture1996 December 29, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

What's wrong with debauchery?

This is the most profane movie I've ever seen, with over 500 uses of the f-word! It's astonishing, and that alone gives you a hint of what's to come in this epic, bananas true-ish story of Jordan Belfort. DiCaprio is mesmerizing as always, but Hill really shone through in this picture as his second in command. I won't spoil the fun by telling you all of Belfort's shenanigans, but I will say it involves dwarf dartboards, financial corruption, fake teeth, Quaaludes and "Scarface"-envying amounts of cocaine. This is an adults only joyride, and even though it's bloated, the time (for the most part) flies.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byjacobburns December 29, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Wow.

Incredible movie, but with incredible amounts of sex, cocaine, and language. However, it is truly captivating and hilarious, with memorable scenes and insanely good performances from the whole cast, particularly DiCaprio, Hill, and McConaughey. It's fresh and unexpected and a truthful exploitation of the modern corruption of Wall Street.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bywhatnoonesays December 30, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

The Wolf of Wall Street: In the Running for the Worst Movie Ever

The Wolf of Wall Street is the only movie I have ever walked out on in my entire life. The film is nothing but a nonstop orgy of sex and drugs. It is not only terrible without any kind of redeeming quality, but just disturbing. I am a healthy teenage boy, and I have the same hormones and urges I'm supposed to, but even I thought this was too far. Female breasts every five seconds, an entire scene dedicated to the hookers these people use, and the bachelor party, a mass of naked bodies having sex with anything they can get their hands on, are all prime examples of how bad this is. If I could go back in time, I would go to 5 pm today to tell myself to watch another movie just so I could forget what I watched. My suggestion: don't see this movie and tell everyone you know to do the same. If you really want to watch a bunch of people get high and have sex, you'd be better off looking it up on the internet, at least then you don't have to pay for movie tickets and go all the way to a movie theater. For parents: don't let your kids see this movie, if you do they'll end up like me: scarred for life, feeling sick to my stomach, and every second, regretting the decision to see that movie. I can say today was the worst birthday I have ever had, even worse than the time I barfed my guts out and was forced to cancel my birthday celebration so I could sit in bed bed and feel sick.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJeffrey9789 December 30, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

This is the best film of 2013

I loved this film it was awesome Leonardo dicaprio gave the best performance ever this guy should win a Oscar for this performance the story was good and the three hour runtime felt like a hour and a half to me go see this film im going to buy this film when it comes out on blu-ray
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byMerlinFan December 30, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Incredible Acting, but Most Profane Thing I've Ever Seen

This movie was full of nonstop, abusive drug use. There were many full frontal nudity shots of women, and intense, extensive sex scenes (one seen was a room full of gay men having all kinds of sex). The profanity was through the roof; this movie won 5th place of movies to use the most F words, according to Wikipedia. I'm 16, and the nudity bothered me most, the drug use bothered my dad most. But overall, the movie was well made, HILARIOUS!!!!, and the most incredible acting job I've seen DiCaprio do. Worth the watch if you're prepared for lots of nudity, but definitely not for kids. Someone brought their 5 year old when I saw it! I can't believe how irresponsible some parents are...
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byesoccer7 January 1, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Great film, but one of the few that are really not for kids.

As a parent you might be wondering, my 13-16 year old child has seen a lot of R rated movies and he is mature. Can he see this? This time, the answer is no. Coming from a 15 year old who thinks that kids should be allowed to watch R rated movies, this movie was a bit to extreme. There was one thing that really stood out for me. That was the drug use. Yes there was tons of sex and swearing but kids hear swearing everywhere and sex is just sex it wont hurt anyone. the drugs are over the top. They are almost encouraged. In almost every scene characters are snorting cocaine or taking some sort of drug. The characters show no side effects of these drugs. The movie makes the drugs look cool and that they will make you hyper. I kinda started to think that taking the drugs looked cool and fun but then my conscience reminded me that I can't do drugs. For teenagers its best that they don't see this movie. Besides all that, the movie is pretty good. Its funny and crazy.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byLivia Peterson December 30, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

"Wolf" is one of the best films of this year, but NOT for kids

Martin Scorsese did it again. Very relevant. "Wolf" has plenty of heavy handed messages such as don't lie to your co-workers because they will eventually find out the truth. One of the best films of this year. "Wolf" has tons of language (constant f-bombs), sex, and drugs (mostly Quaaludes and the effects).
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byJamecs January 20, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

This was a great movie. I am 15 and my parents were reluctant with letting me watch this movie because they read the reviews that said there was a lot of sex. They did let me and a group of my friends watch it and it turned out to be a great movie. I don't understand where all these people are coming from saying that it is shameless and an awful movie, I loved it. It was hilarious and a great movie to spend money on. There was some sex and nudity, but the film was so long, you don't even realize there is that much. The movie is three hours long, there is one big scene with nudity, but other than that, there is just some scattered here and there. If your child is mature, 14 and up is probably fine. If I was a parent, I would be more concerned with the drug use than the sex, there was a lot of drug use, that in the beginning portrayed it (the drugs) as good things that are fun, but towards the end, show how they ruin the characters life. All in all, a fantastic movie that you should go see.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byFrank the Tank January 16, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Amazing Performance by DiCaprio

Let me say this first, I am a 15 year old guy that thinks that Leonardo Dicaprio is one of the greatest actors of all time. So of course when I saw this movie was coming out all the way back in June I was following this movie like crazy. I am a huge fan of Marty and Leo and have loved every movie they have teamed up in, so I was really excited to see this movie. But when I woke up Christmas Day to check the reviews on it I saw a not for kids on common sense media and a 10 out of 10 sex on another review site Kids In Mind. That made me hesitate a bit but I had seen a lot of R rated movies before and I personally am more disturbed by violence then sex. So me and my friend went to see the movie the day after Christmas and we were denied tickets to see the movie because we are only 15 and at my local movie theater they card for R rated movies. So we bought tickets to see Grudge Match and went in to The Wolf Of Wall Street, and let me just say it lived up to the hype! I loved the movie and thought it was DiCaprio's best performance since What's Eating Gilbert Grape. I realized that if you expect the movie to be porn before you go in the movie is not that bad with sex. Language is obviously a problem but its Scorsese so what do you expect! The language is also very accurate because my dad has told me about Wall Street guys who have called him and were like " Oh f--k that" "Who The F--K Are You Again" and even just plain "F--K You". The movie is suprisingly hilarious and we laughed the whole time. A lot of drugs but it is disturbing uses of it so I don't think it is glamorized like a lot of people are saying. It was 3 hours long but feels like 2 hours and is the most fun movie I have seen since Man of Steel. Yes we can't go over the fact there is full frontal female nudity, lots of breasts, and even a (very brief) scene showing an erect penis. Drugs such as Cocaine, Qualuudes, and many others are abused through out the movie. But it makes for maybe one of the greatest scenes of all time were Belfort (DiCaprio) is on qualuudes and has lost all his motor senses. It is amazingly acted and hilarious and will become a famous scene. Ok, I will wrap it up now. Sex is a problem and it is not a movie you would probably want to see with your girlfriend/boyfriend or parents and if you aren't old enough to see a movie without your parents you aren't old enough to see this movie. Language is a problem with 522 f words (I may be wrong about that number but there is enough f words in it for youtube to make an "f ing short version" of just the f words of the movie and it last for about 4 minutes). But if you aren't bothered by language (I think a lot of high school cafeteria conversations are probably a lot worse then this) than you should have no problem with this movie. Lots of drugs and one or two violent scenes but they are overshadowed by Dicaprio and Jonah Hil both giving the best performances of there careers. The acting in the movie is great and I give the movie ***** stars and a 15 yellow for very mature 15 year olds and 16 green for everyone else
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bybranman894 January 10, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Wolf of Wall Street Deserves to be in the Oscar Race.

Wolf of Wall street has great acting and an amazing story. The movie is great Jonah Hill and Leonardo Dicaprio work well together. The movie is not fun to see but you have to see this if you are looking for a good movie. At points it might be uncomfortable to watch but you'll always be entertained.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bymistahmata February 15, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Extremely Entertaining Adult Black Comedy About Excess

The Wolf of Wall Street is a hilariously over the top biopic about Jordon Belfort, a stock broker who made millions of dollars and eventually lost it all. This is a very well made movie at the hands of legendary filmmaker Martin Scorsese. It is masterfully acted by everyone involved and it includes a brilliant screenplay. Leonardo DiCaprio and Jonah Hill completely immerse themselves in roles pulling off the best performances of their careers. The movie is rounded out by a stellar supporting cast including a cameo by the man himself, Jordan Belfort. I enjoyed every aspect of this movie however my problem with it is the length. Its 3 hours long and I think it could've shorter. Nonetheless, the movie never feels boring. Also parents be warned, this movie is extremely vulgar with tons of sex and nudity, graphic conversations about sex, excessive drug use, domestic violence, and 569 uses of the f word (a world record). Every character lies, cheats, and steals their way to the top. Overall this is a very good movie with some awesome performances and a killer script. Martin Scorsese paints the American Dream in such a fun way that's it's hard not to have a blast watching it. The Wolf of Wall Street gets an A-.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byKhuzy January 25, 2015
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Good but very profane movie

No matter how mature you think your 13 year old is, he probably isn't ready for this. I ( this may sound weird ) think that one your child is 17 or 18 he should watch this movie, but not before, this movie broke the record for most swear words in a movie. It has constant drug use, which in parts is potrayed in a bit of a "good way" and alot of full frontal nudity, but hey after a person is 16 they are legally allowed to have sex. Seeing nudity after 16 ain't the problem here. The drugs are, potrayed good, and the language is veryy iffy. But it has a bit of a good side to it. Its a movie about Jordan Belfort, a real scammer who scammed millions of dollars and became rich, he started having regular sex with prostitutes and regular use of drugs. It is based COMPLETELY on a true story. If you do think about showing this to a mature 17 year old. Then tell them about the real Jordan belfort, who has overdosed on drugs, broken up with alot of wives cuz he was cheating on them. And gotten arrested. Tell him how he did bad things and ruined may lives from his scams, then show him the movie, it makes him look good, but still shows that he was a criminal.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byShaxSar January 22, 2015
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Not a kid Movie

Definitely do not recommend watching this movie!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byS540841 January 19, 2015
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Amazing Film

It really taught kids about the birds and the bees and why not to do drugs. The reason it was 6+ was there was some crude humor (fart jokes) but besides that great educational film
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byMikeWard January 13, 2015
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

A Great Film

This film is defiantly not suitable for children, it is by far the most sexually explicit film I've seen since 'The Antichrist'. The drug use is extreme having nearly every drug you could think of. It also has very strong language, saying the c-word about 3 times. However, it is a really good film and I'd defiantly recommend that you watch it, BUT NO UNDER 16s!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byhtriplett@icloud.com January 10, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Stupid movie it just sucks
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages