All member reviews for The Wolf of Wall Street

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 59 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written bywhatnoonesays December 30, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

The Wolf of Wall Street: In the Running for the Worst Movie Ever

The Wolf of Wall Street is the only movie I have ever walked out on in my entire life. The film is nothing but a nonstop orgy of sex and drugs. It is not only terrible without any kind of redeeming quality, but just disturbing. I am a healthy teenage boy, and I have the same hormones and urges I'm supposed to, but even I thought this was too far. Female breasts every five seconds, an entire scene dedicated to the hookers these people use, and the bachelor party, a mass of naked bodies having sex with anything they can get their hands on, are all prime examples of how bad this is. If I could go back in time, I would go to 5 pm today to tell myself to watch another movie just so I could forget what I watched. My suggestion: don't see this movie and tell everyone you know to do the same. If you really want to watch a bunch of people get high and have sex, you'd be better off looking it up on the internet, at least then you don't have to pay for movie tickets and go all the way to a movie theater. For parents: don't let your kids see this movie, if you do they'll end up like me: scarred for life, feeling sick to my stomach, and every second, regretting the decision to see that movie. I can say today was the worst birthday I have ever had, even worse than the time I barfed my guts out and was forced to cancel my birthday celebration so I could sit in bed bed and feel sick.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byB-KMastah December 26, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

What went wrong here?!

Great job, Scorsese. You have made the biggest disappointment of 2013. This film is a mess. It's boring, repetitive, and unnecessary. The first 70 minutes are good and then it takes a jolting turn of shamelessly self-indulgent crap, and not even ironically shameless crap at that. It switches between numbing, unfitting vulgarity that bordered on mean-spirited misogyny and glimmers of smart satire that disappear as fast as Matthew McConaughey's performance, and sometimes I couldn't tell what it was supposed to elicit. Laughter or disgust? All they made me feel was utter boredom. Literally no movie deserves a runtime of 179 minutes, especially when literally 40% of it is purely expendable. The first act is so good and smart, and then it does a complete 180, showing Leonardo DiCaprio with a lit candle up his ass screaming in pain during sex and Margot Robbie walking in on a gay orgy in their apartment. They hit you over the head with excess and vulgarity so much that it becomes so numbing; they could have at least handled it well or at least interesting like they did in Spring Breakers or The Bling Ring. The characters are empty but not in a good way like Sofia Coppola would do. There's no social commentary, scarce laughs, but great performances by everyone. I really do hope DiCaprio finally gets Oscar; he's just magnetic and so committed to the role that it's amazing. Too bad the script just goes in circles for an hour and the interesting ending feels far too short in comparison. 4.1/10, bad, one thumb down, below mediocre, etc.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byshrekmaster December 25, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Wolf is Wild

The Wolf of Wall Street is a wild ride through a businessman's life of sex, drugs, violence and cheating. The film contains constant uses of graphic sexuality/nudity and graphic drug use. From what the cinema shows now, Wolf isn't as bad as some movies out. If you know your kids can handle this then take them but not if they are under 12.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byJohn H 120 December 27, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Movie Review

This movie is very nasty and disgusting based on all the profanity and sexual references. Overall, it was very well produced based on the businessman who invests money in his workplace. Although this movie is hardly R rated and almost NC-17 rated, it contains sexual nudity of both genders, so I would recommend people to be at least 18 years old to see this movie without an accompanying parent, and at least 17 years old with a parent or legal guardian.
Teen, 17 years old Written bykenwi January 29, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Strong drugs are very extremely worst.

This movie is really bad that I also serious that this is not possible. I don't appreciate that this is very rudely.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJeffrey9789 December 30, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

This is the best film of 2013

I loved this film it was awesome Leonardo dicaprio gave the best performance ever this guy should win a Oscar for this performance the story was good and the three hour runtime felt like a hour and a half to me go see this film im going to buy this film when it comes out on blu-ray
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old April 12, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great movie but tiny bit innapropate

Not for young kids.in one scene he snorts cocaine out of a stripers vigina
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byesoccer7 January 1, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Great film, but one of the few that are really not for kids.

As a parent you might be wondering, my 13-16 year old child has seen a lot of R rated movies and he is mature. Can he see this? This time, the answer is no. Coming from a 15 year old who thinks that kids should be allowed to watch R rated movies, this movie was a bit to extreme. There was one thing that really stood out for me. That was the drug use. Yes there was tons of sex and swearing but kids hear swearing everywhere and sex is just sex it wont hurt anyone. the drugs are over the top. They are almost encouraged. In almost every scene characters are snorting cocaine or taking some sort of drug. The characters show no side effects of these drugs. The movie makes the drugs look cool and that they will make you hyper. I kinda started to think that taking the drugs looked cool and fun but then my conscience reminded me that I can't do drugs. For teenagers its best that they don't see this movie. Besides all that, the movie is pretty good. Its funny and crazy.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byMerlinFan December 30, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Incredible Acting, but Most Profane Thing I've Ever Seen

This movie was full of nonstop, abusive drug use. There were many full frontal nudity shots of women, and intense, extensive sex scenes (one seen was a room full of gay men having all kinds of sex). The profanity was through the roof; this movie won 5th place of movies to use the most F words, according to Wikipedia. I'm 16, and the nudity bothered me most, the drug use bothered my dad most. But overall, the movie was well made, HILARIOUS!!!!, and the most incredible acting job I've seen DiCaprio do. Worth the watch if you're prepared for lots of nudity, but definitely not for kids. Someone brought their 5 year old when I saw it! I can't believe how irresponsible some parents are...
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byjacobburns December 29, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Wow.

Incredible movie, but with incredible amounts of sex, cocaine, and language. However, it is truly captivating and hilarious, with memorable scenes and insanely good performances from the whole cast, particularly DiCaprio, Hill, and McConaughey. It's fresh and unexpected and a truthful exploitation of the modern corruption of Wall Street.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byJamecs January 20, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

This was a great movie. I am 15 and my parents were reluctant with letting me watch this movie because they read the reviews that said there was a lot of sex. They did let me and a group of my friends watch it and it turned out to be a great movie. I don't understand where all these people are coming from saying that it is shameless and an awful movie, I loved it. It was hilarious and a great movie to spend money on. There was some sex and nudity, but the film was so long, you don't even realize there is that much. The movie is three hours long, there is one big scene with nudity, but other than that, there is just some scattered here and there. If your child is mature, 14 and up is probably fine. If I was a parent, I would be more concerned with the drug use than the sex, there was a lot of drug use, that in the beginning portrayed it (the drugs) as good things that are fun, but towards the end, show how they ruin the characters life. All in all, a fantastic movie that you should go see.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byBestPicture1996 December 29, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

What's wrong with debauchery?

This is the most profane movie I've ever seen, with over 500 uses of the f-word! It's astonishing, and that alone gives you a hint of what's to come in this epic, bananas true-ish story of Jordan Belfort. DiCaprio is mesmerizing as always, but Hill really shone through in this picture as his second in command. I won't spoil the fun by telling you all of Belfort's shenanigans, but I will say it involves dwarf dartboards, financial corruption, fake teeth, Quaaludes and "Scarface"-envying amounts of cocaine. This is an adults only joyride, and even though it's bloated, the time (for the most part) flies.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byStevie111 December 29, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Fantastic

Terrific acting and story, definitely has my vote for best picture. Though, it does have frequent and graphic drug use, language, sex and nudity, including a brief glimpse of Jonah Hill's penis. Very entertaining though and a great overall movie
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySakka February 1, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Another Scorsese masterpiece!

This movie is my favorite movie of 2013. But parents should know that it are a lot of sex, drugs and swearing.
Teen, 16 years old Written byLongboardboy293 August 31, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Considering....

Considering what children see on TV, video games, the Radio, and other forms of media, this movie is nothing unlike anything kids see, i mean, come on, some kids watch porn!
Teen, 13 years old Written byThevelvetgambler February 16, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

excellent...if you know how life works

Even though I'm only 13, I loved it, and it's one of the movies I will remember, and that I will watch again, regardless of what's in it. It's actually a true story, and I believe it's something good to know about the "old" Wall Street. I mean, what will no longer happen (thankfully). I have to admit that it goes way overboard in terms of strong language and graphic content. And YES, it may shock kids my age or older, or even adults. So if you know you won't appreciate it or you won't handle it, don't go and watch it; It's completely understandable. However, I have my own philosophy of things and I believe that to really know how things happened, you have to experience them yourself. Indeed, Jordan was a jerk, if not a criminal. Indeed, he threw stripper parties every week and let cocaine get the best of him...but that's how his world was. If it happened, let's not deny it, shan't we? Overall, an excellent movie with memorable scenes. Scorcese made something pitiful into something funny.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byJavier Noyola February 9, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

disappointing

this movie has a great cast but, it's to long and there was to much sex and drugs that it gets boring of how much there is.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byChe_likes_you July 5, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good movie for under 18s

The Wolf of Wall Street is very extreme in terms of drug use and nudity. But the story is great and listening to DiCaprio's voice narrate the story makes you feel as tho he's really talking to you and wants "you" to know what it's like. This movie is great for teenagers who love a bit of controversy added to their movies. Religious families probably wouldn't agree with this movie.
Teen, 13 years old Written byJohn Haugland April 15, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Scorsese Delivers

This is not a bad movie. Martin Scorsese delivers a hilarious sex-filled romp, surely to entice anybody with eyes and ears. Children, do not watch this movie with your parents. Parents, do everything in your power to make sure your children never watch this movie. The movie is artsy, hilarious, completely vulgar, and insanely inappropriate. I had the misfortune to watch the first three minutes in theaters with my mother before she pulled me out angrily after Leonardo DiCaprio snorted cocaine out of a prostitutes anus. I recently watched it on a babysitting job (after the kids had gone to bed) and loved it. Leo stepped into uncharted territory with this one. Softcore pornography is one of the better ways to describe it. That said, it almost tops the list of my favorite movies due to one thing: delivery. In one scene, he is getting hot wax dripped on his back and getting sexually tortured my a dominatrix, and in subsequent scenes he is a caring father and worthy friend. The funny thing is, it focuses on sex and drugs so much, it has no time for violence or stock market mumbo-jumbo. Definitely a picture to watch before you die. Or read the book. I hear it's good too.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byMovies4LifeYOLO February 4, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Every kid is different

Good movie, i'm just a teen but i really liked it, alot of my friends disliked it but everyone's different.. My parents let me watch movies like The Wolf of Wall Street because they know i can understand it.. Alot of nudity and swearing didint really effect me i found the movie really fun. If you dont mind Nudity/Swearing go see it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages